The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   DQ'ed player misses free throws -- correctable (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56477-dqed-player-misses-free-throws-correctable.html)

fiasco Fri Jan 15, 2010 05:29pm

DQ'ed player misses free throws -- correctable?
 
A1 fouls B2. Common foul in the double bonus.

After the whistle blows, B2 commits a flagrant technical foul on A1. By rule, B2 is disqualified but remains in the game.

B2 misses both of his ensuing free throws.

The officials then discover that B2 was in the game after being disqualified and therefore not eligible to shoot the free throws.

Officials inform the coach that B2 is disqualified and ask for a replacement sub. The coach asks if the free throws are a correctable error and if he can send in B6 to re-shoot the free throws.

Coach A sees/hears this going on and is furious since Team B will now get another chance at two points.

What do you do?

bob jenkins Fri Jan 15, 2010 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 652188)
A1 fouls B2. Common foul in the double bonus.

After the whistle blows, B2 commits a flagrant technical foul on A1. By rule, B2 is disqualified but remains in the game.

B2 misses both of his ensuing free throws.

The officials then discover that B2 was in the game after being disqualified and therefore not eligible to shoot the free throws.

Officials inform the coach that B2 is disqualified and ask for a replacement sub. The coach asks if the free throws are a correctable error and if he can send in B6 to re-shoot the free throws.

Coach A sees/hears this going on and is furious since Team B will now get another chance at two points.

What do you do?

There's an interp from 10 years ago (or so) that says this is a correctable error. Search the archives.

FWIW, I disagree with the interp.

Camron Rust Fri Jan 15, 2010 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 652190)
There's an interp from 10 years ago (or so) that says this is a correctable error. Search the archives.

FWIW, I disagree with the interp.

I think you're memory is fading (or mine is). I remember the opposite.

Until a player is offiically DQ,d by informing the coach, everything they do stands....even FT's. Error is not correctable.

Now, if the player had been properly DQ'd the coach and player going to end up with a T for playing a DQ'd player. You could also go so far as to charge the player with taking a FT to which they were not entitled. Not that I'd stack them up in reality but there is support in the rules.

referee99 Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 652188)
A1 fouls B2. Common foul in the double bonus.

After the whistle blows, B2 commits a flagrant technical foul on A1. By rule, B2 is disqualified but remains in the game.

When does a player become disqualified?

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 652188)
B2 misses both of his ensuing free throws.

The officials then discover that B2 was in the game after being disqualified and therefore not eligible to shoot the free throws.

Officials inform the coach that B2 is disqualified and ask for a replacement sub. The coach asks if the free throws are a correctable error and if he can send in B6 to re-shoot the free throws.

Coach A sees/hears this going on and is furious since Team B will now get another chance at two points.

What do you do?

Follow rules and case play. Throws already attempted count. Player is then disqualified, and on we play.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 652214)
I think you're memory is fading (or mine is). I remember the opposite.

You are right. The play stands.

TimTaylor Sat Jan 16, 2010 02:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 652214)
Until a player is offiically DQ,d by informing the coach, everything they do stands....even FT's. Error is not correctable.

Now, if the player had been properly DQ'd the coach and player going to end up with a T for playing a DQ'd player. You could also go so far as to charge the player with taking a FT to which they were not entitled. Not that I'd stack them up in reality but there is support in the rules.

I agree - this is something that our SRI hammers into us every year at the mandatory rules meeting.

The_Rookie Sat Dec 02, 2017 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 652214)
I think you're memory is fading (or mine is). I remember the opposite.

Until a player is offiically DQ,d by informing the coach, everything they do stands....even FT's. Error is not correctable.

Now, if the player had been properly DQ'd the coach and player going to end up with a T for playing a DQ'd player. You could also go so far as to charge the player with taking a FT to which they were not entitled. Not that I'd stack them up in reality but there is support in the rules.

Is the rule/interpretation still the same today?

BillyMac Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:22am

Not Correctable ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1012219)
Is the rule/interpretation still the same today?

Good question. We've always discussed what happens if said player takes the free throw before the coach is informed of the disqualification, but I don't believe that we've ever discussed what happens is said player takes the free throw after the coach (and the player) is informed of the disqualification.

My best guesses:
- Technical foul to head coach for allowing said player to participate.
- No technical foul to player for knowingly taking a free throw he was not entitled to, it was he who got fouled.
- The error is not correctable, he's not the wrong player to attempt a free throw, it was he who got fouled.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 03, 2017 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 652190)
There's an interp from 10 years ago (or so) that says this is a correctable error. Search the archives.

FWIW, I disagree with the interp.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 652214)
I think you're memory is fading (or mine is). I remember the opposite.

Until a player is offiically DQ,d by informing the coach, everything they do stands....even FT's. Error is not correctable.

Now, if the player had been properly DQ'd the coach and player going to end up with a T for playing a DQ'd player. You could also go so far as to charge the player with taking a FT to which they were not entitled. Not that I'd stack them up in reality but there is support in the rules.

First there was an old interp stating that the FTs stand as the player isn't DQ'd until the coach is notified. A few years ago there was a Case Book play stating the opposite--the FTs were correctable and to be retaken. However, that was quickly corrected before that same season in the online interps after the NFHS was informed of the erroneous ruling.
Current ruling is that the FTs stand.

sj Mon Dec 04, 2017 01:07am

Case 4.14.1 D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1