The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kentucky/Louisville (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56213-kentucky-louisville.html)

dbking Sun Jan 03, 2010 12:09pm

Foul enforcement:

The two fouls were offsetting, not double, per rule 10-5. All three fouls would have been Class A fouls. Since it was not a single foul, the resumption of play will be POI.

jsblanton Sun Jan 03, 2010 01:40pm

They missed the first one to begin with.
 
The whole crew missed the guy from Louisville sitting on top of Cousins' when the scrum started. I have started calling more fouls during loose balls and not letting kids dive on top of each other for loose balls. So many times several refs call a held ball instead of a foul.

grunewar Sun Jan 03, 2010 01:57pm

Serious Question
 
Will anything happen as a result of this play/game situation now or is it over and done?

Will the crew get a note/call from the NCAA on their thoughts as to what they did/didn't call? Procedures they followed? Will it just be ignored as just another game situation? Re emphasis go out to all officials?

Just curious as to your thoughts.
Thanks

dahoopref Sun Jan 03, 2010 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbking (Post 648059)
Foul enforcement:

The two fouls were offsetting, not double, per rule 10-5. All three fouls would have been Class A fouls. Since it was not a single foul, the resumption of play will be POI.

Thanks for your answer and agree with the offsetting Ts.

Could you clarify your above statement about the "single foul"?

Are you referring to the contact dead ball technical foul by L'ville #12? As I understand it the resumption of play is throw-in to the offended team (Ky) at the division line (with reset of the shot-clock).

Raymond Sun Jan 03, 2010 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 648079)
Will anything happen as a result of this play/game situation now or is it over and done?

Will the crew get a note/call from the NCAA on their thoughts as to what they did/didn't call? Procedures they followed? Will it just be ignored as just another game situation? Re emphasis go out to all officials?

Just curious as to your thoughts.
Thanks

Will probably see something on the Arbiter's Central Hub. They posted the Cincy/Xavier incident with some comments.

WhistlesAndStripes Sun Jan 03, 2010 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648085)
Will probably see something on <strike>the Arbiter's</strike> ArbiterSports' Central Hub. They posted the Cincy/Xavier incident with some comments.

I fixed that for ya.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 03, 2010 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648085)
Will probably see something on the Arbiter's Central Hub. They posted the Cincy/Xavier incident with some comments.

Unfortunately, I believe that it is password protected and the information not available to the general public.

Perhaps such info could be posted on this forum by those with access.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 04, 2010 07:45am

Here's a view from the front. There was a better view from behind showing the elbow being thrown that was constantly being replayed.

YouTube - DeMarcus 'Double Tech' Cousins

I thought it shoulda been called flagrant when I saw it live....and on the numerous replays. Still do.

rockyroad Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648229)
Here's a view from the front. There was a better view from behind showing the elbow being thrown that was constantly being replayed.

YouTube - DeMarcus 'Double Tech' Cousins

I thought it shoulda been called flagrant when I saw it live....and on the numerous replays. Still do.

Agreed. Not sure why it was not called a flagrant after they went to the monitor.

Gotta love it when even the UK fan who is filming (or someone near him) says (right at the end of the video) "DeMarcus elbowed him in the head first". :eek:

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 648231)
Agreed. Not sure why it was not called a flagrant after they went to the monitor.

Deej, did you notice Cahill, the Lead, on the play? I thought that he had a good look at the play and he did call the held ball, but the Trail had to come all the way in to make the subsequent calls. The Trail called both initial "T"s against Louisville while Cahill seemed to stay right out of the play.

Cahill is a veteran official who has shown that he's certainly not afraid to make the tough call. I was just wondering why he didn't get more involved in a play that was right in front of him.

Thoughts?

zm1283 Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:01am

If that's not flagrant, especially after seeing it on the replay, then I don't know what is.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 04, 2010 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 648235)
If that's not flagrant, especially after seeing it on the replay, then I don't know what is.

Well, three very well respected officials that have done a lot higher games than any of us felt otherwise....even with numerous replay and time to consider it. Right or wrong, I think I'll go with their judgement. Something about it, in their opinion, must have been insufficient for a flagrant.

JRutledge Mon Jan 04, 2010 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 648308)
Well, three very well respected officials that have done a lot higher games than any of us felt otherwise....even with numerous replay and time to consider it. Right or wrong, I think I'll go with their judgement. Something about it, in their opinion, must have been insufficient for a flagrant.

I do not see this as a flagrant either. I see players fight for the ball and some contact that might be rough, but not flagrant. Then again, I am not one of those officials on the floor and I am watching with the benefit of replay on my couch. Just saying.

Peace

tomegun Mon Jan 04, 2010 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 648308)
Well, three very well respected officials that have done a lot higher games than any of us felt otherwise....even with numerous replay and time to consider it. Right or wrong, I think I'll go with their judgement. Something about it, in their opinion, must have been insufficient for a flagrant.

If you don't feel like it should have been a flagrant, cool. But, the reasoning above is total BS in my opinion.

Rut, mentioned why he thought it isn't flagrant; an opinion that will initiate conversation. JR said he thought it was flagrant; another opinion. Neither of those opinions are lemming-ish. :D I made that up for this special occasion!

rockyroad Mon Jan 04, 2010 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648233)
Deej, did you notice Cahill, the Lead, on the play? I thought that he had a good look at the play and he did call the held ball, but the Trail had to come all the way in to make the subsequent calls. The Trail called both initial "T"s against Louisville while Cahill seemed to stay right out of the play.

Cahill is a veteran official who has shown that he's certainly not afraid to make the tough call. I was just wondering why he didn't get more involved in a play that was right in front of him.

Thoughts?

I honestly think he was blocked out of a lot of the stuff - too many bodies in the way. As he was closing in the Louisville players who did the pushing were pushing the UK player toward Cahill. So he was in probably the worst position to call those first T's...then he must have been the U2 as he was the one who stayed out on the court and kept an eye on the players/benches.

From my vantage point on the couch, I honestly thought this was a flagrant foul. I would love to hear their post-game discussion! Perhaps they only went with the T because the reaction of the Louisville player was fairly subdued...if he comes up and takes a swing, perhaps they toss both players? I don't know - just speculating here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1