The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   [NFHS] Is there room for judgement on this (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57555-nfhs-there-room-judgement.html)

Adam Tue Mar 16, 2010 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 668541)
4-42-1: The thrower is the player who attempts to make the throw-in.

If he doesn't have the ball, he is not attempting to make the throw-in.

If we're going to get technical and literal here, by your definition he ain't a thrower until he actually attempts to make the throw in pass. Until I see a case play, interp, or rule change that clearly delineates the thrower as the person with the ball on an end-line throw-in for purposes of the rule in question, I'm considering them all throwers and fouls committed against them on the OOB side of that plane will be considered intentional.

It seems to me the rule is written with a spot throw-in in mind, but I could be (and have been) wrong.

It seems to me the intent is to come down hard on defenders who reach across and foul a player; splitting hairs on who's a thrower and who isn't seems a bit extreme. IMO of course.

Personally, I don't think a player needs to have the ball to attempt the throw in any more than having the ball makes him the thrower. It would be more accurate to say he's not a thrower if he throws the ball to a teammate out of bounds on this particular play.

SperlingPE Tue Mar 16, 2010 04:09pm

This is starting to go in different directions.
This was a spot throw-in following a violation by Team B. The designated spot was off to the side of Team B's basket (in Team A's backcourt).
The foul was committed by a Team B player on a Team A player who was in bounds, prior to the ball being inbounded. The thrower had the ball in his possession and the official had started the 5 second count (the ball was at the disposal of the in-bounder).

Adam Tue Mar 16, 2010 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SperlingPE (Post 668566)
This is starting to go in different directions.

Yep, happens all the time around here. Just be grateful your question was answered first. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by SperlingPE (Post 668566)
This was a spot throw-in following a violation by Team B. The designated spot was off to the side of Team B's basket (in Team A's backcourt).
The foul was committed by a Team B player on a Team A player who was in bounds, prior to the ball being inbounded. The thrower had the ball in his possession and the official had started the 5 second count (the ball was at the disposal of the in-bounder).

We know, thus the answers you were given initially.

Nevadaref Tue Mar 16, 2010 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp (Post 668526)
I want to make sure I understand this correctly. After a made basket, the throw in team has a second person OOB, maybe waiting to receive a pass (not the thrower at this point). If a defender fouls this non-thrower, are we to call an intentional foul on this, or could we call a common foul. 9-3-10P4 indicates: If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundaryline plane and fouls the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required.

Strictly by the rules as written, you are correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 668545)
If we're going to get technical and literal here, by your definition he ain't a thrower until he actually attempts to make the throw in pass. Until I see a case play, interp, or rule change that clearly delineates the thrower as the person with the ball on an end-line throw-in for purposes of the rule in question, I'm considering them all throwers and fouls committed against them on the OOB side of that plane will be considered intentional.

It seems to me the rule is written with a spot throw-in in mind, but I could be (and have been) wrong.

It seems to me the intent is to come down hard on defenders who reach across and foul a player; splitting hairs on who's a thrower and who isn't seems a bit extreme. IMO of course.

Personally, I don't think a player needs to have the ball to attempt the throw in any more than having the ball makes him the thrower. It would be more accurate to say he's not a thrower if he throws the ball to a teammate out of bounds on this particular play.

I have to believe that this is how the NFHS committee intends the rule to be enforced. Therefore, they should amend the rule to note that this applies to all players from the throwing team who are OOB behind the end line during a throw-in following a goal or awarded goal.

Adam Tue Mar 16, 2010 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 668574)
I have to believe that this is how the NFHS committee intends the rule to be enforced. Therefore, they should amend the rule to note that this applies to all players from the throwing team who are OOB behind the end line during a throw-in following a goal or awarded goal.

Agreed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1