The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I disagree. If a player has a foot in the air, I consider them to be moving. Standing on one foot is not a steady-state situation. They may be moving slowly, but they're still moving.

Agreed. Movement is not the key. The key is when the second foot touches the floor. Until it does, there is no pivot foot.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
I'm saying if you stopped a dribble, established a pivot foot, you could not jump off of that pivot foot and land on two feet, that would be travelling. In the case of a jump stop since the player is moving, the foot that they jump off of is not considered to be the pivot foot - there is no pivot foot in that case.
So they can go left, right, left? Since their is no pivot foot in that case?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
So they can go left, right, left? Since their is no pivot foot in that case?
Nope. In that case the left foot is determined to be the pivot foot as soon as the right foot hit the ground. Therefore, when the left foot hits the ground again it is traveling.

If the ball is gathered or caught with one foot on the ground, that foot is always the pivot foot EXCEPT for the one clearly defined exception which is the jump stop, in which case there isn't a pivot foot.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Nope. In that case the left foot is determined to be the pivot foot as soon as the right foot hit the ground. Therefore, when the left foot hits the ground again it is traveling.

If the ball is gathered or caught with one foot on the ground, that foot is always the pivot foot EXCEPT for the one clearly defined exception which is the jump stop, in which case there isn't a pivot foot.
Exactly..this is all laid out in 4-44, you just have to spend some time with it visualizing each different type of play.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Exactly..this is all laid out in 4-44, you just have to spend some time with it visualizing each different type of play.
Your right. I have a game tonight and that is all I've been doing today is acting out situations
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
It should also be noted that this whole lands-on-two-feet-no-pivot-foot scenario is only the case if the player still has a foot on the ground when the final dribble returns to his/her hands. If they're already airborne when the dribble is terminated, they can land on either foot first, with that foot being the pivot, or if both feet land at the same time, either may be the pivot. The latter scenario is often followed by the player stepping across with one foot and jumping of the non-pivot foot for a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 05:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by shutupneff View Post
It should also be noted that this whole lands-on-two-feet-no-pivot-foot scenario is only the case if the player still has a foot on the ground when the final dribble returns to his/her hands. If they're already airborne when the dribble is terminated, they can land on either foot first, with that foot being the pivot, or if both feet land at the same time, either may be the pivot. The latter scenario is often followed by the player stepping across with one foot and jumping of the non-pivot foot for a shot.
The most common scenario is an airborne player gathering a dribble (or catching a pass) and jumping off the first foot that hits the floor, landing on both simultaneously.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
I've come to a different conclusion than my earlier posts based on the discussion here and re-reading 4-44-2...I'm now in complete agreement with Camron and others. I was focused on the 'moving' comment. However, no pivot foot is established until the second foot touches and therefore, regardless of how long a player who has caught the ball is on one foot he may still jump off that foot and land on both simultaneously.

Thanks for the thought-provoking discussion. I love learning new things here.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
New scenario getting a lot of debate among some of my friends:

A1 receives the ball near the block, dribbles once, and establishes his left foot as the pivot foot. In making a move to score, A1 takes a large jump off of the left foot into the lane, landing on his right foot then jumping again off it and scoring before the either foot touches the ground.

Legal?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 05:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
What rule would make this illegal?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
What rule would make this illegal?
Well, this is the source of the debate:

4-44-3...After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
(a) The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released...
(b) If the player jumps neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released....

Those arguing legal cite a., those arguing illegal cite b. No definition of "jumps" exists in the book. Some say that the move must be a 'step' where the right foot touches before the left leaves the court. Others argue that once both feet are off the ground it is a jump.

Of course, that says that what most of us view as a legal layup would be traveling as when running both feet are off the court at the same time. I can also see the argument in an exaggerated move that most of us would truly look at like a jump rather than a step-through or running move, that those arguing (b) have merit.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 06:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Right, I figured that was the debate. It's a judgment call, IMO, whether he "jumps" or "steps."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Some say that the move must be a 'step' where the right foot touches before the left leaves the court.
I like this explanation - if this doesn't happen it is at least a hop which to me is closer to a jump than it is to a step. Plus this move is uglier than all get out. Travel
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 06:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
I like this explanation - if this doesn't happen it is at least a hop which to me is closer to a jump than it is to a step. Plus this move is uglier than all get out. Travel
Have you ever seen a player run and not be momentarily airborne between steps? This explanation doesn't work, IMO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The most common scenario is an airborne player gathering a dribble (or catching a pass) and jumping off the first foot that hits the floor, landing on both simultaneously.
That's actually pretty rare for my usual level of officiating (high school aged rec league), so I assumed it's also pretty rare at the higher levels without thinking. I've had a lot of players complain that I don't call a travel whenever someone fails to land with both feet simultaneously on a jump stop. It's even been worse than "3 IN THE KEY!!!" this season.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deadspin: It's not traveling unless Duke says it's traveling Rich Basketball 1 Mon Feb 23, 2009 09:21pm
traveling gtfreek Softball 1 Sat Jun 04, 2005 09:09am
Traveling x 2 Dudly Basketball 7 Wed Mar 16, 2005 01:24pm
Traveling OB ? RefTip Basketball 15 Thu Mar 03, 2005 01:59am
Traveling? PA Official Basketball 2 Thu Aug 05, 2004 08:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1