![]() |
spot violation
Watched a rookie official whistle a violation on a player for moving on a designated spot throw in. The official signaled with a travel mechanic. I said to a varsity HS / small college ball official that the rookie official got the call right, because they moved well outside of a 3-foot area, but they should not have signaled a travel
He told me I was wrong and that is the proper call - a travel. Is this even close to being correct? Isn't this just a violation and point to the spot? You should never call this a travel, correct? |
Travel is not the proper call, but I have seen the travel signal used (improperly) for this violation at all levels.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
For as long as I've been officiating it was never a called a travel. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Speaking of old rules, I would love to get my hands on a rule book from 20 years ago, just to see how much the game and rules have changed. |
Quote:
CAUTION!!!!! Relying on rules interpretations fabricated by this individual will severely impact your reputation, career and sanity. You have been duly warned!!!!! |
Quote:
He's right. There is no specific signal for this violation, other than the very general "point to the spot where the bad thing happened". So, other than perhaps amending his advice to include pointing to the spot before pointing the other direction, he's spot on. |
Check It Out ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
The easy way around relying on others for information is to have the best knowledge of the rules in your area. That's done by, oh, studying the rulebook. |
Quote:
|
I know our winter is bad.....
But, y'all are cold!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28am. |