The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Excessive swinging of elbows (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58335-excessive-swinging-elbows.html)

Hornets222003 Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:03pm

Here's a little more information to clarify

It was a "long" defensive rebound just outside the paint just above the second free throw space. Naturally, the guards float to the ball to go for the strip. His primary defender (whom he beat to the ball) is there plus one other guard - both going for the ball. Another defender approaches from behind ( I guess he though he could sneak up and still the ball). He leans in takes a couple of swipes, but I don't think the post player knows he's there yet on account that there are 4 arms reaching for the ball from the front. He pivots away from these two, and as he does, he makes contact with the third defender.

I hope this clears up any confusion.

Adam Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:18pm

Sounds like a no-call unless it knocked the ball out.

Adam Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 680879)
That makes sense and I would have to see the contact to judge but if the defensive player ends up on the ground, I will go with some salt on the wound. The reasons being that it will help clean up the game b/c it won't happen again. Also, another player may see what they think is an elbow that wasn't called and want to retaliate.

I'm not going to call a foul on B1 just because B2 might retaliate otherwise. Frankly, I'm no-calling it because it's not a foul by rule. B1's actions didn't prevent A1 from participating in normal offensive movements, so the contact is incidental by rule.

Getting an elbow in the nose prevents it just as much, if not more so, than a foul call. I'm not making a call just because it might somehow lessen the grief I might take for making the correct no-call.

sseltser Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hornets222003 (Post 680881)
Here's a little more information to clarify

It was a "long" defensive rebound just outside the paint just above the second free throw space. Naturally, the guards float to the ball to go for the strip. His primary defender (whom he beat to the ball) is there plus one other guard - both going for the ball. Another defender approaches from behind ( I guess he though he could sneak up and still the ball). He leans in takes a couple of swipes, but I don't think the post player knows he's there yet on account that there are 4 arms reaching for the ball from the front. He pivots away from these two, and as he does, he makes contact with the third defender.

I hope this clears up any confusion.

I really think this is a HTBT, but I'm wondering how an extended elbow can hit a jaw, but the jaw is in A1's space. If the elbow is extended, then that, by rule, is outside the player's space.

Adam Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser (Post 680890)
I really think this is a HTBT, but I'm wondering how an extended elbow can hit a jaw, but the jaw is in A1's space. If the elbow is extended, then that, by rule, is outside the player's space.

Not necessarily. Chinning the ball doesn't mean the elbows are outside the player's space. That's the impression I got from his post, even though he said "extended." Having the player behind him leaning in and trying to swipe a ball that's in front, it's going to have to be pretty obvious that the elbow was extended and swinging excessively.

Judtech Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 680889)
I'm not going to call a foul on B1 just because B2 might retaliate otherwise. Frankly, I'm no-calling it because it's not a foul by rule. B1's actions didn't prevent A1 from participating in normal offensive movements, so the contact is incidental by rule.

Getting an elbow in the nose prevents it just as much, if not more so, than a foul call. I'm not making a call just because it might somehow lessen the grief I might take for making the correct no-call.

We agree. I was working from the angle that B1's actions DID prevent A1 from making a normal offensive move.
With the final post, we also agree. Again, being a HTBT, I would think this sounds like a now call as well unless the ball comes loose.

Camron Rust Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 680833)
Hornets:

Based upon your description this is a player control foul by the post player.

MTD, Sr.

Agree....while it is not excessivly swinging, a player may not legally move into another player who has obtained LGP. Just becasue the piviot is legal doesn't absolve the player form committing a foul in the process. If it were any different, post players could pivot their way through their defenders for easy layups/dunks.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 09, 2010 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 680879)
The reasons being that it will help clean up the game b/c it won't happen again. Also, another player may see what they think is an elbow that wasn't called and want to retaliate.

If it hasn't happened yet, there's NO need to clean up the game. You can get yourself into a heaped-high steaming pile of doo-doo by trying to send a message when there's absolutely no need to do so.

Just make the call based on it's own merits. As Snaqs said, you might feel that the best call for that particular play might be a no-call for incidental contact. It might also be a case where the pivot is borderline legal/illegal and you really do want to send a message. But the main idea imo is to judge whether the original pivot was legally made or not. That's the whole crux of the call. If you do decide that the pivot was legally made, it's fairly easy to judge any ensuing contact. The same holds true if you decide that it was an illegal pivot.

What you don't want to ever do is pre-judge the legality of the pivot.

Over-thinking these type of calls can get you into trouble.

JMO.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 09, 2010 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser (Post 680890)
I really think this is a HTBT, but I'm wondering how an extended elbow can hit a jaw, but the jaw is in A1's space. If the elbow is extended, then that, by rule, is outside the player's space.

What rule?:confused:

I can't think of any rule that states that a player with the ball can't extend his elbow(s) in a normal fashion while making a legal pivot. The decision that you have to make if contact occurs is whether the defender actually did have a legal, vertical stance or not. The defender's jaw may or may not be in A'1 space, but you have to determine that on each and every play. You can't make up a one-size fits-all dictum like an extended elbow is always illegal to cover these types of call. You don't have the rules-backing to do something like that/

You have to determine first and foremost if the pivot by A1 was legal or not. The ensuing right/proper call can't be made without that determination.

Of course, it's a HTBT call though. Every single one of these elbow-swinging situations is. You have to treat each and every one as a unique play imo and judge that play solely on it's merits. And like any other judgment call, you might get one wrong some time.

sseltser Wed Jun 09, 2010 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 680923)
What rule?:confused:

I can't think of any rule that states that a player with the ball can't extend his elbow(s) in a normal fashion while making a legal pivot. The decision that you have to make if contact occurs is whether the defender actually did have a legal, vertical stance or not. The defender's jaw may or may not be in A'1 space, but you have to determine that on each and every play. You can't make up a one-size fits-all dictum like an extended elbow is always illegal to cover these types of call. You don't have the rules-backing to do something like that/

You have to determine first and foremost if the pivot by A1 was legal or not. The ensuing right/proper call can't be made without that determination.

Of course, it's a HTBT call though. Every single one of these elbow-swinging situations is. You have to treat each and every one as a unique play imo and judge that play solely on it's merits. And like any other judgment call, you might get one wrong some time.

The rule is 4-24-6:
The extension of the elbows when the hands are on the hips or when the hands are held near the chest or when the arms are held more or less horizontally are examples of the illegal positions used.

The rules state that extending the elbows is not legal, even if you think it is "normal."


Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 680923)
Based on his description, there is nowayinhell that is a PC foul. It's a completely legal pivot as per NFHS rule 4-24-8:
"It is not legal to swing arms or elbows excessively. This occurs when arms and elbows are swung about while using the shoulders as pivots, and the speed of the extended arms is in excess of the rest of the body as it rotates on the hips or on the pivot foot."

There was NO excessive elbow swinging and the elbows were NOT moving faster than the torso.



I agree that there is not a one-size-fits-all way to call these. But for you to say that there is "nowayinhell" that this is a PC foul is wrong. Just because a pivot is legal, doesn't mean that the offensive player didn't cause illegal contact with his arms/elbows.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 09, 2010 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser (Post 680929)
1)The rule is 4-24-6:

2) But for you to say that there is "nowayinhell" that this is a PC foul is wrong. Just because a pivot is legal, doesn't mean that the offensive player didn't cause illegal contact with his arms/elbows.

1) And you're treating 4-24-8 as if it doesn't exist. And 4-24-8 specifically refers to excessive and illegal elbow swinging, which is what we're discussing. Not all elbow swinging is excessive and illegal. If it was, any pivot with your arms out in a normal position would also be illegal. Do you really think that's the case?

2) There is nowayinhell you can call a PC foul or a violation on any offensive player with the ball while that player is making a LEGAL pivot. There is nothing written anywhere in the rules that will allow you to do so. To call either, you must have an illegal act of some kind to occur. And an legal pivot is NOt an illegal act. To say otherwise is simply ridiculous imo.

We're never going to agree. May I suggest that you take this to your local or state rules interpreter and ask them if an offensive player with the ball can ever be called for a PC foul or a violation while making a legal pivot.

Raymond Wed Jun 09, 2010 09:32am

2009-10 NCAA-M POE

Excessive Swinging of the Elbows
Last year, there were increases in excessive swinging of the elbows. This action should not be ignored because of the associated danger to another player. Contact resulting from an illegally thrown elbow can cause serious injury. Consequently, excessive swinging of the elbow(s) is a point of emphasis.

When the arm and elbow, with the shoulder as a base (pivot) are swung with a speed that exceeds the rest of the body as it rotates on the hips or on the pivot foot, that action is considered to be excessive. Contact, after such an action, shall not be ignored but shall be called a flagrant foul. When the player’s arm(s) and elbow(s) are swung excessively but without contact, a violation has been committed.

When the arms and elbows and the rest of the body move with the same or similarly generated speed and contact occurs, that contact is not considered to be excessive. However, the contact is illegal, and a foul shall be assessed.

MathReferee Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 680849)
:)In all positions the defender can assume a legal, vertical stance as close as possible to the player with the ball. But no matter how close the defender gets, he still has to allow the player with the ball to make a legal pivot. If contact occurs with the elbow while the player with the ball is making a legal pivot, then the defender did not attain the legal, vertical stance needed by rule.

Serious question: Is this comment in bold supported by rule? I know 4-23-1 gives us the guideline that there is no minimum distance a defender must give for guarding, as you pointed out. However, I have just never read anything about giving an offensive player room to make a legal pivot.

In regards to the play, I agree with Jurassic in that you have to see these plays on a case by case basis. If elbows are extended in order to create space and they make contact with a defender I am going with PC more times than not. To echo someone else that asked, wasn't this a POE for NCAA last year after the Hansborough incident? I seem to recall Adams viewing this type of contact as a PC foul and possibly intentional.

Raymond Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AustinRef (Post 680981)
...To echo someone else that asked, wasn't this a POE for NCAA last year after the Hansborough incident? I seem to recall Adams viewing this type of contact as a PC foul and possibly intentional.

Look above your post. ;)

MathReferee Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 680983)
Look above your post. ;)

Yeah, timing is awesome...:)

EDIT: Or, actually reading through the whole thread first woudl help...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1