![]() |
Hand part of ball
at what point do we penalize the defense on this?? just have been hearing different opinions on this..
thanks.. |
10-6-2: A player shall not contact an opponent with his hand unless such contact is only with the opponent's hand while it is on the ball and is incidental to an attempt to play the ball.
|
do we allow it on a shot?
|
Quote:
As I recall, nothing under 10-6 gives special consideration to a shooter when describing what constitutes a foul. |
Quote:
|
Who You Gonna Call ???
It is legal use of hands to accidentally hit the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul, no matter how loud it sounds or how much it hurts.
|
Quote:
Personally, not being able to read minds, I can't ever be 100% sure if a defender deliberately whacked an offensive player on the hand while that hand was on the ball. And seeing that I was taught very early not to call anything that I wasn't really sure of, I give the benefit of the doubt to the defender. And in my experience, that's the way that the play is generally/universally called also. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
So how much "benefit of the doubt" do we give for this? Two gray areas:
1. Dribbler's or shooter's hand is actually off the ball, but the action of the defender pushes the hand back into contact... At what distance from the ball does the handler's hand have to be? 2. What part of the hand? if defender gets her fingers down onto the hand of the handler, but defender's palm makes contact with the wrist, is that legal? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) Any distance. To have the exception apply, the hand must be on the ball as the rule states. Of course, during a dribble that determination can be iffy. Soooooo, call it the same way that you make other borderline calls----> if you aren't completely sure that the hand is on or off the ball, don't make a call. 2) The exception only covers the hand, not the wrist. Therefore if they get the wrist or part of the wrist, foul by rule. And again, if it's close as to whether the defender actually did get part of the wrist, only call the foul if you're completely sure that they did. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43am. |