![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
First of all, congrats to Kyle Singler, whose team won despite being coached by, well, let's not get into that. My question is this - earlier in the tournament, I'm sure I saw a situation in which there was a jump ball called, the team that had been in control had the arrow so they got possession and the shot clock, which was at 8 seconds, was not reset. Tonight, in the title game, there was a jump called, the shot clock was at 24, Butler had the ball and since they had the arrow, they got possession but the shot clock was reset to 35.
College guys - what's the rule?
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
That's exactly what happened. You could even see one of the officials explaining that to Coach K...the Duke defender had sole possession of the ball prior to the held ball.
|
|
|||
It was close, but I agree with how they called it on the floor.
|
|
|||
I was coming on here to talk about the shot clock play but in regards to going to the monitor. I didn't think that they could go to the monitor on a play to determine possession. They could have gone if the shot clock operator reset by accident and they thought it should not have been reset. Basically a "mistake or malfunction" has to take place and neither did. I also didn't think they should have gone to the monitor on the fast break foul (that was close to being intentional). You can go to the monitor if you think a flagrant foul possibly took place but it is hard for me to believe that they were anywhere close to thinking that it was a flagrant. I think they went to the monitor for the sole purpose of seeing if an intentional foul should be called, which is not legal. I've seen this happen a number of times through out the tournament (and regular season) so maybe a bulletin came out that I am not aware of.
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
On the foul call, I believe the calling official was trailing the play, and was straight-lined from seeing the Duke defender. He properly called the foul, and because of the contact causing a player going to go hard to the floor, was then able to go to the monitor to see if a flagrant had occured. Once they review the play, they are allowed to "upgrade" the foul to an intentional or flagrant. One thing they cannot do is call a flagrant, for example, then review it and change (downgrade) it to a common foul. As much as I was rooting for Butler, I thought the officials got it right. Good use of replay in both instances, especially in a high-profile, close game.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
He got it right, but I hope it wasn't because he guessed. |
|
|||
Quote:
The only time you would have a reset on the shot clock after a tie up and the team that had possession will retain possession is after a missed shot attempt that does not hit the ring. The shot clock IS RESET if 2 players tie it up on a rebound from an airball. This only applies to Mens and NOT Womens. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA shot clock question | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 9 | Fri Mar 19, 2010 07:36pm |
NCAA-W Shot clock ?'s | JS 20 | Basketball | 9 | Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:02pm |
NCAA shot clock question | rulesmaven | Basketball | 6 | Thu Feb 09, 2006 02:52pm |
NCAA shot clock history. | Brian48823 | Basketball | 8 | Thu Mar 18, 2004 07:25am |
Shot Clock (NCAA). | JRutledge | Basketball | 2 | Sat Nov 09, 2002 11:44pm |