The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rules "exercise" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57678-rules-exercise.html)

Mark Padgett Wed Mar 24, 2010 01:52pm

Rules "exercise"
 
This is an “exercise” our local kids rec league gives to our first year refs (usually HS kids) just to see how well they can “get their heads around” a situation. See how many answers you can get.

NF rules. A1 passes the ball to A2 who is standing with both feet behind his team’s three point line. A2 catches the ball cleanly and, without moving his feet, almost immediately shoots the ball into the proper basket for a three point shot. However, the official properly waives the shot off. How many reasons can you think of as to why the official did this.

Here are some our guys have listed:
there was an inadvertent whistle
A2 commits a PC foul on the shot
prior to releasing the ball, someone on team A commits a foul
someone on team A requests a timeout prior to the shot
B2 fouls A2 before A2 started his shooting motion

My personal favorite is that one of our kids (a girl) said that before releasing the shot, A2 yelled a profanity at the official and a technical was called, plus (according to our league rules) A2 was ejected.

There have been more, but I didn’t want to spoil it for you. One none of them ever thought of is that when A2 received the original pass, he was standing in his team’s backcourt and the official called the violation. The problem just says he was behind his team’s three point line so he could be in the backcourt.

More?

riverfalls57 Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:12pm

Prior to releasing the shot the quarter, half, or games ended.

Indianaref Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:14pm

Time expired for the quarter.

youngump Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:17pm

A2 had been replaced with A6 at the last timeout.
________
PAXIL LAWSUIT INFO

Indianaref Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:25pm

Offensive BI

grunewar Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:27pm

The darn clock operator forgot to start the clock and the R noticed it and blew the play dead, or how about, as Mark (sorry, an unnamed ref) was going by the bench, A's coach said something inappropriate and Mark (slipped up again) whacked him and killed the play!

bas2456 Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:27pm

A1 committed a violation just before the pass, but A2 shot it anyways.

Indianaref Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 670369)
A2 had been replaced with A6 at the last timeout.

Why would this cancel the shot?

Indianaref Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 670372)
The darn clock operator forgot to start the clock and the R noticed it and blew the play dead, or how about, as Mark (sorry, an unnamed ref) was going by the bench, A's coach said something inappropriate and Mark (slipped up again) whacked him and killed the play!

We are supposed to come up with new stuff.

DLH17 Wed Mar 24, 2010 02:50pm

A2 was OOB.

SAJ Wed Mar 24, 2010 03:12pm

The pass from A1 was a throw-in which should have been awarded to Team B.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 24, 2010 03:13pm

6 players on the court.

4 players on the court.

the lights went out.

A2 (or any other A) swings elbows before releasing the shot.

shot hit ceiling / wire before going through the basket.

injured player recognized.

horn for illegal player / number not in book etc.

youngump Wed Mar 24, 2010 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 670375)
Why would this cancel the shot?

Because bench personnel aren't allowed to shoot a live ball?
________
Vapourizer Reviews

BillyMac Wed Mar 24, 2010 04:08pm

We're on a mission from God.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 670385)
6 players on the court.
4 players on the court.
the lights went out.
A2 (or any other A) swings elbows before releasing the shot.
shot hit ceiling / wire before going through the basket.
injured player recognized.
horn for illegal player / number not in book etc.

There was an earthquake! A terrible flood! Locusts! It wasn't my fault, I swear to God!

Camron Rust Wed Mar 24, 2010 05:26pm

  • It was a throwin with 0.3 or less left on the clock.
  • A1 was a FT shooter.
  • The official recognized that A2, who had previously been DQd, somehow was in the game.
  • Another team A player left the court without permission before the shot went in
  • A2 is named Stretch Armstrong and he caught the ball while it was in the cylinder.
  • A2 had yanked his/her own shirt out just before the shot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1