The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling or not... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56931-traveling-not.html)

Knightsummitt Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:25pm

Traveling or not...
 
Do you consider it traveling when a player picks up their dribble prior to executing a jump stop? I am saying the player has 2 hands holding the ball from the time they leave the floor until the time they land.

I called a travel based on an "up and down" type of violation. Haven't seen it much all year, maybe 3 or 4 times, then it happens 3 times in one game tonite. Whatcha got?

APG Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:00am

I'm not sure I understand the question. If a player ends the dribble with a foot on the ground, said player can jump off that one foot and land simultaneously on both feet, and it is not a travel. Afterward, they may not pivot. If a player ends the dribble with both feet in the air and lands simultaneously, they may use pivot using either foot.

From what I think you're trying to describe, I wouldn't have a travel.

johnsonboys03 Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:06am

I dunno dude...think i'd have to see it. But if he had both hands on the ball then jumped and landed....travel. But usually jump stops are executed with the pushing the ball with one hand catching the ball while airborne and landing to stop your momentum before a shot or pass.

Adam Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Knightsummitt (Post 658644)
Do you consider it traveling when a player picks up their dribble prior to executing a jump stop? I am saying the player has 2 hands holding the ball from the time they leave the floor until the time they land.

I called a travel based on an "up and down" type of violation. Haven't seen it much all year, maybe 3 or 4 times, then it happens 3 times in one game tonite. Whatcha got?

Could you tell us where "up and down" is found in the rule book? Find the pivot foot and know the rules. My question for you on this is, did he land on both feet simultaneously? If he did, it sure reads like a legal play.

Adam Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 658652)
I dunno dude...think i'd have to see it. But if he had both hands on the ball then jumped and landed....travel. But usually jump stops are executed with the pushing the ball with one hand catching the ball while airborne and landing to stop your momentum before a shot or pass.

Check the traveling rule, read it, and ask questions.

A player may, upon gathering the ball with one foot on the floor, proceed to jump off of that foot and land on both feet as long as he lands with both feet at the same time. He then may not use either foot as a pivot foot. IOW, if he lifts either foot after the final landing, he may not place it back on the floor before passing or shooting.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 05, 2010 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Knightsummitt (Post 658644)
Do you consider it traveling when a player picks up their dribble prior to executing a jump stop?

A proper jump stop is never a travel. An improper jump stop is. And "picking up the dribble" is required for one type of jump stop.

mbyron Fri Feb 05, 2010 09:08am

The move I've been seeing is this one: player drives the lane, picks up dribble in the air, steps once, twice (other foot), and then lands on both feet to put up a shot.

Newbies only, please: travel? Explain.

Adam Fri Feb 05, 2010 09:53am

Ooh, the famous "triple jump stop."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1