The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over the backboard shot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57136-over-backboard-shot.html)

bpaulson Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:56am

Over the backboard shot?
 
Can someone give me rule section and article number in the NBA rule book that corresponds with NCAA rule book Rule 7 Sec. 1 Art 3 The ball shall be out of bounds when any part of the ball passes over the backboard from any direction.

This rule must not be the same in the NBA as shots from behind the backboard seem to be legal? :rolleyes:

Thanks

bas2456 Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:04am

The NBA has rules?

bpaulson Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:07am

I agree
 
Yes, I agree but I teach a college officiating class and my students insist on discussing NBA plays and rules. :mad: This is the video we are discussing - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-I2XckUnUk

bas2456 Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bpaulson (Post 661751)
Yes, I agree but I teach a college officiating class and my students insist on discussing NBA plays and rules. :mad: This is the video that we are discussing - YouTube - Circus Shot: Ellis Goes Over the Backboard

Check this out...http://i.cdn.turner.com/nba/nba/.ele...Rook_09-10.pdf

Rule 8-2-b is essentially the same as the NCAA rule. Page 31 for quick reference.

bas2456 Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:11am

By the way...you're the teacher...lay down the law!

bpaulson Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:16am

They like to watch TV
 
I have tried that but they seem to like to watch too much TV. I have told them that NBA stands for Not Basketball Association but they are not buying. :D

bas2456 Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:20am

They're not the only ones...I've had several players this year who think they can get away with what LeBron and Kobe get away with.

Not so much

bpaulson Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:23am

Rule 8, Sec 2-A
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 661752)
Check this out...http://i.cdn.turner.com/nba/nba/.ele...Rook_09-10.pdf

Rule 8-2-b is essentially the same as the NCAA rule. Page 31 for quick reference.

Rule 8-2-b deals with balls that rebound or are passed but doesn't deal with shots. I think we have to go to 8-2.a as our only hope of stopping circus shots. If the ball hits the supports or the back of the backboard it is dead thus the shot would be no good. (I presume this includes the shot clock and its supports.)

Sorry for the NBA questions but I had to clear this one up before class on Monday. Thanks for the help and the PDF of the NBA rulebook--I will pass it on to the class.

bas2456 Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:27am

Disagree. It says that any ball that rebounds or passes...not any ball that rebounds or is passed.

To me, that covers a shot.

bpaulson Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:31am

Then why is it not called? Ok, we can all say that they do not call a lot of stuff in the NBA but this is one they would call.

bas2456 Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bpaulson (Post 661760)
Then why is it not called? Ok, we can all say that they do not call a lot of stuff in the NBA but this is one they would call.

Don't have an answer for ya on that one. I'm just giving my opinion on the interpretation.

bpaulson Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:41am

Unclear NBA Rule
 
To be honest, the rule is unclear in many ways. It says: Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.

The NCAA book says passes over the backboard while the NBA rule book makes it sound like if the ball is passed behind the backboard--not necessarily over the backboard--it is out of bounds.

Yet another good reason to watch high school and college ball.

just another ref Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:42am

Without looking.....

Doesn't the NBA rule say it can't go behind the board, as opposed to over the top of the board?

bas2456 Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 661764)
Without looking.....

Doesn't the NBA rule say it can't go behind the board, as opposed to over the top of the board?

Would that make a pass from one player to another that goes along the endline illegal, since that would be behind the backboard?

bpaulson Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:48am

Yes, my last post was a quote from the NBA book. When they say behind the backboard do they include the virtual plane to the floor and ceiling--I think not.

APG Mon Feb 15, 2010 02:02am

From the 2009-2010 NBA Rule Book

RULE NO. 8—OUT-OF-BOUNDS AND THROW-IN

Section II—Ball
b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.

NBA Casebook 2009-2010

II. BACKBOARD

6. On an unsuccessful field goal attempt, the ball hits the basket ring and rebounds over and behind the face of the backboard. The ball returns to the floor and touches inbounds without having touched any of the backboard supports. Is the ball to remain in play?

No. A violation shall be called on the last team to touch the ball before it went directly behind the backboard. The ball is awarded to the opposing team for a throw-in at the free throw line extended.
RULE 8 - SECTION II - b

7. Player A1 has control of the ball near the endline and passes the ball behind the backboard (never touching the supports) to Player A2. Is this legal or illegal?

Illegal. Same reason as #6 above.
RULE 8 - SECTION II - b

The ball is only out of bounds if it passes DIRECTLY over the backboard in either direction. Two shots by Kobe Bryant and LeBron James earlier in the season were legal because they did not pass directly over the top of the backboard but at an angle.

And looking at the play in question, that would be a legal play under NBA rules as it was not directly over the top of the backboard

JRutledge Mon Feb 15, 2010 02:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bpaulson (Post 661760)
Then why is it not called? Ok, we can all say that they do not call a lot of stuff in the NBA but this is one they would call.

They do call it when it happens quite a few times. I have seen it called several times over the years. Of course I am sure it is missed from time to time as angles can affect an official's perspective, but yes it gets called. Then again I do not watch a lot of NBA so I have not idea.

Peace

mbyron Mon Feb 15, 2010 08:16am

Notice that the NBA rule says "directly over" the backboard. IOW, only a shot taken from inside the lane and immediately behind the backboard will be disallowed.

Kobe's and LeBron's shots were legal by this rule, as they were near the edge of or outside the lane.

The NFHS rule does not employ the word "directly," and thus receives different enforcement.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1