The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player on Floor Legal Guarding Position (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57012-player-floor-legal-guarding-position.html)

jdw3018 Tue Feb 09, 2010 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 660113)
He doesn't even have to be still. B1 falls to the floor. He rolls away from A1 as he attempts to get up. A1 runs over him. This is not a foul on B1.

Depends. B1 is now a moving player without LGP, so depending on how contact happens, it may or may not be a foul on B1.

Adam Tue Feb 09, 2010 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 660116)
Depends. B1 is now a moving player without LGP, so depending on how contact happens, it may or may not be a foul on B1.

If A1 and B1 are in the same path, jar is right. If, however, A1 is airborne and B1 rolls into his path/landing spot....

jdw3018 Tue Feb 09, 2010 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 660121)
If A1 and B1 are in the same path, jar is right. If, however, A1 is airborne and B1 rolls into his path/landing spot....

Agreed, plus a number of other scenarios depending on the specific direction of the movement and actions of both players.

just another ref Tue Feb 09, 2010 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 660116)
Depends. B1 is now a moving player without LGP, so depending on how contact happens, it may or may not be a foul on B1.


Note the italicized word. If B1 is moving away from A1, no foul on B1.

jdw3018 Tue Feb 09, 2010 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 660124)
Note the italicized word. If B1 is moving away from A1, no foul on B1.

Sure, though an airborne player could provide a different outcome even if the direction was away.

just another ref Tue Feb 09, 2010 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 660127)
Sure, though an airborne player could provide a different outcome even if the direction was away.

How?

jdw3018 Tue Feb 09, 2010 04:05pm

If A1 leaves his feet to go over prone B1, and then B1 rolls away from the player into the landing area, that's a foul on B1.

Johnny Ringo Sun Nov 13, 2011 04:42pm

play
 
Had this in BV game: B1 falls to the floor in transition, and in an effort to protect themself, covers face with both hands and lies motionless...

A1, who was dribbling the ball, must not have seen B1 - changed direction and trip over B1. A1 goes to the floor ball continues forward where B2 grabs the ball and continues the other way.

I call nothing from the T position. C also had nothing. We got an earful from home coach and crowd.

Thoughts?

BktBallRef Sun Nov 13, 2011 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 798320)
Had this in BV game: B1 falls to the floor in transition, and in an effort to protect themself, covers face with both hands and lies motionless...

A1, who was dribbling the ball, must not have seen B1 - changed direction and trip over B1. A1 goes to the floor ball continues forward where B2 grabs the ball and continues the other way.

I call nothing from the T position. C also had nothing. We got an earful from home coach and crowd.

Thoughts?

Nothing.

bob jenkins Sun Nov 13, 2011 07:59pm

The NCAA rule (well, interp) is differetn from the FED interp on this.

mbyron Sun Nov 13, 2011 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 798367)
The NCAA rule (well, interp) is differetn from the FED interp on this.

That's my recollection: NFHS, player is entitled to spot on floor, so it's either PC or nothing. NCAA: block.

biggravy Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:52pm

Twist. B1 falls to the floor directly behind A1 not giving him a step. A1 steps back and falls over B1. Illegal screen?

RookieDude Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 798376)
Twist. B1 falls to the floor directly behind A1 not giving him a step. A1 steps back and falls over B1. Illegal screen?

Yes

4-40-4

Camron Rust Mon Nov 14, 2011 01:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 798376)
Twist. B1 falls to the floor directly behind A1 not giving him a step. A1 steps back and falls over B1. Illegal screen?

Note sure I'd call it a screen when it is B1...but a block for sure. Screening is typically an action performed by team A.

Adam Mon Nov 14, 2011 01:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798379)
Note sure I'd call it a screen when it is B1...but a block for sure. Screening is typically an action performed by team A.

Typically, but not definitively.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1