The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Dead Ball" Technical Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56183-dead-ball-technical-foul.html)

coach41 Thu Dec 31, 2009 01:47am

"Dead Ball" Technical Foul
 
Hey guys,

One more situation that occurred from the game BEFORE mine tonight (another freshman game).

With about two minutes left in the fourth quarter, there is a scramble for the ball and a jump ball is called. The white team has the arrow and the ball is awarded to them at the sideline. The white team coach decides to call a timeout which the officials grant.

For some unknown reason, the white player who was in the scramble for the ball decides to exhibit his frustration and spikes the ball on the floor. It's an easy technical for the officials to call.

After the timeout is over, the officials administer the technical foul with the brown team shooting both free throws.

However, the weirdness begins after the free throws. The official grant the ball back to white at half court in front of the score table.

My partner and I were doing our pregame in the stands and discussed this. I thought the ball should have been given to the brown team at half court opposite the score table.

I talked to the two officials after the game and it seemed they went with the "point of interruption" when giving the ball back. I pointed out that they put the ball in at the wrong location in that case.

Can someone clarify for me what exactly should have been done in this situation? I looked at the rule book to see about "dead ball" technical fouls. I'm thinking this should have been handled like any other technical (two free throws, ball at half court to the other team).

Nevadaref Thu Dec 31, 2009 01:50am

NFHS rules: all (single) technical fouls are 2FTs and possession of the ball at the division line opposite the table.

NCAA: unsporting technicals are 2FTs and the game resumes at the POI.

It sounds like the crew you were watching mistakenly applied the NCAA rule to the situation.

KJUmp Thu Dec 31, 2009 02:30pm

Coach...just curious, we know they messed up both the teem that should be getting the ball AND the throw-in spot. Do you recall what (if anything) they did with the A/P arrow?

BillyMac Thu Dec 31, 2009 06:43pm

Brown ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by coach41 (Post 647235)
The brown team shooting both free throws.

coach41: I hope that you don't mind. This is a detour, not a hijack. An off topic detour, but just a detour.

I've been doing this for twenty-nine years, scholastic games, travel games, recreation games, AAU games, etc., from third graders, up to junior college, thousands of games, with players wearing jerseys all the "one syllable" colors of the rainbow, and I've never, ever, had a brown team. I just realized that when the word brown in your post sounded odd to me.

Sorry. I now return you to your regularly scheduled programming.

coach41 Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:46pm

@KJUmp - Good point. I remember looking at the arrow after the technical was given (obviously pointing to the white team). However, in the ensuing "madness", I didn't look at it after the ball was inbounded.

@BillyMac - No worries. I was originally going to go with the standard "black" and "white" team descriptions since one team was wearing white. However, the other team was indeed wearing BROWN uniforms and I decided to stick with that.

On a side note, the only reason I noted this play was because I was doing some evaluations of one of the refs. I am missing one of my association's meeting next week and was told I should do some evaluations to make up for missing the meeting (in lieu of taking the fine). I certainly picked an interesting game to go watch and see this situation. :)

Adam Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:17pm

So they kicked this when being evaluated? did you inform them of the proper rule?

coach41 Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:35am

I did talk to both of the guys a little bit during a timeout but didn't have time to get a full explanation of why they went with the NCAA rule. After their game ended, I didn't much opportunity as well as my partner and I had to get ready for our game.

Because I wasn't sure if having the technical being given during the timeout changed anything, I can't say I "pointed out their error". I came home to double check the rule book and then posted here.

However, I did submit an evaluation of the situation after i got clarification so the two officials should know about the situation now.

CMHCoachNRef Fri Jan 01, 2010 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 647238)
NFHS rules: all (single) technical fouls are 2FTs and possession of the ball at the division line opposite the table.

NCAA: unsporting technicals are 2FTs and the game resumes at the POI.

It sounds like the crew you were watching mistakenly applied the NCAA rule to the situation.

....or simply got confused since the technical foul was called after the awarding of possession via the arrow. :eek:

BillyMac Fri Jan 01, 2010 11:36am

The Cowboy State ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by coach41 (Post 647618)
However, the other team was indeed wearing BROWN uniforms and I decided to stick with that.

http://thm-a03.yimg.com/image/bef6f7aafb0f2c20

Mark Padgett Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by coach41 (Post 647618)
However, the other team was indeed wearing BROWN uniforms and I decided to stick with that.

Was it these guys? And...where's their numbers?

http://www.uniformsmag.com/images/issues/0107/feat1.jpg

coach41 Fri Jan 01, 2010 03:39pm

Happy New Year!

For your viewing pleasure:

http://www.sfhs.com/data/files/News/...umb/grant1.jpg

This wasn't the actual uniforms since it was the freshman team. The varsity jerseys look way better than the freshman got! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1