The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2000, 03:39pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
Post

quote:
Originally posted by jackgil on 03-20-2000 09:31 AM
Not a 10 second violation. This certainly is delaying the game even if the example is not in the case book. If B is able to pick up ball and doesn't, I'd blow whistle and report delay of game warning on team B. Give B the ball under team A's basket again. If the same thing happens again, technical on team B.


I like this solution. I must admit, having seen the play, I felt for the guys on the floor. To address a couple of things, the official went to the arrow because there was no team control. He started the 10 second count because, even though it's not control by rule or definition, he felt that the Team B player could have easily picked up the ball at any time. That being said, we took this to our interpreter and he agreed that after a "reasonable" waiting period (depends on individual tolerance levels) and possibly warning the kid or Team B coach to pick up the ball and play or face a delay warning, the whistle should have been blown and an official delay warning should have been given to B. Team A is under no obligation to force the action. If it happens again, according to our interpreter, "T" on Team B with a stern warning that the next time would be the last as Team B would forfeit due to allowing the game to become an actionless contest. This, of course, assumes that Team A plays normally after being awarded the "T" free throws and subsequent throw-in. Our interpreter didn't fell you could penalize Team A with a "T" because the ball was clearly at the disposal of Team B and although he couldn't understand why Team A wouldn't come after the ball, they were under no obligation to do so. Agree/Disagree?

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2000, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 13
Post

Agree and dissagree.
I agree that that a warning should be issued before (should have stated that on my first post) but if (luck have it) they were able to let the same situation happen again if think both teams are at equal fault for not initiating action. As soon as the ball enters the court it is in play for anybody to make a play on, why does your interperator feel that A has no obligation to play the ball? I still stick with my 1st post and call a T on both teams and go with the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 21, 2000, 01:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 193
Post

Walt, did you ever get an explanation from team A coach/players as to why they didnt steal (like stealing candy from a baby!) the ball?
Were the players baffled by team B's actions? Were they looking for the refs to call delay of game on A?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 21, 2000, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 193
Post

I mean delay of game on B.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 21, 2000, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 38
Post

I agree with bob jenkins. Stop play.Tell both coaches you will have B inbound ball again.
If no one attempts to play, it will be a
double tech,delay of game,go to arrow.
Next it will be forfeit.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2000, 03:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2
Post

Team A should not be penalized with a double tech or the actionless contest...I have seen games where team B would roll in the indbounds, refuse to pick it up (inviting team A to steal), and as Team A sprints for the steal, B picks up the ball and and ends up with a 5 on 4 advantage. Penalize team B with a delay warning followed by a tech.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2000, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 193
Post

Neal - you hit it right on the head - thank you. Giving a T to team A makes no sense to me. They are NOT required to go for the steal. B IS REQUIRED to at leaset PICK the BALL UP! It sounded like to me that team B wasnt playing fair and team A coach was very familiar with team B's tactics.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2000, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 13
Post

Jackgil,
I am playing the devils advocate here, but where does it say that team B HAS to pick up the ball? They are only required by rule to indound the ball within 5 sec, which they did. This is a very strange situation but it's interesting hearing all your viewpoints.

DB
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2000, 01:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 193
Talking

Dave -

I believe it is reasonable to classify B's action as delay of game which is a violation and subject to penalties. If B just stands there and waits for A to respond we could be here forever depending on how stubborn B coach is. One of the posts talked about ulterior motives by B --- turning it into a 5 on 4 break picking up ball when A goes for ball. You can't penalize team A .. they are just not falling into their hands.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2000, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 31
Lightbulb

First of all was the whistle blown to resume play after a TO loud enough for the whole gym to hear? If not then that could explain the actionless moment. If so then one must wonder what both coaches intent were. Anyway, I would blow an inadvertant whistle and speak with both coaches, find out the intent and readminister throw in and issue a warning to mainly the team that is throwing it in. Was the game called poorly prior to that point?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2000, 02:51pm
KJ KJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 1
Post

Would'nt the correct call be the 5 second inbounding violation on team B? The 5 second count ends when the ball touches a player on either team.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2000, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 193
Post

KJ -

You might want to check rule book on that. It ends on the RELEASE of the ball. 10 second count ends when front court status is attained. Are you mixing the 2 up?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1