![]() |
I had a similar situation but I granted the timeout.
A1 gathers a loose ball near the division line and has possession. I am right next to the coach who starts yelling timeout. As I processed I was ready to grant the timeout A1 lost possession of the ball. By the time I blew the whistle the appearance was he lost control of the ball. But I granted the timeout (in my head) before this happened. Nobody complained either way. Some have to realize that just because the whistle is late doesn't mean the call is wrong (or blown). Officials are human to and immediately blowing the whistle for something isn't going to happen. |
I actually had a situation similar. H1 with the ball, about to lose it. He loses it just as the coach requests timeout and I blow my whistle. I pause for a second and replay it in my head before telling H coach that the request was too late, V had the ball, and I give him the option of using the timeout. He respectfully declined.
I know, I know. Incorrect by rule. |
Misty Watercolor Memories, Of The Way We Were ...
Back in the olden days, only a player whose team was holding, or dribbling, a live ball, would be allowed to request a timeout during a live ball. The good old days.
|
Quote:
I'd rather eliminate live ball timeouts altogether. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I hope that you don't go back and put an extra two seconds on the clock to reflect the time between when you "granted" the time-out before the opponent stole the ball and when you sounded your whistle. :eek: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As a matter of fact there's a time differential between deciding to grant a time out and putting air in your whistle. I'm talking a tenth of a second or less. The rules fail to address this gap. IMO, and in actual practice in my area, the time out should be granted when the team in possession loses the ball during that gap. FWIW, you have no rules backing for your opinion either. :p |
Quote:
I do not see how cobbling together 5-8-3 and 6-7-5 means that you cannot grant a timeout and blow the whistle and have those acts be slightly separated. I just don't see overwhelming rules support for your position. (And of course, I do subscribe to "When it's you against the world, back the world.") |
Quote:
I respectfully beg to differ, Mr. CumquatHead. Basketball Rules Fundamental #16: - "The official's whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead(it is already dead)." The ball was dead when the official granted the TO request. And golly-gee, I think that there's a rule that backs that statement up also: Rule 5-8-3:- "Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official GRANTS a player/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out.." What happened after you granted the time-out is part of that time-out. Rules rulz!! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm. |