![]() |
Question concerning a case book play
Was reading through the case book & found this case play:
'10.4.5 SITUATION C: Substitutes A6, A7 & A8 enter the floor and fight with substitutes B6, B7 & B8. RULING: A6, A7, A8, B6, B7 & B8 are charged with flagrant fouls & disqualified. Each head coach is charged with three indirect technical fouls and disqualified & must leave the vicinity or the playing area & have no further contact with the team. Because the substitute’s fouls were offsetting, no free throws will be awarded. Charge each team with three fouls toward the bonus & resume play at the point of interruption." What would happen if in the process one of the team's foul count goes from 4 to 7? Wouldn't that become a bonus for the other team? |
No, because you don't shoot "bonus" free throws for flagrant or technical fouls.
And you wouldn't shoot free throws if there were a standard "double" foul and it gave one of the teams its 7th team foul. |
It would put them in the bonus for any subsequent free throws, but as BadNewsRef has stated no free throws would be shot for the flagrant fouls.
|
What BadNewsRef & Thumper68 said......
FYI, the main purpose of this particular casebook play is to illustrate the difference in the penalties assessed to the head coach. Because they entered the court and participated in a fight, the HC gets an indirect T for each player that did so. If they had entered but did not actually participate in the fight, then the HC only gets a single indirect T. How's the WX in Connell this morning - it's 30 & mostly clear so far here in Portland..... |
Quote:
At least it's better than the two feet of snow with 20 mile an hour winds off Lake Michigan I grew up with in Chicago. :) |
Quote:
I've seen that lake effect snow in Chicago up close and personal a time or two - it can get real ugly, real fast! |
Quote:
I read the rule book & realized about the bonus because of this being a mulitple foul situation with the same number of fouls for both teams on the play/call, so even though one team may get into the bonus doesn't mean they get the 1 & 1. |
Quote:
Team A has 7 fouls. A6 and B6 report to the table to sub in, and A6 punches B6, who retreats to his bench amidst all the whistles. Team B will shoot the two shots for the flagrant T, but not the one-and-one. Bonus free throws (one-and-one or double bonus) are only shot for common fouls. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
15 Degrees F And Clear In The Constitution State ...
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
None of the weathercasters had predicted it (gee, what a shock). We have about an inch right now. My dog is out in the backyard having a field day. He loves snow. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39am. |