![]() |
What would you do?
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting. As he comes to the line, he untucks his shirt. This is not in disgust with the call or a show of emotion. He just untucked to shoot his free throws. What do you do?
|
Quote:
But that's just me.:D Btw, that case play ain't new. They just added a "COMMENT" to it to cover coaches trying to call A TO to keep the player in the game. |
Quote:
In both cases, the transgression can be quickly corrected with no delay. SO, why is one player directed to leave, and the other can remain? |
Party Pooper
Quote:
|
I would have thought...
Quote:
I understand giving the ball to team B since we clear the lane. But what I disagree with is clearing the lane in the first place. It seems a stiff penalty for a uniform violation. Team A loses the chance to get a rebound on the 2nd free throw. It just doesn't seem to fit with the rule, but I'll enforce it as written, just seems odd to me. |
Quote:
And to be completely honest, I'm not sure that I'd follow that case play anyway if I ever ran into that situation(but don't tell anybody :p). |
Quote:
|
ok
Quote:
|
Is it correct to assume the ensuing throw-in would be on the endline with the ability to run the endline if the last FT was made?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
(The ruling, however, is correct.) |
Oh heck, I'll say it...
Rules rulz!:D
|
"Hey -- tuck it in"
don't have the book with me... But say it's a close game, A is with ball and up by one, double bonus, 10 sec or less left and B fouls the A's worst shooter, say a .500 foul shooter. He misses the field goal and gets two at the line. Foulee pulls shirt out, is sent off, better shooter (all that remain are better shooters) picked to take the shot, sinks two. Team B, which made strategic foul on a specific player believing they had a good chance he'd hit one or none, so that a field goal would win or tie if they got possession, now must sink a three to tie because A1s violation let A get the lousy shooter off the line. If the lousy shooter went to the line, B would have a good chance at a rebound, and maybe a t/o, after he hits none or one of two.
"So son, you are awful at the line, so if you get fouled in the last half minute, pull your shirt out so we can get someone else to the line" Or did I miss something? |
Quote:
That's what makes officiating an art instead of a science. |
Quote:
|
*3.3.5 situation a ...
Quote:
one, the official observes: (a) A1 pull the shirt out of his/her pants; or (b) A1’s pants being worn below the hips. RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 will be directed to put the shirt in the pants or pull up the pants, and must leave the game immediately following his/her last free throw(s). The lane is cleared for the free throw and Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in, whether or not the last free throw is successful. COMMENT: A charged time-out by Team A does not alter the requirement for A1 to leave the game. |
Friar Tuck ...
Quote:
|
I would keenly observe that there is moisture on ball. As I was wiping it off on my pants I would say "Golly, this would be a good time to for those of you who don't have their shirts tucked in to do so now." If that didn't do the trick then I would do what the good book says. (Judge not lest ye be not judged!) HA
|
Quote:
That said, I can also see why you wouldn't send the player out immediately in either case....maybe the coach would have his worst FT shooter pull his shirt out anytime he was fouled!!!! |
This is quite simple.
"A1, tuck your shirt in" If they don't then we have a new FT shooter. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Check out the reference JR provided (post #2) and Billy posted (post #16). |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am. |