The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What would you do? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59366-what-would-you-do.html)

rwest Thu Oct 14, 2010 02:11pm

What would you do?
 
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting. As he comes to the line, he untucks his shirt. This is not in disgust with the call or a show of emotion. He just untucked to shoot his free throws. What do you do?

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 14, 2010 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 696372)
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting. As he comes to the line, he untucks his shirt. This is not in disgust with the call or a show of emotion. He just untucked to shoot his free throws. What do you do?

I follow case book play 3.3.5SitA.

But that's just me.:D

Btw, that case play ain't new. They just added a "COMMENT" to it to cover coaches trying to call A TO to keep the player in the game.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 14, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 696378)
I follow case book play 3.3.5SitA.

But that's just me.:D

Btw, that case play ain't new. They just added a "COMMENT" to it to cover coaches trying to call A TO to keep the player in the game.

Doesn't that ruling contradict the illegal jewelry / headband ruling?

In both cases, the transgression can be quickly corrected with no delay. SO, why is one player directed to leave, and the other can remain?

rwest Thu Oct 14, 2010 02:58pm

Party Pooper
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 696378)
I follow case book play 3.3.5SitA.

But that's just me.:D

Btw, that case play ain't new. They just added a "COMMENT" to it to cover coaches trying to call A TO to keep the player in the game.

:p:(

rwest Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:02pm

I would have thought...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 696387)
Doesn't that ruling contradict the illegal jewelry / headband ruling?

In both cases, the transgression can be quickly corrected with no delay. SO, why is one player directed to leave, and the other can remain?

It seems to me that the ruling should have been to remove the player immediately and get a sub for the shooter. Instead they want us to clear the lane and shoot the free throws and then give the ball to team b regardless of whether or not the 2nd free throw is made.

I understand giving the ball to team B since we clear the lane. But what I disagree with is clearing the lane in the first place. It seems a stiff penalty for a uniform violation. Team A loses the chance to get a rebound on the 2nd free throw.

It just doesn't seem to fit with the rule, but I'll enforce it as written, just seems odd to me.

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 696387)
Doesn't that ruling contradict the illegal jewelry / headband ruling?

In both cases, the transgression can be quickly corrected with no delay. SO, why is one player directed to leave, and the other can remain?

Yes ...and I have no idea why they have different and contradictory rulings.

And to be completely honest, I'm not sure that I'd follow that case play anyway if I ever ran into that situation(but don't tell anybody :p).

tref Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 696392)
And to be completely honest, I'm not sure that I'd follow that case play anyway if I ever ran into that situation(but don't tell anybody :p).

Oh no he didn't!

rwest Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:05pm

ok
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 696392)
Yes ...and I have no idea why they have different and contradictory rulings.

And to be completely honest, I'm not sure that I'd follow that case play anyway if I ever ran into that situation(but don't tell anybody :p).

I wont tell anyone. Your secret safe with me. And I wont post it on a public forum either! :D

Scratch85 Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:13pm

Is it correct to assume the ensuing throw-in would be on the endline with the ability to run the endline if the last FT was made?

rwest Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 696398)
Is it correct to assume the ensuing throw-in would be on the endline with the ability to run the endline if the last FT was made?

I would think so. Can't see why not.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 696398)
Is it correct to assume the ensuing throw-in would be on the endline with the ability to run the endline if the last FT was made?

It's not correct to assume that. You should look it up and know it.

(The ruling, however, is correct.)

tjones1 Thu Oct 14, 2010 03:20pm

Oh heck, I'll say it...
 
Rules rulz!:D

amusedofficial Thu Oct 14, 2010 04:13pm

"Hey -- tuck it in"
 
don't have the book with me... But say it's a close game, A is with ball and up by one, double bonus, 10 sec or less left and B fouls the A's worst shooter, say a .500 foul shooter. He misses the field goal and gets two at the line. Foulee pulls shirt out, is sent off, better shooter (all that remain are better shooters) picked to take the shot, sinks two. Team B, which made strategic foul on a specific player believing they had a good chance he'd hit one or none, so that a field goal would win or tie if they got possession, now must sink a three to tie because A1s violation let A get the lousy shooter off the line. If the lousy shooter went to the line, B would have a good chance at a rebound, and maybe a t/o, after he hits none or one of two.

"So son, you are awful at the line, so if you get fouled in the last half minute, pull your shirt out so we can get someone else to the line"

Or did I miss something?

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 14, 2010 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 696404)
Rules rulz!

Most of the time.....:D

That's what makes officiating an art instead of a science.

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 14, 2010 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by amusedofficial (Post 696416)
don't have the book with me... But say it's a close game, A is with ball and up by one, double bonus, 10 sec or less left and B fouls the A's worst shooter, say a .500 foul shooter. He misses the field goal and gets two at the line. Foulee pulls shirt out, is sent off, better shooter (all that remain are better shooters) picked to take the shot, sinks two. Team B, which made strategic foul on a specific player believing they had a good chance he'd hit one or none, so that a field goal would win or tie if they got possession, now must sink a three to tie because A1s violation let A get the lousy shooter off the line. If the lousy shooter went to the line, B would have a good chance at a rebound, and maybe a t/o, after he hits none or one of two.

"So son, you are awful at the line, so if you get fouled in the last half minute, pull your shirt out so we can get someone else to the line"

Or did I miss something?

Yup, you don't send the FT shooter off until after he finishes his FT's.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1