The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   OOB intentional foul questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57568-oob-intentional-foul-questions.html)

Mark Padgett Tue Mar 16, 2010 03:21pm

OOB intentional foul questions
 
NF rules. If, on a throw-in, a defender reaches across the boundary and fouls the inbounder who has the ball, it's an intentional foul by rule. What about these situations - is the call still automatically intentional if B1 fouls A1?

1) A1 has stepped OOB to make the throw-in but the official has not yet given him the ball and A1 is fouled by B1

2) A1 has the ball OOB and is holding it across the boundary line over the court and B1 fouls him on a part of his arm that is (2a) over the court or (2b) not over the court

3) team B scores and A1 "gathers" the ball to take it OOB but delays going OOB but the official determines the ball is at the disposal of team A and has started a 5 second count when A1 is fouled by B1

4) here's a real doozy - A1 has the ball OOB and B1 reaches over the boundary and simultaneously fouls A1 on the shoulder with one hand and slaps the ball with the other - do you call the intentional personal foul or the technical foul or both - guys, if this ever happens in your game, make sure you post the video

Nevadaref Tue Mar 16, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 668555)
NF rules. If, on a throw-in, a defender reaches across the boundary and fouls the inbounder who has the ball, it's an intentional foul by rule. What about these situations - is the call still automatically intentional if B1 fouls A1?

1) A1 has stepped OOB to make the throw-in but the official has not yet given him the ball and A1 is fouled by B1

2) A1 has the ball OOB and is holding it across the boundary line over the court and B1 fouls him on a part of his arm that is (2a) over the court or (2b) not over the court

3) team B scores and A1 "gathers" the ball to take it OOB but delays going OOB but the official determines the ball is at the disposal of team A and has started a 5 second count when A1 is fouled by B1

4) here's a real doozy - A1 has the ball OOB and B1 reaches over the boundary and simultaneously fouls A1 on the shoulder with one hand and slaps the ball with the other - do you call the intentional personal foul or the technical foul or both - guys, if this ever happens in your game, make sure you post the video

1. This is a foul during a dead ball period. Whether the contact is inbounds or OOB, it is subject to the same standard. The official must deem the contact to be at the level of an intentional or flagrant foul or is must be ignored.

2a. Common foul. The defender did not break the boundary plane.
2b. Intentional foul by rule.

3. Common foul as in 2a. Same reason: the defender did not break the boundary plane. We don't know who will be the thrower in this situation. It could be the player currently holding the ball, but it may not. This foul is no different from any other foul committed inbounds during a throw-in.

4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.

Adam Tue Mar 16, 2010 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668569)
4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.

There seems to be an exception to this concept.
1. DOG warning for Team B already on the books.
2. B1 reaches across the plane and slaps A1's (the thrower) arm. My understanding is you would go with the player inentional here rather than the team technical. Which penalty is more harsh is, I suppose, debatable due to the fact that B1 actually gets assessed the intentional if you go that route.

Nevadaref Tue Mar 16, 2010 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 668570)
There seems to be an exception to this concept.
1. DOG warning for Team B already on the books.
2. B1 reaches across the plane and slaps A1's (the thrower) arm. My understanding is you would go with the player inentional here rather than the team technical. Which penalty is more harsh is, I suppose, debatable due to the fact that B1 actually gets assessed the intentional if you go that route.

I don't think that one can consider prior actions when applying this principle.
So it is just a case of DOG warning vs. IPF.
One can't say that a play is an IPF one time, but a TF the 2nd time. That is why the rule is written as it is.

Camron Rust Tue Mar 16, 2010 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668569)

3. [snip] We don't know who will be the thrower in this situation. It could be the player currently holding the ball, but it may not. This foul is no different from any other foul committed inbounds during a throw-in.

4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.

3. What I left above is irrelevant. The foul occurred on the inbounds side of the boundary line. As such, it doesn't matter if it is the thrower or not.

4. There is no rules basis for that conclusion aside from requring the official to determine which occured first. By rule, if they were simultaneous, both are to be penalized. That said, I hope the official would pick one or the other...but there is no rules guidance on which to pick.

Nevadaref Tue Mar 16, 2010 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 668581)

4. There is no rules basis for that conclusion

Sure there is. It is just in the FIFA Laws of the Game. :D

bob jenkins Tue Mar 16, 2010 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668569)
4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.

Disagree. Penalize the "total" action.

Nevadaref Tue Mar 16, 2010 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 668592)
Disagree. Penalize the "total" action.

So what do you mean by that? Are you saying to penalize both the IPF and the TF as they amount to the "total action"?

Are you really going to assess two fouls on this play? :eek:

You are aware that my statement was not for the case of a boundary plane warning and then contact with either the thrower or the ball in his hands, right?

bob jenkins Wed Mar 17, 2010 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668593)
So what do you mean by that? Are you saying to penalize both the IPF and the TF as they amount to the "total action"?

Are you really going to assess two fouls on this play? :eek:

You are aware that my statement was not for the case of a boundary plane warning and then contact with either the thrower or the ball in his hands, right?

The "total action" was the foul. Enforce that. No T in this instance for a second delay violation.

Nevadaref Wed Mar 17, 2010 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 668668)
The "total action" was the foul. Enforce that. No T in this instance for a second delay violation.

Okay, now I'm certain that you didn't read the OP properly. We aren't talking about a 2nd delay warning. We are talking about contacting the ball while it is in the hands of the thrower.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 668555)

4) here's a real doozy - A1 has the ball OOB and B1 reaches over the boundary and simultaneously fouls A1 on the shoulder with one hand and slaps the ball with the other - do you call the intentional personal foul or the technical foul or both - guys, if this ever happens in your game, make sure you post the video


Adam Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668825)
Okay, now I'm certain that you didn't read the OP properly. We aren't talking about a 2nd delay warning. We are talking about contacting the ball while it is in the hands of the thrower.

I thought we'd moved on and were talking about reaching across and slapping the thrower's arm, after a warning had been issued.

ncaaref2001 Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:18pm

Does anyone have a rule reference on 2a?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668569)
1. This is a foul during a dead ball period. Whether the contact is inbounds or OOB, it is subject to the same standard. The official must deem the contact to be at the level of an intentional or flagrant foul or is must be ignored.

2a. Common foul. The defender did not break the boundary plane.
2b. Intentional foul by rule.

3. Common foul as in 2a. Same reason: the defender did not break the boundary plane. We don't know who will be the thrower in this situation. It could be the player currently holding the ball, but it may not. This foul is no different from any other foul committed inbounds during a throw-in.

4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.


Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 20, 2010 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668569)
4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.

As already stated, you have no rules basis for that conclusion. Pick one act to penalize. It's that simple.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 20, 2010 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ncaaref2001 (Post 697106)
Does anyone have a rule reference on 2a?

ncaaref is bringing up this 7 month old post because this is one of the questions on the NCAAW's test this year.

And, I agree with him, that it doesn't seem to be covered in the NCAA book (or, that the rule doesn't distinguish between a foul "in bounds" or "oob" on an inbounder)

ncaaref2001 Wed Oct 20, 2010 08:34am

QUOTE=bob jenkins;697179]ncaaref is bringing up this 7 month old post because this is one of the questions on the NCAAW's test this year.

And, I agree with him, that it doesn't seem to be covered in the NCAA book (or, that the rule doesn't distinguish between a foul "in bounds" or "oob" on an inbounder)[/QUOTE]

Exactly Bob and as stated in Rule 4.29.d5 5. Contact with a player making a throw-in. (Women) This act shall
also serve as a team warning for reaching through the boundary.

It is really not clear because the first part does not say that the defender reached through the boundary plane and the second part says that there should be a warning issued for reaching through the boundary plane. It needs to be much more clear.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 697175)
As already stated, you have no rules basis for that conclusion. Pick one act to penalize. It's that simple.

In picking the harsher one to penalize, didn't he just do exactly what you suggested? Pick one act to penalize.

If you are going to pick one act as you suggest, how do you propose selecting which one to penalize? Flip a coin?

Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 697224)
In picking the harsher one to penalize, didn't he just do exactly what you suggested? Pick one act to penalize.

If you are going to pick one act as you suggest, how do you propose selecting which one to penalize? Flip a coin?

Who cares how you pick? Or what you pick either? What difference does it make? Just pick the penalty that you think is appropriate. But there is NO rule anywhere that states that you SHOULD apply the harsher penalty every time as Nevada inferred. That was my point, such point which was obviously misunderstood by you.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 20, 2010 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 697226)
Who cares how you pick? Or what you pick either? What difference does it make? Just pick the penalty that you think is appropriate. But there is NO rule anywhere that states that you SHOULD apply the harsher penalty every time as Nevada inferred. That was my point, such point which was obviously misunderstood by you.

Given that I was the one who, 7 months ago, originally stated there was no rules basis for alway picking one or the other, I'm quite aware there is no rule that says to pick the harsher penalty. Your point was understood....long ago. However, his solution is still as valid of a solution as any.

NTRef Tue Jun 14, 2011 07:27am

Just curious - what would you have if the thrower, with the ball at his disposal, as he is attempting to inbound the ball, reaches across and pushes the defender to assist him in inbounding the ball?

Adam Tue Jun 14, 2011 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NTRef (Post 765505)
Just curious - what would you have if the thrower, with the ball at his disposal, as he is attempting to inbound the ball, reaches across and pushes the defender to assist him in inbounding the ball?

Intentional personal.

bainsey Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 697226)
Who cares how you pick? Or what you pick either? What difference does it make? Just pick the penalty that you think is appropriate.

+1

Penalizing both is akin to double jeopardy.

Besides, there's not a whole lot of "harsher" either way. IPF or TF, it's still two free throws and the ball. Yes, there's a few other differences (choice of shooter, spot of throw-in, counting toward DQ), but they seem minor in this whole equation.

Adam Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 765557)
+1

Penalizing both is akin to double jeopardy.

Besides, there's not a whole lot of "harsher" either way. IPF or TF, it's still two free throws and the ball. Yes, there's a few other differences (choice of shooter, spot of throw-in, counting toward DQ), but they seem minor in this whole equation.

I disagree that the differences are minor. T is halfway to DQ and possible suspension, and the choice of shooter is a big deal; especially since a lot of teams use a big man (typically poorer FT shooters than the guards) to throw-in the ball following a score.

Personally, I have no idea which I'd choose without seeing the game or the play itself.

Camron Rust Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NTRef (Post 765505)
Just curious - what would you have if the thrower, with the ball at his disposal, as he is attempting to inbound the ball, reaches across and pushes the defender to assist him in inbounding the ball?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 765536)
Intentional personal.

How is this any different from an inbounds player and pushing a defender back in order to get a pass off?

I'm not sure that I see this an intentional foul. (I'm not certain its not either).

Adam Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 765565)
How is this any different from an inbounds player and pushing a defender back in order to get a pass off?

I'm not sure that I see this an intentional foul. (I'm not certain its not either).

Might be the way I'm picturing it, but I see a difference between creating space when the defender is on top of you and reaching across the line to create space when there's already space there.

I've never seen a defender up against a thrower on a throw-in, and when the thrower simply has to step backwards (an option not available on the court), it's simply not a "basketball play," IMO.

Scrapper1 Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 668555)
2) A1 has the ball OOB and is holding it across the boundary line over the court and B1 fouls him on a part of his arm that is (2a) over the court or (2b) not over the court

This part of the post is now moot, as the committee this year made it an intentional foul regardless of whether the inbounder has broken the plane or not.

Nevadaref Tue Jun 14, 2011 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NTRef (Post 765505)
Just curious - what would you have if the thrower, with the ball at his disposal, as he is attempting to inbound the ball, reaches across and pushes the defender to assist him in inbounding the ball?

If this is a solid push, then you have a choice between a team control foul (new this year during a throw-in) and an intentional personal foul. If there is not much contact, one could go with the following NFHS interp.

The NFHS issued an interpretation last season which has no basis in the rules book, in fact the part is red is simply wrong by rule, but here it is:

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2009

SITUATION 1: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance. RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she now has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul should be called. COMMENT: A throw-in violation must be called in order to maintain the balance between offense and defense. (2-3; 9-2-1; 9-2-5)

Camron Rust Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 765662)
If this is a solid push, then you have a choice between a team control foul (new this year during a throw-in) and an intentional personal foul. If there is not much contact, one could go with the following NFHS interp.

The NFHS issued an interpretation last season which has no basis in the rules book, in fact the part is red is simply wrong by rule, but here it is:

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2009

SITUATION 1: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance. RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she now has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul should be called. COMMENT: A throw-in violation must be called in order to maintain the balance between offense and defense. (2-3; 9-2-1; 9-2-5)

So, with that ruling, we could call a throw in violation on the thrower when the defender contacts the thrower who has extended their arm across the throwin plane while holding the ball but such contact doesn't warrant a foul??? ;););):p (as opposed to the newly minted and also unsupportable intentional foul for the fouling the thrower in the same situation.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1