The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Goatending? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58294-goatending.html)

vbzebra Fri Jun 04, 2010 08:05am

well, at least I haven't heard "hey ref, you're officiating like "goats" out there!:eek:

BktBallRef Fri Jun 04, 2010 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by vbzebra (Post 679981)
Ok, may be a stupid question, but here goes :D

kid driving for layup, ball hits off backboard (layup style) still going up is NOT above the rim and is NOT in the imaginary cylinder, defender does his best LeBron "get-that-weak-mess-out-of-here" block of the ball after it hits the backboard (but again, with above parameters mentioned). NBA has it as goaltending. That we know..

Ah...no, we don't. What you describe is NOT goaltending in the NBA.

From the NBA Rule Book.

A player shall not:
During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.

This is the same as the NCAA rule.

hoopguy Fri Jun 04, 2010 09:02am

Anybody know when this rule was changed and why? I realize the backboard now does not make it goaltending but when I played(dating myself) it was goaltending and I am wondering when the change occurred and what the rational behind it was. Of course I did not read a rule book as a player so I could be wrong but I do not think so. Seems like it would be a lot easier for officials with the old 'once it touches the backboard' goatending vs the more decision making rule of today.

As a fan I think I like the old rule better. More of an advantage toward the smaller player. Once the player gets the ball on the backboard he knew it was safe from being blocked.

Amesman Fri Jun 04, 2010 09:29am

All this goat talk got me wondering: Why haven't we heard from Billy on this one yet? :D

Jurassic Referee Fri Jun 04, 2010 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 680150)
Anybody know when this rule was changed and why? I realize the backboard now does not make it goaltending but when I played(dating myself) it was goaltending and I am wondering when the change occurred and what the rational behind it was. Of course I did not read a rule book as a player so I could be wrong but I do not think so. Seems like it would be a lot easier for officials with the old 'once it touches the backboard' goatending vs the more decision making rule of today.

As a fan I think I like the old rule better. More of an advantage toward the smaller player. Once the player gets the ball on the backboard he knew it was safe from being blocked.

Afaik, the rule has never changed in NFHS rules. It's been the same for the last 50 years anyway. Goaltending has always been defined as touching a shot that has a chance to go in on the way down. The FED issued periodic interpretations that noted that touching a shot after it hit the glass had to meet the exact same criteria defined in the GT rule. We had to judge whether the touch after the ball hit the glass was on the way up or on the way down, and then rule accordingly. Iow, it's always been a straight judgment call.

This is one rule that I can see the FED changing to the NCAA rule sometime in the future...to make our job easier and take out some of the judgment factor.

mbyron Fri Jun 04, 2010 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 680164)
The FED issued periodic interpretations that noted that touching a shot after it hit the glass had to meet the exact same criteria defined in the GT rule.

This is the bit that's different from NCAA (and NBE). The glass is irrelevant to the NFHS rule.

In the other codes, once the ball touches the glass above the rim, you can have GT even when the ball is still going up.

Jurassic Referee Fri Jun 04, 2010 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 680165)
This is the bit that's different from NCAA (and NBE). The glass is irrelevant to the NFHS rule.

And iirc the NCAA only changed their GT rule a couple of years ago to match the NBE. Before that it was the same as the the NFHS.

vbzebra Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 680142)
Ah...no, we don't. What you describe is NOT goaltending in the NBA.

From the NBA Rule Book.

A player shall not:
During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.

This is the same as the NCAA rule.

my bad, good point about being ABOVE ring level...

bob jenkins Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 680150)
so I could be wrong

I vote for this explanation.

bob jenkins Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 679994)
Goat-tending needs two T's, and should be hyphenated.

Correct.

The OP meant Goa-tending, just (about) as he spelt.

Mark Padgett Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 680185)
The OP meant Goa-tending.....

Maybe he meant he wanted to know about going to Goa and tending bar?

http://www.amchegoa.com/images/map_of_goa.gif

BktBallRef Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 680150)
Anybody know when this rule was changed and why? I realize the backboard now does not make it goaltending but when I played(dating myself) it was goaltending and I am wondering when the change occurred and what the rational behind it was. Of course I did not read a rule book as a player so I could be wrong but I do not think so. Seems like it would be a lot easier for officials with the old 'once it touches the backboard' goatending vs the more decision making rule of today.

As a fan I think I like the old rule better. More of an advantage toward the smaller player. Once the player gets the ball on the backboard he knew it was safe from being blocked.

What old rule? It hasn't changed. Contacting the ball after it's hit the backboard has never been GT unless it was above the rim and on it's way down.

bainsey Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 680203)
Contacting the ball after it's hit the backboard has never been GT unless it was above the rim and on it's way down.

I believe the NCAA changed the rule recently. Now, if it hits the backboard, it doesn't matter whether it's going up or down. If it's above the rim, it's goaltending.

Adam Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 680205)
I believe the NCAA changed the rule recently. Now, if it hits the backboard, it doesn't matter whether it's going up or down. If it's above the rim, it's goaltending.

Close.
You might want to read his earlier post:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 680142)
Ah...no, we don't. What you describe is NOT goaltending in the NBA.

From the NBA Rule Book.

A player shall not:
During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.

This is the same as the NCAA rule.


SamIAm Fri Jun 04, 2010 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 679994)
Goat-tending needs two T's, and should be hyphenated.

Except when it is a proper name. In that case it is just fine.

Just ask Jonathan Goatending of Bridger, Montana.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1