The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   overtun a call, fumble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56574-overtun-call-fumble.html)

stosh Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:04pm

what I left out of my OP was that the "non foul" block was in my PCA, much closer to me than my partner.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stosh (Post 653690)
what I left out of my OP was that the "non foul" block was in my PCA, much closer to me than my partner.


Doesn't matter (on this kind of call).

BBall_Junkie Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stosh (Post 653690)
what I left out of my OP was that the "non foul" block was in my PCA, much closer to me than my partner.

changes nothing... You were way out of line to take the action you did. In my game, I line the players up, we shoot the free throws and I show support of my partner. In the locker room at half or after the game, is when I rip my partner's a$$ for calling a blocked shot foul in my primary. But on the floor it is nothing but a show of support for him.

We all have brain laspses and kick calls, sometimes out of our primary. If you were to do this to me resulting in embarassing me (or the other member of our crew if three person) count on me changing the call right back to the original call and embarassing you.

Adam Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBall_Junkie (Post 653705)
changes nothing... You were way out of line to take the action you did. In my game, I line the players up, we shoot the free throws and I show support of my partner. In the locker room at half or after the game, is when I rip my partner's a$$ for calling a blocked shot foul in my primary. But on the floor it is nothing but a show of support for him.

We all have brain laspses and kick calls, sometimes out of our primary. If you were to do this to me resulting in embarassing me (or the other member of our crew if three person) count on me changing the call right back to the original call and embarassing you.

Yep, and I think the worst part (or equally bad) of this is that you've now taught a new official that it's ok to overrule his partner if he sees something different.

stosh Wed Jan 20, 2010 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBall_Junkie (Post 653705)
changes nothing... You were way out of line to take the action you did. In my game, I line the players up, we shoot the free throws and I show support of my partner. In the locker room at half or after the game, is when I rip my partner's a$$ for calling a blocked shot foul in my primary. But on the floor it is nothing but a show of support for him.

We all have brain laspses and kick calls, sometimes out of our primary. If you were to do this to me resulting in embarassing me (or the other member of our crew if three person) count on me changing the call right back to the original call and embarassing you.

Also keep in mind that he hadn't yet reported the foul; I stopped him on his way to report and we discussed what we had. If he had even hinted at seeing any body contact (which from my angle would have been impossible) we'd have stuck with his call. Believe me I don't think overulling him helps him or me, but when it was so obvious to everyone that there was no contact, I'd rather get it right. (There was easily a foot or two between the shot blocker and the shooter; that's how obvious it was).

bob jenkins Wed Jan 20, 2010 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stosh (Post 653728)
Also keep in mind that he hadn't yet reported the foul; I stopped him on his way to report and we discussed what we had. If he had even hinted at seeing any body contact (which from my angle would have been impossible) we'd have stuck with his call. Believe me I don't think overulling him helps him or me, but when it was so obvious to everyone that there was no contact, I'd rather get it right. (There was easily a foot or two between the shot blocker and the shooter; that's how obvious it was).

Still doesn't matter.

RookieDude Wed Jan 20, 2010 02:07pm

We had an "overrule" last night in our Boys V game.

I was the R in a 3 person crew.

Frontcourt action with the ball being passed around by Team A. Team B player tipped the ball, on a pass, and a Team A player touched the ball before it went into backcourt.

As the players were hustling to get the loose ball in backcourt...a Team A player pushed a Team B player. Tweet...my partner, that was Trail, called a foul on the Team A player. We were in the bonus...so my partner indicated that a Team B player would be shooting a bonus FT.

Is there anything there for me to overturn?

jdw3018 Wed Jan 20, 2010 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 653764)
We had an "overrule" last night in our Boys V game.

I was the R in a 3 person crew.

Frontcourt action with the ball being passed around by Team A. Team B player tipped the ball, on a pass, and a Team A player touched the ball before it went into backcourt.

As the players were hustling to get the loose ball in backcourt...a Team A player pushed a Team B player. Tweet...my partner, that was Trail, called a foul on the Team A player. We were in the bonus...so my partner indicated that a Team B player would be shooting a bonus FT.

Is there anything there for me to overturn?

Well, you haven't had a misapplication of a rule 'yet' so there isn't anything to overturn. It does appear you needed to step in to prevent a misapplication of a rule, though.

Did you?

Adam Wed Jan 20, 2010 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 653764)
We had an "overrule" last night in our Boys V game.

I was the R in a 3 person crew.

Frontcourt action with the ball being passed around by Team A. Team B player tipped the ball, on a pass, and a Team A player touched the ball before it went into backcourt.

As the players were hustling to get the loose ball in backcourt...a Team A player pushed a Team B player. Tweet...my partner, that was Trail, called a foul on the Team A player. We were in the bonus...so my partner indicated that a Team B player would be shooting a bonus FT.

Is there anything there for me to overturn?

You could rule it incidental contact. :D

Seriously, good job.

Twice this year I've had to remind my partners we are shooting when an offensive player fouled on the rebounding action.
Once I had to remind them that we don't go POI with a Technical foul.

RookieDude Wed Jan 20, 2010 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 653772)
You could rule it incidental contact. :D

Seriously, good job.

Twice this year I've had to remind my partners we are shooting when an offensive player fouled on the rebounding action.
Once I had to remind them that we don't go POI with a Technical foul.

...so you spotted the team control foul also. Good job to you.

Also, good...no team control on a try, therefore you would shoot the FT(s) on a rebound foul. (if in the bonus)

And those pesky college officials(or college fans)...POI on the Technical...always wanting to bring their game to the H.S. level. ;)

Rich Wed Jan 20, 2010 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stosh (Post 653728)
Also keep in mind that he hadn't yet reported the foul; I stopped him on his way to report and we discussed what we had. If he had even hinted at seeing any body contact (which from my angle would have been impossible) we'd have stuck with his call. Believe me I don't think overulling him helps him or me, but when it was so obvious to everyone that there was no contact, I'd rather get it right. (There was easily a foot or two between the shot blocker and the shooter; that's how obvious it was).

Stopping your partner -- now you just threw both of you under the bus.

Your partner calls a foul and unless there's a violation that precedes the foul he wouldn't see (player travels before the foul) there's nothing for you to communicate. Period.

And it doesn't matter whose PCA it's in. An official is not restricted, by rule, from calling a foul anywhere on the court. Not that it's good practice, but you sure can't overrule him.

BillyMac Wed Jan 20, 2010 06:44pm

My Opinion ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stosh (Post 653588)
No contact whatsoever, and lo and behold he comes in with a whistle and a fist up. It was obvious to everyone that there was no foul, so before he reported, I called him over to the side and told him what I had seen, and asked him to be honest, "was there any contact?" He was honest; I indicated "Inadvertant whistle" and we played the ball fromt the point of interuption.

http://thm-a01.yimg.com/nimage/45134eeb6eea6b3c

Judtech Wed Jan 20, 2010 08:25pm

It was the great philosopher Chevy Chase who stated in the movie "Fletch Lives!" : It takes a big man to admit when he is wrong, I am NOT a big man!"

Your partner may have been wrong with his call, you were DEF. wrong in your handling the situation. Just because he hadn't "reported" the fould, doesn't mean he had not "called" the foul. I am assuming his fist was up, and if he was on the ball had identified the shooter. Own the mistake and move on. Let your partner report the call and deal with those calls.
We have ALL made those. The last one I had there was about 2' between the shooter and the defender while I was in "C". Shooter double clutches and I blow my whistle. The coach asked me what I saw and I told him "Coach, I'm sure I have made worse calls than that one, but can't recall one off the top of my head. My bad, I'll get it right next time". Not something you want to say often, but helped the situation. And you can be DANG sure I was much more focused/patient the rest of the game!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1