The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free throws (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57133-free-throws.html)

cmhjordan23 Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:07pm

Free throws
 
Can't seem to find this rule anywhere in the NFHS book. Official places ball at the disposal of free throw shooter. Free throw shooter bounces it a couple times and then bounces it off of his/her foot and ball goes rolling. What is the call here? Violation, Opposing team's ball out of bounds? Give the ball back but don't start the count over? Several people have told me violation shooter. Opposing teams ball if on second free throw.

grunewar Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:10pm

Several people are right. ;)

9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

cmhjordan23 Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:20pm

Thanks. I forgot to look in my case book. Only had my rules book out.

ranjo Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 661690)
Several people are right. ;)

9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

Can a time-out be called in this situation to avoid the violation in (b)?

Welpe Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 661816)
Can a time-out be called in this situation to avoid the violation in (b)?

Are all elements necessary to grant a time-out present?

DLH17 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 661690)
Several people are right. ;)

9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

My partner and I had this occur Sunday afternoon during a 5th grade game. The shooter dribbled the ball, tried to pick up dribble and immediately "lost the handle". Ball dropped back to the floor directly in front of him where he started dribbling again and regained control. I was trail official and passed on calling a violation.

Coach behind me quickly yelled "that's a violation".... now I know.

jdw3018 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661822)
My partner and I had this occur Sunday afternoon during a 5th grade game. The shooter dribbled the ball, tried to pick up dribble and immediately "lost the handle". Ball dropped back to the floor directly in front of him where he started dribbling again and regained control. I was trail official and passed on calling a violation.

Coach behind me quickly yelled "that's a violation".... now I know.

Now you know what?

DLH17 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 661823)
Now you know what?

(b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

grunewar Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:35am

Ed - Zachery!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 661823)
Now you know what?

C'mon, everyone knows you can't dribble, fumble dribble! (sarc) :rolleyes:

representing Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661822)
My partner and I had this occur Sunday afternoon during a 5th grade game. The shooter dribbled the ball, tried to pick up dribble and immediately "lost the handle". Ball dropped back to the floor directly in front of him where he started dribbling again and regained control. I was trail official and passed on calling a violation.

Coach behind me quickly yelled "that's a violation".... now I know.

5th graders? I would've passed too and later on explain to the kid the official ruling on it.

Now I don't know how skillful the 5th graders are in your area, but here they're pretty unskillful that I pass on a lot of things, otherwise I would probably still be officiating the biddy game from two weeks ago.

grunewar Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661826)
(b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

If he just fumbled/lost the ball and picked it up, you have nothing - as long as he get's off the shot in 10 secs.

If he loses or attempts to go get the ball - then you have a violation. This is not what's implied by your post.

DLH17 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 661829)
If he just fumbled/lost the ball and picked it up, you have nothing - as long as he get's off the shot in 10 secs.

If he loses or attempts to go get the ball - then you have a violation. This is not what's implied by your post.

The shooter did retrieve the ball....but, he didn't physically have to go into the lane to do it. He merely lost the handle, leaned forward a bit w/o stepping beyond the ft line and picked up the ball. According to the rule, it sounds as if he was in violation.

edit: the ball didn't deflect off his foot, so, I guess he wasn't in violation. Makes me wonder if he is in violation if it is allowed to deflect off any other part of his body i.e. leg or torso. hmmm.

jdw3018 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661832)
The shooter did retrieve the ball....but, he didn't physically have to go into the lane to do it. He merely lost the handle, leaned forward a bit w/o stepping beyond the ft line and picked up the ball. According to the rule, it sounds as if he was in violation.

What in the rule indicates he was in violation?

DLH17 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 661833)
What in the rule indicates he was in violation?

After re-reading the rule, it appears he was not in violation because the ball wasn't allowed to hit his foot after fumbling the ball.

Good learning experience. Helps to discuss.

grunewar Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661834)
Good learning experience. Helps to discuss.

And that's why many of us are here.

I learn something new every day.

ranjo Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 661818)
Are all elements necessary to grant a time-out present?

No player control - Good Point!

jdw3018 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661834)
After re-reading the rule, it appears he was not in violation because the ball wasn't allowed to hit his foot after fumbling the ball.

Good learning experience. Helps to discuss.

Actually, it has nothing to do with it hitting his foot. It has to do with whether the free thrower would have to leave the free throw semi-circle to retrieve the ball. If he can't retrieve the ball, it is a violation.

DLH17 Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 661837)
Actually, it has nothing to do with it hitting his foot. It has to do with whether the free thrower would have to leave the free throw semi-circle to retrieve the ball. If he can't retrieve the ball, it is a violation.

I don't read anything in the rule posted that indicates the "retrieving the ball" is the cause of the violation. It may well be, however, it is not stated.

"Allowing the ball to deflect of his/her foot into the lane" is the verbiage.

I suppose common sense would help infer the shooter would have to step over the FT line in order to retrieve, and thus, commit a violation. But, it's not explicitly stated in 9.1.1. as posted.

Scratch85 Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661839)
I don't read anything in the rule posted that indicates the "retrieving the ball" is the cause of the violation. It may well be, however, it is not stated.

"Allowing the ball to deflect of his/her foot into the lane" is the verbiage.

I suppose common sense would help infer the shooter would have to step over the FT line in order to retrieve, and thus, commit a violation. But, it's not explicitly stated in 9.1.1. as posted.

IMO, what is explicitly stated is that a violation in 9-1-3(a) or (e) has occurred.

edited: Hitting the foot is not the violation.

jdw3018 Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 661839)
I don't read anything in the rule posted that indicates the "retrieving the ball" is the cause of the violation. It may well be, however, it is not stated.

"Allowing the ball to deflect of his/her foot into the lane" is the verbiage.

I suppose common sense would help infer the shooter would have to step over the FT line in order to retrieve, and thus, commit a violation. But, it's not explicitly stated in 9.1.1. as posted.

The key is to not just read the case play, but rather to read both the case play and the rule to which it references, allowing you to read the case play in the context of the rule.

There is no rule indicating that the ball hitting any part of the body is illegal.

DLH17 Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:14am

Thanks for the convo. Good stuff.

Rich Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 661837)
actually, it has nothing to do with it hitting his foot. It has to do with whether the free thrower would have to leave the free throw semi-circle to retrieve the ball. If he can't retrieve the ball, it is a violation.

+1

Adam Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by richmsn (Post 661850)
+1

+1

Camron Rust Mon Feb 15, 2010 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 661836)
No player control - Good Point!

Ah, but it is it at their disposal?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1