![]() |
fouls at same time
Fouls called at same time against same team in different areas of the floor ... how do you deal with this?
|
false mulitiple foul comes to mind.
|
Quote:
One foul must be determined to have occurred prior to the other or a paradox is created under the current rules, as the NFHS does not have a procedure for handling simultaneous fouls by the same team which do not occur against a single opponent. |
Quote:
|
My answer was to determine which one was first and go with that.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I recall there being a previous thread on this situation on this forum. One of the questions that I posed in trying to help us determine how to properly handle it was to consider what to do if Team B had five team fouls when B1 fouled A1 and at the exact same time B3 fouled A3. Now penalizing both fouls would result in there being seven team fouls against B, so which player from Team A gets awarded the 1-and-1? As I've previously written the NFHS offers no solution. |
Another rule 2-3 candidate.
Two possible solutions I can see. Declare that one foul happened first and penalize that one. Declare it a double foul with an * beside it and proceed from POI. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Call it a multiple foul with an * beside it. Award free throws if in bonus. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
who first? flip my little mental coin.........usually reserved for out of bounds plays |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
You think the sixth foul puts you in the bonus?? Yikes! :rolleyes: |
Quote:
Play on. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
"Pleased To Meet You"
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
I've forgotten your solution to the OP. Declare that one came first? I think, in reality, that's what most of us would do. |
Quote:
-Josh |
this was on the KHSAA test
I just took my online test - a question about where the ball is put in play after simultaneous fouls was on there.
Case book, 4.19.10 Simultaneous foul b1 fouls dribbling a1 near the division line. At approximately the same time, a2 fouls b2 in the lane near Team A's basket. Ruling: This is a simultaneous personal foul. B1 and A2 are charged with personal fouls. the ball shall be put back in play at the point of interruption. Team A is awarded a throw in on the sideline nearest to where the ball was located when the fouls occurred. |
Quote:
It seems that you missed that important point. ;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am. |