The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt Violation Help (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57054-backcourt-violation-help.html)

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 660749)
If he gained possession with both (one in the frontcourt and one in the backcourt) then "Nothing". However, if he pivots the backcourt foot to the front court and then back to the backcourt then "Violation"

If he gained possession with that one foot in the frontcourt followed by the other in the backcourt then "Violation"

Right?

Right, as long as he gained possession with that foot on the floor. If he gained it airborne and landed with that foot down first, the other foot can come down in the BC and he now has BC status legally. (assuming, of course, he is catching a throw-in pass and his catch is the first touch of that throw in pass).

jdw3018 Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 660749)
However, if he pivots the backcourt foot to the front court and then back to the backcourt then "Violation"

You were right. However, this statement can actually be a bit more complex.

Situation: A1 catches ball with left foot in frontcourt and right foot in backcourt. While holding the ball, he lifts his right foot, then returns it to the ground in the backcourt without it ever touching the frontcourt.

What do you have now?

CDurham Thu Feb 11, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 660758)
You were right. However, this statement can actually be a bit more complex.

Situation: A1 catches ball with left foot in frontcourt and right foot in backcourt. While holding the ball, he lifts his right foot, then returns it to the ground in the backcourt without it ever touching the frontcourt.

What do you have now?

Violation. Once the right foot is lifted he now has front court status. When it returns its a violation?

Unless you argue that the pivot foot was in the frontcourt and remained there when the right foot was lifted. Therefore you had frontcourt status even if the right foot came back down. (that would be my argument as a coach)

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 660884)
Violation. Once the right foot is lifted he now has front court status. When it returns its a violation?

Unless you argue that the pivot foot was in the frontcourt and remained there when the right foot was lifted. Therefore you had frontcourt status even if the right foot came back down. (that would be my argument as a coach)

I'm not sure what you're getting at with the pivot foot. The pivot foot is irrelevant when it comes to player location.

mbyron Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 660723)
As an aside: if the player gets two feet in the FC, but is dribbling in the BC, he will gain FC status by picking up the dribble.

And, more important, so will the ball. :)

mbyron Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:27pm

How about this one, newbies:

A has the ball in the FC, and it gets away from A1 at the top of the key. The ball is bouncing toward the BC. As A1 reaches the division line, he reaches for the ball, bounces it once right on the division line, then grabs it with both hands. A1 never touches the BC. Violation? Explain.

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 660901)
And, more important, so will the ball. :)

I would say "equally" important, but that's just me. :)

mbyron Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 660908)
I would say "equally" important, but that's just me. :)

Are you sure your position is that, with respect to correctly ruling on a BC violation, the location of the player is just as important as that of the ball?

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 660912)
Are you sure your position is that, with respect to correctly ruling on a BC violation, the location of the player is just as important as that of the ball?

Yes, with regard to the very specific play in question. If you are going to deviate from that play and offer other potential violations, then there could be times when ball location (and previous location) is all that matters.

CDurham Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopsaddict (Post 660915)
Yes you have a backcourt violation when A1 is the first to touch the ball as it goes into the backcourt.

That is what I have. Line is part of it so Backcourt

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 660931)
That is what I have. Line is part of it so Backcourt

Okay, how about this one.
A1 standing in the FC, holding the ball near the division line (table side) with pressure. He looks away from the table and sees teammate A2 standing in the FC near the division line so he reaches over the line and throws a bounces pass to A2. It bounces twice before A2 catches it, standing in the FC. The first bounce is in the BC, and the second bounce is in the FC.

What's the call?

CDurham Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 660933)
Okay, how about this one.
A1 standing in the FC, holding the ball near the division line (table side) with pressure. He looks away from the table and sees teammate A2 standing in the FC near the division line so he reaches over the line and throws a bounces pass to A2. It bounces twice before A2 catches it, standing in the FC. The first bounce is in the BC, and the second bounce is in the FC.

What's the call?

Nothing if its caught on the 2nd bounce. The ball had Frontcourt status.

If caught on the first, the ball had Backcourt status. Violation

jdw3018 Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 660936)
Nothing if its caught on the 2nd bounce. The ball had Frontcourt status.

Let's work through this one. I'll answer the first three:

Team control? Yes
Ball had frontcourt status? Yes
A was last to touch before the ball had backcourt status? Yes.

Final question: Was A the first to touch the ball after it had backcourt status?

Adam Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:21pm

Read 9-9-1, then see if you still think it's legal.

CDurham Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 660940)
Read 9-9-1, then see if you still think it's legal.

Sorry I don't have my books with me. So even though it was caught on the 2nd bounce which hit in the frontcourt it is still a Violation?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1