| Jurassic Referee |
Thu Jun 10, 2010 06:28am |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green
(Post 681178)
I have to disagree with you on this. There are several rules at play.
The elbow swing does not have to be excessive,
<font color = red>If the elbow extends outside the vertical plane the responsibility for contact belongs to the offense. If the defender is inside the offensive space the it is a defensive foul.</font>
There are plenty of pivots that are wide- There are plenty of pivots that extend into other players
|
Kelvin, if you go back and read some of my posts, you'll see that is exactly what I have been saying all along. The only difference is the terminology.
I said that during a non-excessive elbow swing:
1) If the elbow extends outside the offensive space, then the player with the ball has not made a legal pivot if contact occurs. PC foul.
2) If the defender is inside the offensive space, the player with the ball has made a legal pivot if contact occurs. Defensive foul or no call for incidental contact---> judgment call.
That is basically what you just stated above. It is also basically the response that I received back after asking the same question of several NCAA officials.
I can't see where we disagree.
|