![]() |
NCAA Correctable Error Scenario
First-time poster, long time reader here...
Some fellow officials and I were discussing the following scenario: A2 is erroneously awarded a 1-1 and makes both free throws. Team B inbounds the ball and dribbles to midcourt and calls a timeout. During the timeout, it's discovered that A2 was awarded unmerited free throws. What happens next? This appears to be a correctable error, since the error was discovered during the 1st dead ball after the ball went live. So, the free-throws would be canceled, and Team A would be awarded a throw-in at mid-court, which was the point of interruption when the error was discovered. Sound reasonable? Some disagreed and thought the free-throws should count, followed by a Team B throw-in at mid-court. Not even going to try and explain their logic behind that. I couldn't find a case play that matched that scenario, although there were a few that were close (Case book, pg11, A.R. 20. Thoughts? |
Unfortunately, you all missed it. Hey, it happens. :)
The error is correctable, as you said, because it was discovered during the necessary time frame. So the question becomes how to correct it. The obvious part is to cancel the free throws that were erroneously awarded. So how do you resume play after the correction? You resume at the point of interruption, unless you are shooting free throws that should have been awarded AND there's been no change of possession. Since there WAS a change of possession, we resume at the POI, which in this case is throw-in for Team B, since they were entitled to the throw-in after the time-out. And welcome to the forum. Hope you find it helpful! |
Great explanation, and it makes sense. I do remember reading the part about change of possession, and that may have threw my off a bit, as to the who/where regarding the throw-in.
|
Quote:
Ciao |
To me, the fairest fix in this situation would be to cancel the FTs and give the ball to A at the spot of the foul.
|
Quote:
Like the other CE scenarios, this puts a little responsibility on team A to ensure they're not taking FTs they don't deserve....becasue they could lose the FTs and the ball. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So, instead, 'B' intentionally lets the free throws be shot then calls a time-out knowing that 'A' will lose its points and a possession. |
Quote:
Knowing you're getting FTs you don't deserve and letting it happen is one thing, but what you propose takes several stars to line up. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
But my main point is that the oft-cited argument about the coach "letting it happen" is riduculous, IMO. |
NCCA-W - All points are erased and the ball is awarded to Team B at midcourt, which is the POI.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
52. Player A1 is fouled and the officials are notified that Team B has committed five team fouls in the period. Player A1’s first free throw attempt is successful and the second free throw attempt is unsuccessful. However, Player A3 scores a field goal on the rebound of the second free throw attempt. After 24 seconds have elapsed, the officials are notified that the team foul information given was incorrect and no free throw attempts should have been awarded. How is this play administered? The point scored on the successful free throw attempt is deleted and the points scored on the successful field goal by Player A3 remain. If the error was discovered within 24 seconds, all play in the entire sequence would be deleted, except unsportsmanlike acts and all flagrant fouls and points scored there-from. RULE 2 - SECTION VI - A (3) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37am. |