The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Contacting the Backboard? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56034-contacting-backboard.html)

BballTip Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:42pm

Contacting the Backboard?
 
Tough bang banger the other night...Wanted to get your thoughts and a rules citation...

A1 goes up for layup...B1 is following on fast break and attempts to block the shot. B1 does not touch the ball but does make significant contact with the backboard while the ball is on way up.

Coach goes crazy wanting a goaltending or basket interference call because the ball comes off rim. Trail had it all the way to the basket, does not blow anything.

In my estimation, it was the correct call because there is no penalty if the defensive player is making a legitimate attempt to block the shot.

However, what if the striking of the backboard causes the ring to move? Do you call that basket interference as if the defender had made contact with the ring?

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:45pm

The rules do not allow for a BI call when the defender hits the backboard. It's a T or nothing (99% of the time, it's nothing.) I granted a timeout once to a coach requesting I call a T on the other team.

There was a recent debate on here about whether the rule should be changed to include this in BI, but it wouldn't affect this play most likely, as the glass was likely struck before the ball was in the cylinder.

tjones1 Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:54pm

Well... it can't be goaltending as the defender never touched the ball. 4-22

So the only other thing it could be is basket interference - which it isn't as Snaq pointed out. Therefore, it's a T or play-on.

Check out 10.3.4 Situation

representing Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:04pm

If they make a legitimate attempt to block the shot, then no call. The key here is which side of the basket did the defender hit the backboard. If he hit it on the side which the ball is, then 9 out of 10 times no call. If it's opposite side, then it is always a Technical for unsporting, and count the basket if it goes in (wait for ball to go in before blowing whistle).

EDIT: more like 99 out of 100 times no call.

JRutledge Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:05pm

This is one of the most misunderstood rules in the game of basketball. ;)

Peace

representing Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BballTip (Post 644550)
However, what if the striking of the backboard causes the ring to move? Do you call that basket interference as if the defender had made contact with the ring?

Don't call it. It would be hard to tell if the rim moved at all, and if it does, it is a mere vibration that could be caused by a lot of different things.

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644558)
Don't call it. It would be hard to tell if the rim moved at all, and if it does, it is a mere vibration that could be caused by a lot of different things.

None of this is relevant. You can't call it because it's not against the rules.

representing Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 644555)
Well... it can't be goaltending as the defender never touched the ball. 4-22

So the only other thing it could be is basket interference - which it isn't as Snaq pointed out. Therefore, it's a T or play-on.

Check out 10.3.4 Situation

Play-On is soccer, not basketball :-)

asdf Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:09pm

I does not matter if the basket sways like it would from 7.8 earthquake.

You can never award points for slapping the backboard.

representing Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 644559)
None of this is relevant. You can't call it because it's not against the rules.

I just wanted to point out that it would be hard to see any vibration of the rim because of a slap on the backboard. But you are right, it is not against the rules to slap the backboard as long as it is an apparent legitimate attempt to block the shot.

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644556)
If they make a legitimate attempt to block the shot, then no call. The key here is which side of the basket did the defender hit the backboard. If he hit it on the side which the ball is, then 9 out of 10 times no call. If it's opposite side, then it is always a Technical for unsporting, and count the basket if it goes in (wait for ball to go in before blowing whistle).

EDIT: more like 99 out of 100 times no call.

While I agree that this works as a good rule of thumb, I'd hesitate to make it an absolute.

Also, there is no need to wait for the ball to go in before blowing the whistle. Once the shooting motion has begun, a T on the defense does not cause the ball to become dead.

Once the shot is released, a T on the offense doesn't even cause the ball to become dead.

JRutledge Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644562)
I just wanted to point out that it would be hard to see any vibration of the rim because of a slap on the backboard. But you are right, it is not against the rules to slap the backboard as long as it is an apparent legitimate attempt to block the shot.

I guarantee you Snaqs knows this. His point is that the basket cannot count for that reason. It never can be called for that reason. All you can call is a T and the ball could count anyway if it goes in the hoop or no one commits and actual BI violation.

Peace

representing Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 644563)
While I agree that this works as a good rule of thumb, I'd hesitate to make it an absolute.

Also, there is no need to wait for the ball to go in before blowing the whistle. Once the shooting motion has begun, a T on the defense does not cause the ball to become dead.

Once the shot is released, a T on the offense doesn't even cause the ball to become dead.

good point, but I'd much rather wait for the ball to go through the hoop before calling a T*, so no coaches will yell at me saying that I blew the call dead. It's hard to explain things to a mad coach, you're always wrong no matter what.

* Unless it is a T that needs to be dealt with immediately to avoid any further problems.

JRutledge Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644569)
good point, but I'd much rather wait for the ball to go through the hoop before calling a T*, so no coaches will yell at me saying that I blew the call dead. It's hard to explain things to a mad coach, you're always wrong no matter what.

* Unless it is a T that needs to be dealt with immediately to avoid any further problems.

I would call the T regardless whether the ball goes in. If there is doubt there was a legitimate attempt to block the shot, then I have got nothing. If it is obvious--I could give a darn what the coach thinks. Teach your kid not to just slam the backboard and life will be easier.

Peace

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2009 01:58pm

I don't GAF what the coach thinks here. A quick "the shot was in the air" will be enough.

Now, chances are, you're not going to hit the whistle on this until it's through, given the timing of it all. But if you call this T, he's either going to challenge you by saying he was trying to block the shot or he's going to be pissed at his player. He's not going to question the basket counting.

JRutledge Mon Dec 21, 2009 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 644573)
I don't GAF what the coach thinks here. A quick "the shot was in the air" will be enough.

Now, chances are, you're not going to hit the whistle on this until it's through, given the timing of it all. But if you call this T, he's either going to challenge you by saying he was trying to block the shot or he's going to be pissed at his player. He's not going to question the basket counting.

The last time I called this (which was so long ago I can hardly remember the year) and the coach questioned me when I counted the basket too as it actually went into the basket. Again, coaches do not know rules and to expect you will make them happy is futile at best.

Peace

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2009 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 644576)
The last time I called this (which was so long ago I can hardly remember the year) and the coach questioned me when I counted the basket too as it actually went into the basket. Again, coaches do not know rules and to expect you will make them happy is futile at best.

Peace

Okay, I stand corrected on one point. :)

I still don't care. ;)

JRutledge Mon Dec 21, 2009 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 644578)
Okay, I stand corrected on one point. :)

I still don't care. ;)

http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/s...aughing013.gif

Peace

BillyMac Mon Dec 21, 2009 08:35pm

Did I Hear Somebody Say, "Most Misunderstood Rule" ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 644557)
This is one of the most misunderstood rules in the game of basketball.

This is a job for the Mythbusters:

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

BballTip Tue Dec 22, 2009 01:33pm

Very good discussion.

That's such a tough call because of the speed of the game and the judgment involved, but I am with you guys, I tend to let the kids try to block the shot and if they make contact on the board while attempting, so be it.

Adam Tue Dec 22, 2009 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BballTip (Post 644839)
Very good discussion.

That's such a tough call because of the speed of the game and the judgment involved, but I am with you guys, I tend to let the kids try to block the shot and if they make contact on the board while attempting, so be it.

That's good, because that's what the rule says. :)

As Rut pointed out previously, if there's any question, it's a no-call.

tjones1 Tue Dec 22, 2009 02:09pm

Just to add...

Interp from 2000-2001:

SITUATION 5: A1 steals the ball from B2 and is on a breakaway. B3 is attempting to catch A1 but is trailing the play. As A1 attempts a lay up, B3 tries to block the shot and fails. During B3’s attempt to block the shot, his/her hand slaps the backboard. RULING: Even though the contact with the backboard was very obvious, it was not an intentional act and would not be ruled illegal. COMMENT: No doubt the coach and spectators of Team A will protest that a technical foul should have been called on B3. The covering official must base his/her decision on the intent of the play. (10-3-6)

Back In The Saddle Tue Dec 22, 2009 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644560)
Play-On is soccer, not basketball :-)

It works quite well in basketball too. It's especially useful when the table blows the horn during play.

rsox34 Tue Dec 22, 2009 03:12pm

And for the 50th time...
 
Why is this topic--slapping the backboard and penalty--so difficult for several officials? Every other day, somebody new posts this subject to the discussion board. It's very simple--slapping the backboard is either a technical foul or nothing (if you judge the slapper was making a legitimate block attempt.)

Back In The Saddle Tue Dec 22, 2009 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsox34 (Post 644874)
Why is this topic--slapping the backboard and penalty--so difficult for several officials? Every other day, somebody new posts this subject to the discussion board. It's very simple--slapping the backboard is either a technical foul or nothing (if you judge the slapper was making a legitimate block attempt.)

My only question is...is it the same folks that want to go to the AP on every IW? ;)

Adam Tue Dec 22, 2009 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 644884)
My only question is...is it the same folks that want to go to the AP on every IW? ;)

Yep, and they also call "first to touch" violations when players come in from legally being out of bounds and legally catch a pass.

BillyMac Tue Dec 22, 2009 08:59pm

Don't they know it's the end of the world ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rsox34 (Post 644874)
Why is this topic, slapping the backboard and penalty, so difficult for several officials?

Why does the sun go on shining?
Why does the sea rush to shore?
Why do the birds go on singing?
Why do the stars glow above?
Why does my heart go on beating?
Why do these eyes of mine cry?

It ended when you said goodbye.

tjones1 Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 644884)
My only question is...is it the same folks that want to go to the AP on every IW? ;)

...or go AP automatically when there's no team control.

tjones1 Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:55pm

One additional note... this was part of the 2008-2009 POEs.

4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD.
The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that "intentionally slapping or striking the backboard" is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit as intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legititmate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).

Scratch85 Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 644884)
My only question is...is it the same folks that want to go to the AP on every IW? ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 645016)
...or go AP automatically when there's no team control.

BITS signature says it perfectly. I've been trying to say that for years but it never came out as well as BITS says it. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1