The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this a travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56515-travel.html)

jeschmit Sun Jan 17, 2010 03:14pm

Is this a travel?
 
At our association meeting the other day we had this play discussed at our table. I was wanting some clarification, and I figured that this place is the best way to get it!

Here's the sitch: Player has the ball. Hasn't dribbled yet. Hasn't moved either foot off of the floor (he received a pass from his teammate and is standing before moving either foot). He goes up for a shot, and an opponent comes flying at him to attempt to block the shot. Seeing this, the shooter then takes the ball and throws it to the ground to start his dribble. Is this a travel, and if so could someone please give me a citation as I cannot find one anywhere in the books.

bas2456 Sun Jan 17, 2010 03:17pm

It is a travel. I'm 100% on that, but I don't have my books so I can't provide the citation. Someone will for sure be along shortly though.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 17, 2010 03:24pm

Case book play 4.43.3SitB

Rules 4-44-3(c) & 4-44-4(b)

dustman Sun Jan 17, 2010 03:26pm

When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor, whether, or not, the defensive player touches the ball in the block attempt.

Adam Sun Jan 17, 2010 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dustman (Post 652465)
When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor, whether, or not, the defensive player touches the ball in the block attempt.

Really?

smginnis Sun Jan 17, 2010 06:40pm

I'm doing this sans book, so I'm sure I'm up for correction, but..

When a player in possession of the ball picks up his pivot foot, he must pass or shoot prior to putting the pivot foot back to the floor... Dropping the ball to himself is not one of the two, so its a travel.

Don't have the book to quote, but it does matter if the defender touches it. I'm sure the offensive player can even throw the ball at the defender on purpose, much like one might experience on inbound (though this might result in a T). Is there any provisions that prohibit the offensive player from throwing the ball against a defensive player on purpose? I think its a deflected pass, intentional or not.

Adam Sun Jan 17, 2010 06:55pm

smginnis, that's how I'd rule it. A defender touching the ball in this case effectively ends player control and the would-be shooter gets a fresh start.

just another ref Sun Jan 17, 2010 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 652507)
smginnis, that's how I'd rule it. A defender touching the ball in this case effectively ends player control and the would-be shooter gets a fresh start.

A touch by the defender does not automatically end player control.

Adam Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 652553)
A touch by the defender does not automatically end player control.

True, but a defender touching a ball that is not in the control of someone does, IMO. Unless you can show me where the rules say definitively otherwise on this play.

just another ref Mon Jan 18, 2010 01:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 652628)
True, but a defender touching a ball that is not in the control of someone does, IMO. Unless you can show me where the rules say definitively otherwise on this play.

I was looking at the OP. In the case of the block attempt, if the defender touched the ball, which was then subsequently dropped by the shooter, as opposed to knocked free, this would be a travel.

In this second play, if the throw was not a bullet aimed at the defender's, uh, vulnerable areas, I guess we just rule it to be an errant pass and play on.

Adam Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 652663)
I was looking at the OP. In the case of the block attempt, if the defender touched the ball, which was then subsequently dropped by the shooter, as opposed to knocked free, this would be a travel.

In this second play, if the throw was not a bullet aimed at the defender's, uh, vulnerable areas, I guess we just rule it to be an errant pass and play on.

I was reading the OP differently. A1 jumps, sees it's going to be blocked, and drops the ball. The ball then touches or is touched by B1. A1 then retrieves it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1