7th and 8th grade CYO playoff game. Team A up 8 with 1:45 left. Throw in after a timeout by B. B-1 inbounds the ball by rolling it on the floor towards B-2. The ball has little or no momentum and comes to a stop in B's backcourt. B-2 makes no attempt to pick up the ball and no one else from B is in the backcourt. B-1 runs down the floor leaving B-2 alone with this stopped ball in the backcourt. No one from A makes any attempt to get the ball and B-2 just stands there! I was observing two of our associations JV officials work the ball game as part of our rating committee along with several of my colleagues. The trail official began a 10 second count and when he reached ten, he called a held ball (since no team control had been established was his reasoning) and went to the possession arrow which favored A. Team B coach argues that the 10 second count can only begin when his team had control. The coach tells the official he was instructing B-2 on what he wanted done and since A wasn't pressuring, there was no need to pick up the ball. He argued that the clock couldn't start and neither could the count until the ball was touched inbounds. The calling official asked us after the game whether we felt he did the right thing and whether there was anything in the rules to cover that situation. He said he started his ten second count because he felt that B-2 could have easily picked up the ball. We all admitted we'd never seen anything like that before! The throw-in count ended when the ball was released but the throw-in doesn't end until the passed ball touches or is touched by an inbounds player other than the thrower. That didn't happen here. We were perplexed but agreed with how the situation was handled given the circumstances. What do you guys think? Is this in the rules anywhere (I couldn't find it)! Would you have agreed with the calling official that B-2 was "in control" (it does not meet the definition of control)? By the way, Team A won by 12.
|