The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over the backboard shot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57136-over-backboard-shot.html)

APG Mon Feb 15, 2010 02:02am

From the 2009-2010 NBA Rule Book

RULE NO. 8—OUT-OF-BOUNDS AND THROW-IN

Section II—Ball
b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.

NBA Casebook 2009-2010

II. BACKBOARD

6. On an unsuccessful field goal attempt, the ball hits the basket ring and rebounds over and behind the face of the backboard. The ball returns to the floor and touches inbounds without having touched any of the backboard supports. Is the ball to remain in play?

No. A violation shall be called on the last team to touch the ball before it went directly behind the backboard. The ball is awarded to the opposing team for a throw-in at the free throw line extended.
RULE 8 - SECTION II - b

7. Player A1 has control of the ball near the endline and passes the ball behind the backboard (never touching the supports) to Player A2. Is this legal or illegal?

Illegal. Same reason as #6 above.
RULE 8 - SECTION II - b

The ball is only out of bounds if it passes DIRECTLY over the backboard in either direction. Two shots by Kobe Bryant and LeBron James earlier in the season were legal because they did not pass directly over the top of the backboard but at an angle.

And looking at the play in question, that would be a legal play under NBA rules as it was not directly over the top of the backboard

JRutledge Mon Feb 15, 2010 02:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bpaulson (Post 661760)
Then why is it not called? Ok, we can all say that they do not call a lot of stuff in the NBA but this is one they would call.

They do call it when it happens quite a few times. I have seen it called several times over the years. Of course I am sure it is missed from time to time as angles can affect an official's perspective, but yes it gets called. Then again I do not watch a lot of NBA so I have not idea.

Peace

mbyron Mon Feb 15, 2010 08:16am

Notice that the NBA rule says "directly over" the backboard. IOW, only a shot taken from inside the lane and immediately behind the backboard will be disallowed.

Kobe's and LeBron's shots were legal by this rule, as they were near the edge of or outside the lane.

The NFHS rule does not employ the word "directly," and thus receives different enforcement.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1