The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA officiating video (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56240-ncaa-officiating-video.html)

Jay R Mon Jan 04, 2010 06:38pm

NCAA officiating video
 
In the NCAA video, there is a play at 1:20 that is described as legal. To me it is travelling. The right is foot is the pivot foot, it is lifted and put back down again before the shot. What am I missing?

YouTube - 2009 NCAA Mens Officiating Part 4/4

mbyron Mon Jan 04, 2010 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 648338)
In the NCAA video, there is a play at 1:20 that is described as legal. To me it is travelling. The right is foot is the pivot foot, it is lifted and put back down again before the shot. What am I missing?

YouTube - 2009 NCAA Mens Officiating Part 4/4

I'm curious why the right foot is the pivot. If defined as NFHS defines it, the pivot would be the left foot in that play: it's the foot on the floor when the dribble ends.

So I agree with your ruling, but not your reasoning. If you think the right foot is the pivot, then the play is indeed legal.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 04, 2010 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 648338)
In the NCAA video, there is a play at 1:20 that is described as legal. To me it is travelling. The right is foot is the pivot foot, it is lifted and put back down again before the shot. What am I missing?

YouTube - 2009 NCAA Mens Officiating Part 4/4

If you are talking about the play from the Xavier/Wisconsin game with the drive by #11 of Xavier, then you are correct that it is a traveling violation, however, the LEFT foot is the pivot foot. It is the one which is clearly on the floor when the dribble is ended. It is close, but it seems to me that the player's right foot is barely off the floor by the time that he catches the ball to end his dribble. Still the left foot is lifted and replaced on the floor prior to the try.

The commentary on the video is not correct as it states that the right foot is the pivot foot when he jumps to it and lands on that foot, but he clearly has his left foot touching the floor while holding the ball after the dribble.

Jay R Mon Jan 04, 2010 06:53pm

My fault, I meant left foot.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 648346)
My fault, I meant left foot.

Ok, I'm with you now. It is still a travel, and was correctly called as such by the official on the court during the game. Unfortunate that the training video is wrong. :(

Raymond Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 648338)
In the NCAA video, there is a play at 1:20 that is described as legal. To me it is travelling. The right is foot is the pivot foot, it is lifted and put back down again before the shot. What am I missing?

YouTube - 2009 NCAA Mens Officiating Part 4/4

Is this a preseason video? If so, that particular play was subsequently acknowledged by the NCAA to be correctly called as a travel.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648388)
Is this a preseason video? If so, that particular play was subsequently acknowledged by the NCAA to be correctly called as a travel.

Yes, this is part of the preseason video which was shown at all NCAA clinics prior to the start of the 2009-10 season.

Good to hear that the NCAA has acknowledged the error.

Raymond Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:30pm

To me it looked like both feet were on the floor when his dribble ended....and that he subsequently lifted and replaced both feet on the floor before his shot...he travelled with both feet. :D

Nevadaref Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648393)
To me it looked like both feet were on the floor when his dribble ended....and that he subsequently lifted and replaced both feet on the floor before his shot...he travelled with both feet. :D

Possibly, but in real-time it would be very difficult to tell if his right foot was still on the floor when the dribble ended. I'm not splitting hairs on this. The left foot is quite clear.

Raymond Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 648395)
Possibly, but in real-time it would be very difficult to tell if his right foot was still on the floor when the dribble ended. I'm not splitting hairs on this. The left foot is quite clear.

Oh, no doubt the left foot was his pivot foot. It's just that he lifted and replaced his right foot and then lifted and replaced his left foot before releasing the ball. So regardless of which one was his pivot foot he travelled.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648396)
Oh, no doubt the left foot was his pivot foot. It's just that he lifted and replaced his right foot and then lifted and replaced his left foot before releasing the ball. So regardless of which one was his pivot foot he travelled.

I don't agree with that assessment.

Jesse James Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:18pm

For what it's worth, I think the "simple question" at the 1:02 mark that they never respond with a simple answer attempts to lead incorrectly also. Williams from Tennessee obviously moves his right foot after the catch, and then his left foot scoots closer to the FT circle well before his release of the pass. I think the guy makes a great call.

fullor30 Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648388)
Is this a preseason video? If so, that particular play was subsequently acknowledged by the NCAA to be correctly called as a travel.

Thank heavens! I immediately went to video and watched it a dozen times and was about to hang up my whistle if that wasn't a travel, I was really questioning myself. Having now read subsequent posts, I feel much better.....

mbyron Tue Jan 05, 2010 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James (Post 648412)
For what it's worth, I think the "simple question" at the 1:02 mark that they never respond with a simple answer attempts to lead incorrectly also. Williams from Tennessee obviously moves his right foot after the catch, and then his left foot scoots closer to the FT circle well before his release of the pass. I think the guy makes a great call.

I agree that this play, too, was a travel.

Raymond Tue Jan 05, 2010 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 648397)
I don't agree with that assessment.

Guess it depends on when you judge that he gathers his dribble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1