![]() |
Intentional?
Do the rules allow an intentional foul for excessive contact to be called on a player holding or dribbling the ball? For example, the dribbler lowers the shoulder and runs completely over a LGP defender. A lot of contact occurs?
While on the subject, how about the illegal hard screen away from the ball where the screener extends the arms and "decleats' the person being screened? If yes on either, what is the wording in the definition that allows this to be intentional? |
See case book play 4.19.6SitB.
|
JR,
Kinda aware of this case play, but it doesn't really address the excessive part of my question. A defender's foul can be ruled intentional because of excessive contact while "playing the ball". So, you judge severity in that situation. Do the rulesmakers want you to judge severity on plays where "playing the ball" is not part of the equation? Specifically, on my original two plays, can you call an intentional for excessive contact? |
Quote:
As JR pointed out, you have the exact wording in this Case Play: 4.19.3 SITUATION B: A1 drives to the basket with B1 in pursuit. As A1 begins the act of shooting, B1 gets a hand on the ball from behind and the subsequent contact takes A1 forcefully to the floor and out of bounds. RULING: An intentional foul shall be charged when the contact is judged to be excessive, even though the opponent is playing the ball. (4-11) In your two cases, if, in your opinion, the players committed a foul AND you viewed the contact to be excessive, you can charge an intentional foul. You can replace "even though the opponent is playing the ball" with "even though the opponent (offender) is dribbling the ball" or "even though the opponent (offender) is trying to set a screen." The key operative phrase here is "judged to be excessive" even if the play did not otherwise rise to the level of being considered to be intentional. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Are you sure that you can just substitute those phrases in place of "while playing the ball"? Or, do you think that this specific play is the only one where the rulesmakers wanted us to rule excessive contact? I like your logic. However, I've never seen an intentional foul called on a hard player control foul? |
Quote:
Partner called a block. |
Quote:
You don't see it called often on screens, either, but it's also possible. |
The rules for foul for offensive players are no different than defensive players
-a defensive player commits a common foul an offensive player commits a player control or team control foul - either team commits an excessive contact foul, can be charged with intentional -either team commits act determined as flagrant either team can be called for it I would think if you are looking at plays elbow plays rare the ones where you have flexibility in determining the appropriate penalty |
Quote:
A1 swings a vicious elbow and knocks B1 to the floor. :eek: Officials called an intentional foul on A1. q.e.d. :D |
Only flagrant personal I ever called in a varsity game was on a player with the ball.
|
Quote:
Don't get hung up on rule book verbiage and over-think some of these plays. |
Quote:
If we called that, how do we proceed? Give it back to A, which was the POI? Doesn't seem quite fair, if A committed the intentional foul... :eek: :D |
Quote:
Read it again Ronny. It's NOT "An intentional foul shall be charged when the contact is judged to be excessive WHILE PLAYING THE BALL." It's, "An intentional foul shall be charged when the contact is judged to be excessive, even though the opponent is playing the ball." In other words, excessive contact is alway intentional and "playing the ball" is not an excuse (despite what the coaches will plead) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Anyway, why no intentionals on a hard player control foul? Why no intentionals on a hard illegal pick? I'm not necessarily disagreeing - i'm just trying to understand. |
Quote:
Tell me why a player with the ball can cause a lot of contact without getting called for an intentional? Like when dribbling or act of shooting? But if he is shooting and gets taken to the floor, we don't judge for intent we judge for excess. |
Quote:
(Maybe I'm just not understanding the question(s).) |
Quote:
The question is: if I call a double foul that includes an intentional foul on the dribbler, how do I penalize it? What happens? If I handled it like a garden-variety double foul, we'd go to the POI, which is possession for A. That doesn't seem fair, given that A committed the intentional foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That intentional is probably for intent - not excessive contact. My question has to do with excessive contact verses intent. Why does a hard player control not get assessed as intentional? And, is the wording "while playing the ball" an important piece in the rule? |
I have had it happen several times where I call block, player was upset because he was thinking charge, and on the next possession the same player runs over a defender out of anger. Only once was it so blatant that I called it intentional- he announced he was going to do it on the way up the floor. On others it has been a T because the player started arguing about the subsequent charge call.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Just administer the double foul. See 10-6 Penalty 1 (the Note deals with Flagrant, but the same (except for the DQ) applies to Intentional) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In the old days, shooters expected contact as well. The only thing we didn't want was for him to be undercut (flagrant). Then, they added this piece about taking a shooter hard to the floor. Now, we are saying that we can apply this excessive contact to these bone rattling player control fouls? I've never seen it called that way??? The only place that excessive contact is discussed is in the intentional definition and in the same sentence, it has that wording attached. Please explain the wording in the definition to me "while playing the ball". |
Then don't call it that way if you don't believe Bob.
|
Quote:
"Contact away from the ball or when not making a legitimate attempt to play the ball....." The line you mention tells us that even if these conditions are not met it can still be ruled intentional if the foul involves excessive contact. |
Quote:
Since when is trying to understand a rule not believing somebody? Even if it's you doing the explaining? Mulk |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am. |