The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another dumb commentator comment (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57408-another-dumb-commentator-comment.html)

Rich Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 666209)
If it was, it wasn't a tap, in terms that are most familiar to me.

Well, I wasn't using the rulebook definition of a tap. Sorry for the sloppy language.

Adam Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 666222)
Well, I wasn't using the rulebook definition of a tap. Sorry for the sloppy language.

Well, it's better than sloppy discourse.

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 666209)
If it was, it wasn't a tap, in terms that are most familiar to me.

Using rule book semantics...

1) a "tap" is a try for goal. There is no player control on a "tap", by rule.
2) a "tip" is simply touching the ball. There is no player control on a tip, by rule.
You can control the direction of both a "tip" and a "tap" without establishing player control at the same time.

If the ball comes to rest in a player's hand(s), then player control was established.

Is that what you're getting at, JAR?



Sooooo, the question in the Duke game was whether the ball came to rest in the Duke player's hand(s) before he directed it into the backcourt. I saw it and imo the ball never came to rest. I thought that it was tipped into the backcourt after a missed shot. Ergo, no backcourt violation. Blown call imo. It happens.

bob jenkins Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 666230)
Using rule book semantics...

1) a "tap" is a try for goal. There is no player control on a "tap", by rule.
2) a "tip" is simply touching the ball. There is no player control on a tip, by rule.
You can control the direction of both a "tip" and a "tap" without establishing player control at the same time.

If the ball comes to rest in a player's hand(s), then player control was established.

Is that what you're getting at, JAR?



Sooooo, the question in the Duke game was whether the ball came to rest in the Duke player's hand(s) before he directed it into the backcourt. I saw it and imo the ball never came to rest. I thought that it was tipped into the backcourt after a missed shot. Ergo, no backcourt violation. Blown call imo. It happens.

There is (or was) some language in the rules/cae book to the effect that "there is no team control when the ball is batted away from other players in an attempt to secure a rebound."

Raymond Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 666230)
Using rule book semantics...

1) a "tap" is a try for goal. There is no player control on a "tap", by rule.
2) a "tip" is simply touching the ball. There is no player control on a tip, by rule.
You can control the direction of both a "tip" and a "tap" without establishing player control at the same time.

If the ball comes to rest in a player's hand(s), then player control was established.

Is that what you're getting at, JAR?



Sooooo, the question in the Duke game was whether the ball came to rest in the Duke player's hand(s) before he directed it into the backcourt. I saw it and imo he didn't. I thought that it was tipped into the backcourt after a missed shot. Ergo, no backcourt violation. Blown call imo. It happens.

I was watching also...it was definitely tipped....though a directional tip, he most definitely never established control. And the 2nd Duke player attempted to grab the ball but most definitely didn't establish control either. So, in the end, a brain fart by the Final Four official who made the call. Makes me feel better about my brain farts. :D

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 666231)
There is (or was) some language in the rules/cae book to the effect that "there is no team control when the ball is batted away from other players in an attempt to secure a rebound."

That's case book play 4.15COMMENT. That covers several situations where the ball is "tipped".

Bottom line is that it's always a straight judgment call whether the ball comes to rest, thus starting player and team control.

Adam Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:19am

I think the worst part of this is that Coach Krewshawoosky was right.

mbyron Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 666236)
I think the worst part of this is that Coach Krewshawoosky was right.

Even a blind squirrel...

It was a great game. Vasquez took over with a minute to play, and his last shot was remarkable.

M&M Guy Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 666237)
Even a blind squirrel...

Leave Chuck out of this discussion.

mbyron Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 666237)
Vasquez took over with a minute to play, and his last shot was remarkable.

Here's the shot.

Those kids should have been in bed....

Mark Padgett Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 666240)
Those kids should have been in bed....

Did that kid yell "Go Twerps" at the end? :D

fullor30 Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 666181)
I thought Coach K was going to lose it when, in a brief stretch, his team was called for a BC violation incorrectly and then a travel incorrectly! Not sure whether it was the same official, but boy was Mike hot! The F-bombs were flying left and right!

The BC: long rebound in Duke's FC, MD player then Duke player touches it in the FC (no team control), Duke player gets control in the BC. Tweet! As I saw it develop, I was thinking, "nope, not a BC." Guess I was wrong!

The travel: Duke in their FC running their halfcourt offense. A1 holds the ball with his back to the basket, A2 runs around to take the ball. A2 gets the ball and immediately releases it for a dribble. Tweet! I have no earthly idea what the official saw -- saw it on replay too.

Ask Coach K why the Dookies lost. ;)

Was distracted and did not see BC call, but my 14yr old did and said "dad, no team control!" Talk about a proud papa!

And the F-bombs from a nice Catholic boy from the northwest side of Chicago and Weber high school........oh my!

Rich Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 666248)
Was distracted and did not see BC call, but my 14yr old did and said "dad, no team control!" Talk about a proud papa!

And the F-bombs from a nice Catholic boy from the northwest side of Chicago and Weber high school........oh my!

I really wish they'd clean that up. There are families that sit close to the benches that shouldn't have to hear that kind of language.

Yes, I'm serious.

mbyron Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 666252)
I really wish they'd clean that up. There are families that sit close to the benches that shouldn't have to hear that kind of language.

Yes, I'm serious.

Well, it's not like every D1 official ignores a black-letter NCAA rule, is it? :rolleyes:

just another ref Thu Mar 04, 2010 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jurassic referee (Post 666230)
using rule book semantics...

1) a "tap" is a try for goal. There is no player control on a "tap", by rule.
2) a "tip" is simply touching the ball. There is no player control on a tip, by rule.
You can control the direction of both a "tip" and a "tap" without establishing player control at the same time.

If the ball comes to rest in a player's hand(s), then player control was established.

Is that what you're getting at, jar?



Sooooo, the question in the duke game was whether the ball came to rest in the duke player's hand(s) before he directed it into the backcourt. I saw it and imo the ball never came to rest. I thought that it was tipped into the backcourt after a missed shot. Ergo, no backcourt violation. Blown call imo. It happens.

+1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1