The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   did we get this right tonight? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56311-did-we-get-right-tonight.html)

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 08, 2010 07:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 649332)
Thanks for the explanation.
So according to your explanations, we pretty much did everything correct, except that we called it a double foul instead of simultaneous. I emailed my partner prior to leaving and told him that we got it all right except that it is a simultaneous foul instead of double foul.

Yeah, you got everything right except that neither of you also knew that you had to go to the POI instead of an AP. You just got lucky because in your particular situation the POI also happened to be an AP.

Sooooo, before you and your partner throw out a shoulder patting each other on the back, you should both realize that (a) neither of you knew the correct rules or how to apply them, and (b) it was sheer luck that the play ended up being called correctly.

SmokeEater Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649364)
Yeah, you got everything right except that neither of you also knew that you had to go to the POI instead of an AP. You just got lucky because in your particular situation the POI also happened to be an AP.

Sooooo, before you and your partner throw out a shoulder patting each other on the back, you should both realize that (a) neither of you knew the correct rules or how to apply them, and (b) it was sheer luck that the play ended up being called correctly.

LOL, Way to burst his bubble JR.

representing Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649364)
Yeah, you got everything right except that neither of you also knew that you had to go to the POI instead of an AP. You just got lucky because in your particular situation the POI also happened to be an AP.

Sooooo, before you and your partner throw out a shoulder patting each other on the back, you should both realize that (a) neither of you knew the correct rules or how to apply them, and (b) it was sheer luck that the play ended up being called correctly.

Yeah, I realize that now. It was sheer luck. I don't know what my partner was thinking, maybe he did think "ok, it's POI", just didn't say that when we got together for that.

KJUmp Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:37pm

As a 2nd yr. newbie (not board certified) I've found this thread very helpful in getting a clearer understanding of double and simultaneous fouls. I have always found these confusing on tests and despite my wearing the print off the applicable sections of the rule book and case book regarding double&simultaneous fouls I've never felt confident in my ability to recognize which one occurred, determine if player and/or team control existed, and administer the whole thing properly, with confidence and certainty in the heat of a game. I'm sure like the OP, I may have gotten it right by luck...not by firm knowledge and understanding of all aspects of the rule.
To Jurassic, Tim,& Bits, thanks for your replies...with my books on my lap and reading and re-reading your posts I think now I've got it down, here's my own recap...kind of a way for me to keep it straight on the court in the heat of a game:
(1) A1&B1 commit a PF or TF on each other at approx. the same time=
DOUBLE FOUL 4-19-8 (a) (Ex> A1&B1 shoving each other underneath the basket)
(2) A1 commits a PF or TF on B1 AND at approx. the same time A2 commits a PF or TF on B2=
SIMULTANEOUS FOUL 4-19-10 (Ex> Sitch in OP)
(3) Each player is charged with a PF
(4) No FREE THROWS and resume play at POI
10-6 Summary 1(c) and 1(d) and 4-36-1; 4-36-2(a) or 4-36-2(b)
EXCEPT if there was no team control then....
(5) Resume play by the A/P arrow 4-36-2(c)
(6) If any of the fouls are flagrant player 9s) who committed flagrant foul(s) are DQ'd.
Do I have it right?

bob jenkins Fri Jan 08, 2010 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 649418)
(4) No FREE THROWS and resume play at POI
10-6 Summary 1(c) and 1(d) and 4-36-1; 4-36-2(a) or 4-36-2(b)
EXCEPT if there was no team control then....
(5) Resume play by the A/P arrow 4-36-2(c)

You resume play at the POI whether or not there was team control.

The POI might be the arrow.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 08, 2010 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 649418)
I think now I've got it down, here's my own recap...kind of a way for me to keep it straight on the court in the heat of a game:
(1) A1&B1 commit a PF or TF on each other at approx. the same time=
DOUBLE FOUL 4-19-8 (a) (Ex> A1&B1 shoving each other underneath the basket)
(2) A1 commits a PF or TF on B1 AND at approx. the same time A2 commits a PF or TF on B2=
SIMULTANEOUS FOUL 4-19-10 (Ex> Sitch in OP)
(3) Each player is charged with a PF
(4) No FREE THROWS and resume play at POI
10-6 Summary 1(c) and 1(d) and 4-36-1; 4-36-2(a) or 4-36-2(b)
EXCEPT if there was no team control then....
(5) Resume play by the A/P arrow 4-36-2(c)
(6) If any of the fouls are flagrant player 9s) who committed flagrant foul(s) are DQ'd.
Do I have it right?

No, in #2 you have two teammates committing fouls against different opponents at approximately the same time. A simultaneous foul involves fouls committed by opposing teams, not the same team. The NFHS currently has no rule to cover the situation which you have posted.

Also, your resumption of play is bit off. Remember to include the three step process for POI: 1. ball to team in control. 2. ball to team entitled to FT or throw-in. 3. AP arrow.

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 08, 2010 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649500)
No, in #2 you have two teammates committing fouls against different opponents at approximately the same time. A simultaneous foul involves fouls committed by opposing teams, not the same team. The NFHS currently has no rule to cover the situation which you have posted.

I beg to differ, CumquatHead.

It'a a false multiple foul, as per NFHS 4-20-12. You've got 2 or more fouls committed by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first foul. The attribute of a multiple foul that is missing is that the fouls aren't committed against the same opponent, but against 2 separate opponents. All of the other attributes of a multiple foul under 4-19-11 are there.

The rules cover the penalty application too. Each foul of a false multiple foul carries it's own penalty, as per 10-6PENALTIES7.

KJUmp Fri Jan 08, 2010 08:23pm

Bob, Nevada, Jurassic:
Thanks for reviewing my post and for pointing out where I was a bit off. I now know/understand a whole lot better than I did yesterday.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649503)
I beg to differ, CumquatHead.

It'a a false multiple foul, as per NFHS 4-20-12. You've got 2 or more fouls committed by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first foul. The attribute of a multiple foul that is missing is that the fouls aren't committed against the same opponent, but against 2 separate opponents. All of the other attributes of a multiple foul under 4-19-11 are there.

The rules cover the penalty application too. Each foul of a false multiple foul carries it's own penalty, as per 10-6PENALTIES7.

Well if that's what you think, then let me ask you this: if the fouls occur simultaneously and at the start of the play the team had five team fouls in that half, which opposing player would be awarded FTs?

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 10, 2010 07:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649635)
Well if that's what you think, then let me ask you this: if the fouls occur simultaneously and at the start of the play the team had five team fouls in that half, which opposing player would be awarded FTs?

The shortest one, naturally. That's called the "Chuck Elias/RockyRoad Rule.

I was well aware that part of the penalty application wasn't covered in the rules. That doesn't change the fact that the the FED does have a rule to cover the situation. By definition and rule, it's a false multiple foul. Note that "foul definitions" and their penalty applications are covered under separate rules.

Or do you dispute that the definition of a "false multiple foul" doesn't cover the situation being discussed?

Sooooooo, now it's up to you to use your vaunted, self-proclaimed magical Spidey powers with the NFHS Rules Committee to get the penalty phase covered. I await that happening with bated breath.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1