The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   start of game jump ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56178-start-game-jump-ball.html)

Upward ref Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:04pm

start of game jump ball
 
Tonight at a holiday tournament ,the opening jump was touched by A1 and hit the floor outside of the circle. since no other teammates were around on that side , A 1 grabs the ball and starts a dribble. then came a slightly delayed whistle and ball goes to B1 for a throw in. immediately pulled out my trusty nfhs rule book (6-3-6,7,8)to read that : the jump ball and restrictions end when the touched ball contacts one of the 8 non jumpers, an official, the floor etc... I didn't see a violation so before start of 2nd half i illegally entered the confines of the court at the division line across from the table and asked (who i assumed to be the umpire ?) why the throw in after what I thought was a legal jump? the ref politely told me thats the way he's taught it for 20 years ,had talked it over with his crew at half time and it was a good call since A1 still had 1 foot in/touching the restraining circle. fair enough , but i can't find that one anywhere in the book. Good call ? (the ref also advised me that if this game was in Nevada I could be escorted off the court and then summarily horse whipped !):) Glad I am in good ol' Virginia!

Adam Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:14pm

Bad call, he's got the rule wrong. You'd think if they talked about it at half time they'd have actually looked up the rule. :(

I actually had an IW this year in a game when I started to make this very call. Both jumpers tapped it on their second swipe, it went down, and A1 grabbed it after the bounce. I hit my whistle and immediately knew I'd screwed up, declared an IW, and gave the ball to A at the division line and flipped the arrow to B.

I hope he at least gave the arrow to A on this, but I'm doubtful since 20 years ago that wouldn't have been the proper ruling.

Freddy Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:26pm

Clarify Please . . .
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 647191)
I didn't see a violation so before start of 2nd half i illegally entered the confines of the court at the division line across from the table and asked (who i assumed to be the umpire ?) why the throw in after what I thought was a legal jump?

Question 1: Were you a coach, a fellow official, or a fan at this game?
Question 2: Why is entering the confines of the court at the division line across from the table at halftime illegal?
Question 3: Why ask one you assume to be the umpire? Wouldn't it have been better to direct your polite inquiry to the referee?
Question 4: Did I understand your post correctly?

Adam Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 647205)
Question 3: Why ask one you assume to be the umpire? Wouldn't it have been better to direct your polite inquiry to the referee?

Because the U is the one who made that call.

grunewar Thu Dec 31, 2009 06:26am

First for me last week.....
 
Two-man. I was R but let my partner administer the jump (good practice for him).

Ball goes up nicely, flailing arms, and nuthin. Ball hits the floor untouched. :eek:

TWEET!

"Ok boys let's do it again."

I peeked at the clock and was pleasantly surprised that no time had run off either! ;)

Upward ref Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 647205)
Question 1: Were you a coach, a fellow official, or a fan at this game?
Question 2: Why is entering the confines of the court at the division line across from the table at halftime illegal?
Question 3: Why ask one you assume to be the umpire? Wouldn't it have been better to direct your polite inquiry to the referee?
Question 4: Did I understand your post correctly?

1.) A fan observing officials to learn nfhs rules.
2.) Please reference previous posts concerning fans/ parents etc coming onto the court without being beckoned, and the very strong opinions expressed.
3.) due to my limited experience as a rec league ref, and what I thought was correct at the time ; he appeared to be the umpire or lead official by his center positioning ,he administered the jump , during pregame took the center position,and seemed to go to both sides to shake hands and encourage the other 2 ref's before recieving the game ball to begin. now ,after studying 2-3,4,and 5, I realize i've got it backwards and actually mean the refferee and not the 2 umpires . But I did speak to the right guy and actually addressed him as " yo , ref " .
4) I think so ? :)

Upward ref Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 647198)
Bad call, he's got the rule wrong. You'd think if they talked about it at half time they'd have actually looked up the rule. :(

I actually had an IW this year in a game when I started to make this very call. Both jumpers tapped it on their second swipe, it went down, and A1 grabbed it after the bounce. I hit my whistle and immediately knew I'd screwed up, declared an IW, and gave the ball to A at the division line and flipped the arrow to B.

I hope he at least gave the arrow to A on this, but I'm doubtful since 20 years ago that wouldn't have been the proper ruling.

IW , Inadvertant Whistle ?
I'm pretty sure the arrow went to B as soon as the throw in ended,that also puzzled me for a second . IMO, jumper A1 was already penalized and lost the ball, and now the arrow went to B as well .
Looking at rule 6 sec. 3 I dont see anything re: touching the restraining circle and grabbing the ball . Is that why it is legal ?
Oh well, reckon I'll study 6-4 , AP arrow now !

BillyMac Thu Dec 31, 2009 05:39pm

I Almost Missed It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 647205)
Last edited by Freddy; Yesterday at 11:28pm. Reason: to tick off BillyMac

Good one.

BillyMac Thu Dec 31, 2009 05:41pm

Give Him A Contract ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 647268)
I peeked at the clock and was pleasantly surprised that no time had run off either!

Was the timer chseagle?

fullor30 Thu Dec 31, 2009 05:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 647191)
Tonight at a holiday tournament ,the opening jump was touched by A1 and hit the floor outside of the circle. since no other teammates were around on that side , A 1 grabs the ball and starts a dribble. then came a slightly delayed whistle and ball goes to B1 for a throw in. immediately pulled out my trusty nfhs rule book (6-3-6,7,8)to read that : the jump ball and restrictions end when the touched ball contacts one of the 8 non jumpers, an official, the floor etc... I didn't see a violation so before start of 2nd half i illegally entered the confines of the court at the division line across from the table and asked (who i assumed to be the umpire ?) why the throw in after what I thought was a legal jump? the ref politely told me thats the way he's taught it for 20 years ,had talked it over with his crew at half time and it was a good call since A1 still had 1 foot in/touching the restraining circle. fair enough , but i can't find that one anywhere in the book. Good call ? (the ref also advised me that if this game was in Nevada I could be escorted off the court and then summarily horse whipped !):) Glad I am in good ol' Virginia!


Could it be he was referring to our own..................naaaa.

grunewar Thu Dec 31, 2009 05:53pm

While I have never been to Washington state....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 647528)
Was the timer chseagle?

I would say probably not......because this particular timer was STILL at the table at the end of the game! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1