The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Fouling on 3-pt. Attempts (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55920-fouling-3-pt-attempts.html)

biggravy Tue Dec 15, 2009 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 642673)
A1, in the process of shooting a 3-pt. shot is fouled by B2. The shot attempt is successful. Accoding to the case play listed in "Officiating Basketball", A1 is then going to shoot 2 Free throws.

How often does something like this happen?

I know the ruling is in process of shooting a 3-pt. shot that's missed, that 3 free throws are awarded, but hadn't until now heard of 2 free throws being allowed after a 3-pt. attempt was successful after being fouled.

But was his shirt tucked in?

grunewar Wed Dec 16, 2009 06:31am

Had one last night.....
 
FB game last night. V up by two. 2.7 secs left in the half. V inbounding the ball on the endline after made basket. I am new L. Only two V and H players in the backcourt (to include inbounder). I move downcourt to cover my area/players.

Ball inbounded to V2 who takes a few dribbles and heaves a shot from the backcourt around the foul line extended. TWEEEET! Buzzer. Me. :eek:

Partner called a foul on a three-point shot for V. H coach goes nuts - at his player for being stupid. Partner said H player ran right into shooter.

Amazingly, the V player made all three shots. V eventually won by six.......

Never had a three-point foul called that far away before.

constable Wed Dec 16, 2009 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 642673)
A1, in the process of shooting a 3-pt. shot is fouled by B2. The shot attempt is successful. Accoding to the case play listed in "Officiating Basketball", A1 is then going to shoot 2 Free throws.

How often does something like this happen?

I know the ruling is in process of shooting a 3-pt. shot that's missed, that 3 free throws are awarded, but hadn't until now heard of 2 free throws being allowed after a 3-pt. attempt was successful after being fouled.

2 if intentional, 1 if not.

I've heard more about this "Officiating Basketball" book in the past 10 minutes of perusing this forum then I ever have before.

It was published in 05. We are 15 days away from 2010- I think we should start referring to the 09/10 rule and case books.

Raymond Wed Dec 16, 2009 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 642908)
FB game last night. V up by two. 2.7 secs left in the half. V inbounding the ball on the endline after made basket. I am new L. Only two V and H players in the backcourt (to include inbounder). I move downcourt to cover my area/players.

Ball inbounded to V2 who takes a few dribbles and heaves a shot from the backcourt around the foul line extended. TWEEEET! Buzzer. Me. :eek:

Partner called a foul on a three-point shot for V. H coach goes nuts - at his player for being stupid. Partner said H player ran right into shooter.

Amazingly, the V player made all three shots. V eventually won by six.......

Never had a three-point foul called that far away before.

I've called one before. 2/3's of the length of the court, defender thought he could get a free whack at the shooter because of the situation.

chseagle Wed Dec 16, 2009 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 642822)
But was his shirt tucked in?

I would have no idea if shirt was tucked in or not, the case play didn't say LMAO.

Anywho, isn't that up to the floor officials to let the player know about the jersey being untucked?

Anymore I only mention it if the person's subbing in, which is rare since they're tucking it in while waiting.

representing Wed Dec 16, 2009 08:42pm

In the 2009-2010 NFHS CASE BOOK, this exact situation is given as an example.

on page 28 of the Case Book, under 4.19.3:
B1 is charged with an intentionalfoul on A1 who is in the act of shooting: (a) a successful two-point or three-point try; (b) an unsuccessful two-point try; or (c) an unsuccessful three-point try.

Ruling: in (a) and (b), A1 is awarded two free throws. in (c), A1 is awarded three free throws. In all situations ollowing the free throws, Team A is awarded a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul.

pretty simple and straight forward.

fullor30 Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 642696)
time to get rid of a new poster...


Now, now.......we all started somewhere:)

biggravy Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 643220)
I would have no idea if shirt was tucked in or not, the case play didn't say LMAO.

Anywho, isn't that up to the floor officials to let the player know about the jersey being untucked?

Anymore I only mention it if the person's subbing in, which is rare since they're tucking it in while waiting.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 640731)
I had a similar situation last year for a Girls' C-Squad game, only it was metal bobbie pins & butterfly clips in the hair. She went through warmups and nothing was said. It wasn't till she came to the table to sub-in, that I noticed it, buzzed the floor officials about it & they gave the coach a warning about not following uniform rules/regulations.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 640768)
Actually, Most, if not all, the floor officials I've worked with have appreciated the fact that I've kept myself up to date on uniform regulations & catching things that wouldn't of been caught otherwise.

I've done the same thing during dead ball situations where a player is on the floor with the jersey untucked.

So which is it?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1