The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Mistake... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56002-mistake.html)

sseltser Tue Dec 22, 2009 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644955)
How? He hasn't established position while in air and cannot until he is on the ground. You can't call a walk if this happens.

EDIT: to make sure we're all on the same page, I'm talking if the player comes directly on the butt, not touching his/her foot at all. It's a walk if he/she touches a foot first and then lands on the butt, but I thought if the player just falls to the floor without touching the foot it cannot be a walk until another part of the body touches the floor.

See post #2 in this thread... there isn't an exception for "not touching the floor with the foot" or anything else like that.

I asked this same question 2 - 3 years ago on here, because I did exactly that several times when I played (I played goalie in soccer and so I used some of those instincts in diving for a ball and catching it. I never realized I traveled every time I came to the floor... sometimes it was called, sometimes it wasn't).

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 22, 2009 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644955)
How? He hasn't established position while in air and cannot until he is on the ground. You can't call a walk if this happens.

EDIT: to make sure we're all on the same page, I'm talking if the player comes directly on the butt, not touching his/her foot at all. It's a walk if he/she touches a foot first and then lands on the butt, but I thought if the player just falls to the floor without touching the foot it cannot be a walk until another part of the body touches the floor.

You thought wrong.

That's an absolutely basic call. If a player secures possession in the air and then falls to the floor, it was, is and always will be traveling.

See case book play 4.44.5SitA(b).

representing Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 644966)
You thought wrong.

That's an absolutely basic call. If a player secures possession in the air and then falls to the floor, it was, is and always will be traveling.

See case book play 4.44.5SitA(b).

Wow, I stand corrected. This has happened several times to me (rare over 6 seasons) and I don't think I've ever called it once. Thanks for correcting me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1