The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Am I entitled to my spot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56455-am-i-entitled-my-spot.html)

Adam Thu Jan 14, 2010 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 651794)
See NFHS rule 10-6-7--"A dribbler shall neither charge into or contact an opponent in his path...."

Note the word "opponent". Also note that it is assumed that the opponent has taken a legal position on the floor, as per 4-23-1. LGP is not a factor.

So, what about an airborne opponent without position on the floor and without LGP?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 14, 2010 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651801)
So, what about an airborne opponent without position on the floor and without LGP?

If the opponent has established a legal position on the court and now jumps, you use the "verticality" principles outlined in 4-45. And don't get hung up on 4-45-1 which says that LGP must be established. We already know that isn't true in all cases. Example----> rebounding. The principles of verticality do apply to rebounding but the principle of LGP does not. So, you now use 4-45-2,4,5&6 to determine if the defender with a legal floor position but no LGP is airborne legally within his vertical plane. That's true for the situation being discussed as well as rebounding action.

Iow, you gotta put a bunch of rules together to come up with the answer that the defender's play was legal.

CMHCoachNRef Fri Jan 15, 2010 02:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 651807)
If the opponent has established a legal position on the court and now jumps, you use the "verticality" principles outlined in 4-45. And don't get hung up on 4-45-1 which says that LGP must be established. We already know that isn't true in all cases. Example----> rebounding. The principles of verticality do apply to rebounding but the principle of LGP does not. So, you now use 4-45-2,4,5&6 to determine if the defender with a legal floor position but no LGP is airborne legally within his vertical plane. That's true for the situation being discussed as well as rebounding action.

Iow, you gotta put a bunch of rules together to come up with the answer that the defender's play was legal.

JR,
This officiating stuff is really confusing. I think I am going back to coaching 100% of the time. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1