The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is it me? Or, is ESPN Doug Gotleib an idiot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57063-me-espn-doug-gotleib-idiot.html)

johnSandlin Thu Feb 11, 2010 09:39am

Is it me? Or, is ESPN Doug Gotleib an idiot?
 
Did anyone listen to Doug Gotleib this morning on ESPN saying that John Cahill made two terrible calls last night back to back in the Syracuse-UCONN game, but yet quoted the rule and stated that by letter of the law it was the right call to make on one of the plays. Is this guy that big of an idiot?

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin (Post 660692)
Is this guy that big of an idiot?

Yes. I stopped listening to him a long time ago. One of the worst, IMO.

Welpe Thu Feb 11, 2010 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin (Post 660692)
but yet quoted the rule and stated that by letter of the law it was the right call to make on one of the plays.

That is a pretty common meme of common-taters and sports journalists.

asdf Thu Feb 11, 2010 09:56am

Not only that, but I do believe that being an idiot is a pre-requisite for the job.

Rich Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:23am

Last night near the end of the Duke-UNC game a Duke player caught a ball with his left foot in the backcourt and his right foot pivoting. He pivoted into the front court and then into the backcourt. The C was straddling the division line with a "that's nothing" pose and Dookie V starts in, "Isn't that backcourt? He stepped over the line."

His partner had to gently say, "I think that's all right. He wasn't all the way across."

jdw3018 Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 660703)
Last night near the end of the Duke-UNC game a Duke player caught a ball with his left foot in the backcourt and his right foot pivoting. He pivoted into the front court and then into the backcourt. The C was straddling the division line with a "that's nothing" pose and Dookie V starts in, "Isn't that backcourt? He stepped over the line."

His partner had to gently say, "I think that's all right. He wasn't all the way across."

Which foot was the pivot foot?

fullor30 Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:42am

and a few other things
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin (Post 660692)
Did anyone listen to Doug Gotleib this morning on ESPN saying that John Cahill made two terrible calls last night back to back in the Syracuse-UCONN game, but yet quoted the rule and stated that by letter of the law it was the right call to make on one of the plays. Is this guy that big of an idiot?

not a big fan.

Article: Gottlieb Charged - The Washington Post | HighBeam Research - FREE trial

DLH17 Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by welpe (Post 660699)
that is a pretty common meme of common-taters and sports journalists.

:d

APG Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 660703)
Last night near the end of the Duke-UNC game a Duke player caught a ball with his left foot in the backcourt and his right foot pivoting. He pivoted into the front court and then into the backcourt. The C was straddling the division line with a "that's nothing" pose and Dookie V starts in, "Isn't that backcourt? He stepped over the line."

His partner had to gently say, "I think that's all right. He wasn't all the way across."

I saw that one. Even for a commentator, that one was pretty bad. It wasn't like it was even close.

As far as Doug Getleib goes, it's typical armchair officiating from a commentator who acts like he knows what he's talking about. What made it even worse is they quoted the rule book, went back and looked at the play, and still disagreed about the call.

BBall_Junkie Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:57am

(Answer to Subject)

Yes, he is an idiot. No, its not you (at least in this case) :D

Jay R Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:39am

Regarding the player straddling the center line; here's what happen. The player is dribbling from back to front court. He picks up his dribble while straddling the center line and then picks up his foot in the FC and puts it in the BC. I thought that it was a BC violation because it is in FIBA rules. Is the NCAA backcourt rule different?

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 660753)
Regarding the player straddling the center line; here's what happen. The player is dribbling from back to front court. He picks up his dribble while straddling the center line and then picks up his foot in the FC and puts it in the BC. I thought that it was a BC violation because it is in FIBA rules. Is the NCAA backcourt rule different?

Yes, it's different in NFHS as well.

This player has BC status the whole time due to his foot in the BC.

In FIBA, does this player have FC status while straddling the line?

Jay R Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 660756)
Yes, it's different in NFHS as well.

This player has BC status the whole time due to his foot in the BC.

In FIBA, does this player have FC status while straddling the line?

In FIBA, all three points have to be in the FC when dribbling the ball to achieve FC status. But when holding the ball, if any part of your body is in the FC, then you are in the FC

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 660770)
In FIBA, all three points have to be in the FC when dribbling the ball to achieve FC status. But when holding the ball, if any part of your body is in the FC, then you are in the FC

Interesting. The 3 point rule is the same, but a player holding the ball is in the BC if any part of his/her body is touching the BC.

Back In The Saddle Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 660770)
In FIBA, all three points have to be in the FC when dribbling the ball to achieve FC status. But when holding the ball, if any part of your body is in the FC, then you are in the FC

Just looking to clarify...

So then stepping on the division line after being entirely in FC is not a BC violation? Nor would stepping into BC with one foot while the other remains in FC?

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:37pm

What I find interesting is that a player, standing in the BC, could violate simply by pivoting so that his foot barely touches the FC and then picking that foot up.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 660791)
Just looking to clarify...

So then stepping on the division line after being entirely in FC is not a BC violation? Nor would stepping into BC with one foot while the other remains in FC?

I don't that is right.

Looking at the FIBA book...

It appears to me like the ball is in the FC when any part of the player touches the FC.

Seperately, it appears, that the ball is in the backcourt when any part of the player touches the BC.

It seems that when both are true, the player is in the newly touched location and that lifing the FC foot could return the player to the BC or that when already in the FC, touching the BC is still a violation.

mutantducky Thu Feb 11, 2010 02:04pm

not sure but I think in FIBA that once the ball goes into FC you can't go back into BC even if your feet are in bc. got to go forward.......

Jay R Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 660791)
Just looking to clarify...

So then stepping on the division line after being entirely in FC is not a BC violation? Nor would stepping into BC with one foot while the other remains in FC?

Maybe I didn't explain myself clearly. I meant when going from BC to FC. Once in the FC, you cannot step on the division line.

Jay R Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 660846)
not sure but I think in FIBA that once the ball goes into FC you can't go back into BC even if your feet are in bc. got to go forward.......

If you are dribbling, then you could bring the ball back to the BC; the rule changed 3-4 years to be more in line with NBA, NCAA etc...

26 Year Gap Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin (Post 660692)
Did anyone listen to Doug Gotleib this morning on ESPN saying that John Cahill made two terrible calls last night back to back in the Syracuse-UCONN game, but yet quoted the rule and stated that by letter of the law it was the right call to make on one of the plays. Is this guy that big of an idiot?

I asked Mr. Google and here is the reply:

Google

icallfouls Thu Feb 11, 2010 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 660699)
That is a pretty common meme of common-taters and sports journalists.

I like common-taters with my comon-fowls :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1