The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   7-6-6 stuff (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59333-7-6-6-stuff.html)

M&M Guy Tue Oct 12, 2010 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 696033)
Upon further review, ol' JR was full of shiznit....

Case Book Play 6.4.1 SITUATION D:
It is team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. By mistake, team A is given the throw-in. Team A...releases the ball on the alternating-possession throw-in, but before the ball is legally touched in-bounds, Team A or team B commits a foul.
RULING The alternating-possession throw-in did not end when the foul occurred. Therefore, the alternating-possession mistake is corrected and the arrow now favors team B; penalize the foul appropriately. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 6-4-5)


Good question.

All this case play points out is the AP throw-in was never completed, so the arrow remains where it was, or should have been, which was pointing to B. If A commits a foul, B will have the resulting throw-in because of the foul. If B committed the foul, A would have the throw-in as a result of the penalty from the foul. The AP throw-in effectively never happened; it doesn't matter that A was the one that threw it in, B will still get the next AP throw-in.

I'm not sure how this applies to the original question. The foul was not canceled as a result of the correction. The throw-in itself was not "corrected", as the foul stands and any subsequent throw-in is a result of the foul. The only thing being "corrected" is to make sure the arrow remains with B, because the throw-in was never completed, and it will affect a future throw-in. In the original question, there's nothing more to correct, as that "generic" throw-in is over.

Scratch85 Tue Oct 12, 2010 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 696050)
In the original question, there's nothing more to correct, as that "generic" throw-in is over.


I agree. I wish 7-6-6 read "over" instead of "ends." :)


Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 696031)
What rules would we have applied to this situation before 7-6-6 was written? Or is it just the lack of rules for this situation that would have rendered our ruling? Prior to 7-6-6 what rule allowed us to stop play, ending the throw-in and award the ball to the correct team?

If someone can help me with these questions, I think I can get my brain unwrinkled about 7-6-6.

Scratch85 Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:13pm

An officer of our local official's association reported that he had exchanged e-mails with NFHS concerning 7-6-6. This is basically what he reported:

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded a throw-in. Team B fouls during the throw-in. Team A is in the double bonus.

NFHS Ruling: Team A shoots the double bonus with the lane cleared. Rectify the mistake.

In rectifying the mistake, would we award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot as in 4-36-2(b) or would we award the throw-in as in 7-5? Same question if team A was not in the bonus. Award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot or spot throw-in as in 7-5-4(a)?

jdmara Tue Oct 19, 2010 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 697001)
An officer of our association reported that he had exchanged e-mails with NFHS concerning 7-6-6. This is basically what he reported:

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded a throw-in. Team B fouls during the throw-in. Team A is in the double bonus.

NFHS Ruling: Team A shoots the double bonus with the lane cleared. Rectify the mistake.

In rectifying the mistake, would we award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot as in 4-36-2(b) or would we award the throw-in as in 7-5? Same question if team A was not in the bonus. Award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot or spot throw-in as in 7-5-4(a)?

I would love to see this ruling come out in a memo. hmmm

-Josh

tref Tue Oct 19, 2010 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 697001)
An officer of our local official's association reported that he had exchanged e-mails with NFHS concerning 7-6-6. This is basically what he reported:

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded a throw-in. Team B fouls during the throw-in. Team A is in the double bonus.

NFHS Ruling: Team A shoots the double bonus with the lane cleared. Rectify the mistake.

In rectifying the mistake, would we award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot as in 4-36-2(b) or would we award the throw-in as in 7-5? Same question if team A was not in the bonus. Award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot or spot throw-in as in 7-5-4(a)?

I'd like to see that in writing! Sounds like a CE.

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 19, 2010 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 697001)
An officer of our local official's association reported that he had exchanged e-mails with NFHS concerning 7-6-6. This is basically what he reported:

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded a throw-in. Team B fouls during the throw-in. Team A is in the double bonus.

NFHS Ruling: Team A shoots the double bonus with the lane cleared. Rectify the mistake.

In rectifying the mistake, would we award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot as in 4-36-2(b) or would we award the throw-in as in 7-5? Same question if team A was not in the bonus. Award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot or spot throw-in as in 7-5-4(a)?

Otherwise known as NFHS case book play 6.4.1SitD(b), as cited above....:)

The applicable rule is NFHS rule 4-36-2(b). You had a foul occur before an AP throw-in ended. Penalize the foul and then resume play at the original AP throw-in spot, but correct the AP mistake and give the AP throw-in to team B.

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 19, 2010 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 697025)
I'd like to see that in writing!

If you want to see it in writing, read NFHS case book play 6.4.1SitD(b) and rule 4-36-2(b). Collectively they cover the situation.

tref Tue Oct 19, 2010 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 697048)
If you want to see it in writing, read NFHS case book play 6.4.1SitD(b) and rule 4-36-2(b). Collectively they cover the situation.

Yup, just read it! On one hand its good to know, on the other hand just dont give the wrong team the ball!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1