The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2000, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 31
Question

quote:
Originally posted by beancenzo:
If in one motion, a player jumps, uses both hands for an offensive rebound and shoots/tips the ball to the basket, is that considered to be a possession by that player? Situation came up where the player put up an air ball and caught the ball to shoot again.

I'm sure that you can tip the ball with one hand repetively as you attempt to shoot the ball.

A legitamate attempt at shooting is being made and if it slips away or simply makes no contact with the basket, net or board is still legal from what I've been taught. In the old days(3 plus) years ago we called it a self pass but if you think about it, the intent is to allow the player to continue to compete.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1