The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oklahoma / Oklahoma St. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56405-oklahoma-oklahoma-st.html)

Rich Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:13am

Oklahoma / Oklahoma St.
 
Was watching last night while getting in some time on the elliptical. Three really bizarre calls (of course, I may have not been paying attention close enough) in about a minute -- was wondering if anyone saw the game.

(1) Free throw. Rebound goes long and bounces off a players hands. Player from A in his frontcourt secures the ball in midair and lands in the backcourt.

(2) Lead calls an out of bounds violation for a player stepping on the line. The player never came within a foot of the line -- they showed the replay twice and the announcers didn't say much about it at all (and one of them was Bobby Knight).

(3) Same thing at the other end. Also appeared the player never stepped out on replay.

Am I missing a rules exception on (1)? Maybe I just saw it wrong.

truerookie Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:04pm

I didn't see the entire game. However, what you describe in situation 1. There was no team control so no BC violation.

Rich Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 650575)
I didn't see the entire game. However, what you describe in situation 1. There was no team control so no BC violation.

Is there an exception allowing the A player to gain control with frontcourt status here (he took off in the front court, got possession in mid air, and landed in the backcourt)?

Clearly I'm just having a brain cramp here, which means it's good time to sign off and go to the gym over lunch.

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 650575)
I didn't see the entire game. However, what you describe in situation 1. There was no team control so no BC violation.

Team control is established as soon as the player catches the ball.
Since he is airborne, the ball has now gained FC status as well. As soon as he lands in the BC, it's a violation.

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:08pm

Rich, the way I read your play, this should be a violation; unless the NCAA has extended the exception to cover all plays in which team control is initially established by an airborne player.

Rich Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650578)
Rich, the way I read your play, this should be a violation; unless the NCAA has extended the exception to cover all plays in which team control is initially established by an airborne player.

I guess that's my question. I only work 3-5 NCAA-rules games a year and I've read through the rulebook, but I missed this exception, if it exists.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 650581)
I guess that's my question. I only work 3-5 NCAA-rules games a year and I've read through the rulebook, but I missed this exception, if it exists.


AR217 (1) is this exact play. The ruling says, in part, : Violation ... The exception for the backcourt rules are only applicable for the player who made the initial touch on the ball.

So, as described, they kicked it.

truerookie Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 650584)
AR217 (1) is this exact play. The ruling says, in part, : Violation ... The exception for the backcourt rules are only applicable for the player who made the initial touch on the ball.

So, as described, they kicked it.

So, Bob are you saying it is a violation?

bob jenkins Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 650588)
So, Bob are you saying it is a violation?

Sigh.

The ruling says, in part, : Violation

truerookie Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 650592)
Sigh.

The ruling says, in part, : Violation


Have you had you coffee, tea or hot chocolate today??? :(

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 650595)
Have you had you coffee, tea or hot chocolate today??? :(

double mocha cappacino? ;)

Rich Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:32pm

Does NFHS 9-9-3 apply to a rebound of a free throw? If so, why do they only list "defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in" in parentheses?

Is this covered in the case book (it's in the car)?

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:34pm

Yes, it's in the case book, and it only applies during throw-ins, jump balls, and to "defensive players." Rebounds not included. 9.9.1D

Rich Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:41pm

So the NCAA rule is different. If the A player was the first to touch, in midair, on the rebound, he could catch with frontcourt status and land in the backcourt.

I wish I could see it yet again -- I'm 95% certain, though, it hit players hands and was tipped up into the air before being caught by the A player.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 12, 2010 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 650624)
So the NCAA rule is different. If the A player was the first to touch, in midair, on the rebound, he could catch with frontcourt status and land in the backcourt.

I wish I could see it yet again -- I'm 95% certain, though, it hit players hands and was tipped up into the air before being caught by the A player.


My mistake. The AR is on a throw-in.

Still a violation.

Yes, I'd have a violation.

I also think it's the "wrong" ruling (that is, I'd like to see the ruling changed).

truerookie Tue Jan 12, 2010 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 650624)
So the NCAA rule is different. If the A player was the first to touch, in midair, on the rebound, he could catch with frontcourt status and land in the backcourt.

I wish I could see it yet again -- I'm 95% certain, though, it hit players hands and was tipped up into the air before being caught by the A player.

Hmmmm.......

truerookie Tue Jan 12, 2010 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 650600)
double mocha cappacino? ;)

Coming right up. :D

Rich Tue Jan 12, 2010 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 650657)
My mistake. The AR is on a throw-in.

Still a violation.

Yes, I'd have a violation.

I also think it's the "wrong" ruling (that is, I'd like to see the ruling changed).

Fair enough. Doesn't matter then if the ball was touched. It's a violation. The officials looked like they hesitated a second and then...nothing. Nobody said a word, either.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1