The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   When does travel occur? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57717-when-does-travel-occur.html)

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 31, 2010 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 671818)
And perhaps he would direct your attention to 4.15.4:

A1.........allows the ball to come to rest in one hand. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred.

And the exact same argument ensues.....

What violation has occurred if A1 palms/carries the ball? If A1 committed a pivot-foot violation while carrying the ball, he has committed a traveling violation by rule. If A1 did not travel during the palm/carry, and then dribbles again after the ball had come to rest on the palm/carry, then A1 has committed an illegal second dribble, also by rule. But what violation can you call if A1 doesn't travel during the carry and then also doesn't touch the ball again after dropping it at the end of the palm/carry? I can't justify calling that a dribble because...well...A1 never actually dribbled..... but that's just me.

Agree to disagree. Neither one of us is going to change the other one's mind.

just another ref Wed Mar 31, 2010 09:57pm

OK, I was wrong.





I'm not done. :D

I thought of another question. For those who say another touch is required, does it have to be with the hands? If the player about to get his shot blocked drops the ball, and it bounces up and hits his leg, does this make it a violation?

mbyron Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 672012)
I thought of another question. For those who say another touch is required, does it have to be with the hands? If the player about to get his shot blocked drops the ball, and it bounces up and hits his leg, does this make it a violation?

I dunno: does that make it a dribble?

Raymond Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 672012)
OK, I was wrong.





I'm not done. :D

I thought of another question. For those who say another touch is required, does it have to be with the hands? If the player about to get his shot blocked drops the ball, and it bounces up and hits his leg, does this make it a violation?

Weird, really weird....I thought about the same scenario this afternoon. Guess our brains aren't that far off from each other. :eek:

Nevadaref Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 672012)
I thought of another question. For those who say another touch is required, does it have to be with the hands? If the player about to get his shot blocked drops the ball, and it bounces up and hits his leg, does this make it a violation?

From the definition of a dribble in 4-15-1:
"intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)"

just another ref Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 672020)
From the definition of a dribble in 4-15-1:
"intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)"

I already got this definition. To me it was already a dribble when it was pushed/dropped to the floor. I was asking all these others who say he must touch it again if the touch had to be with the hands. If they say no, I will find this point of view even more difficult to grasp.

The rest of the definition by the way: pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

He already pushed it to the floor once. Case closed.

Adam Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:07am

I've given up having the last word for lent.

BillyMac Thu Apr 01, 2010 06:43am

He is not here, for he has been raised just as he said. (Matthew 28:6)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 672036)
I've given up having the last word for lent.

We'll look forward to hearing from you on Sunday.

mbyron Thu Apr 01, 2010 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 672024)
The rest of the definition by the way: pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

He already pushed it to the floor once. Case closed.

Pushing the ball to the floor is necessary but not sufficient for the act to be a dribble. It's also necessary that he touch it again. Together these conditions are jointly sufficient.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1