The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is it me? Or, is ESPN Doug Gotleib an idiot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57063-me-espn-doug-gotleib-idiot.html)

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:37pm

What I find interesting is that a player, standing in the BC, could violate simply by pivoting so that his foot barely touches the FC and then picking that foot up.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 660791)
Just looking to clarify...

So then stepping on the division line after being entirely in FC is not a BC violation? Nor would stepping into BC with one foot while the other remains in FC?

I don't that is right.

Looking at the FIBA book...

It appears to me like the ball is in the FC when any part of the player touches the FC.

Seperately, it appears, that the ball is in the backcourt when any part of the player touches the BC.

It seems that when both are true, the player is in the newly touched location and that lifing the FC foot could return the player to the BC or that when already in the FC, touching the BC is still a violation.

mutantducky Thu Feb 11, 2010 02:04pm

not sure but I think in FIBA that once the ball goes into FC you can't go back into BC even if your feet are in bc. got to go forward.......

Jay R Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 660791)
Just looking to clarify...

So then stepping on the division line after being entirely in FC is not a BC violation? Nor would stepping into BC with one foot while the other remains in FC?

Maybe I didn't explain myself clearly. I meant when going from BC to FC. Once in the FC, you cannot step on the division line.

Jay R Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 660846)
not sure but I think in FIBA that once the ball goes into FC you can't go back into BC even if your feet are in bc. got to go forward.......

If you are dribbling, then you could bring the ball back to the BC; the rule changed 3-4 years to be more in line with NBA, NCAA etc...

26 Year Gap Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin (Post 660692)
Did anyone listen to Doug Gotleib this morning on ESPN saying that John Cahill made two terrible calls last night back to back in the Syracuse-UCONN game, but yet quoted the rule and stated that by letter of the law it was the right call to make on one of the plays. Is this guy that big of an idiot?

I asked Mr. Google and here is the reply:

Google

icallfouls Thu Feb 11, 2010 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 660699)
That is a pretty common meme of common-taters and sports journalists.

I like common-taters with my comon-fowls :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1