The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   whats the best captains speech that you have heard?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55643-whats-best-captains-speech-you-have-heard.html)

Rich Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 639592)
I guess I don't really know why I ask for a speaking captain. Probably because everyone else around here does it. Is it really all that necessary?

The official's manual specifies that you confirm with a captain that the team is ready for the opening jump.

I still do this. I've been doing it for 23 years now and it's the only real link to the past I have since everything else has changed (it seems).

Smitty Fri Dec 04, 2009 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 639600)
The official's manual specifies that you confirm with a captain that the team is ready for the opening jump.

I still do this. I've been doing it for 23 years now and it's the only real link to the past I have since everything else has changed (it seems).

Does that require a speaking captain? Any captain should be able to do this. I don't ask anyone if they're ready for the jump. I never ask for a speaking captain. I also rarely remember who the captains are once that little meeting is over. If I need a captain during the game, I ask for one.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 04, 2009 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 639628)
Does that require a speaking captain? Any captain should be able to do this. I don't ask anyone if they're ready for the jump. I never ask for a speaking captain. I also rarely remember who the captains are once that little meeting is over. If I need a captain during the game, I ask for one.

"Any captain?" There can be only one. 3-1

NCAA AR41 gives additional information, that I tend to follow in HS games.

Note that none of this prohibits an official from speaking to anyone who is polite.