The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Administration Technical (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55616-administration-technical.html)

Refsmitty Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:48am

Administration Technical
 
I know it has been discussed B4 but I can't find it. If a team does not have the book ready at the 10 minute mark and a Technical is assessed on Team A - Team A shoots 2 free throws... who gets the ball to begin the game - or is it a jump ball? Sorry - brain fart!:rolleyes:

Adam Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 638919)
I know it has been discussed B4 but I can't find it. If a team does not have the book ready at the 10 minute mark and a Technical is assessed on Team A - Team A shoots 2 free throws... who gets the ball to begin the game - or is it a jump ball? Sorry - brain fart!:rolleyes:

In NFHS rules, the penalty for any T is the same (except for the whole "who gets the T" question). Two shots and the ball.

Refsmitty Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:50am

Thanks Snaq

Berkut Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:52am

...and the team you assessed the T on gets the arrow.

IREFU2 Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:53am

And 1 team foul should be put on the board as well!

SamIAm Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 638919)
I know it has been discussed B4 but I can't find it. If a team does not have the book ready at the 10 minute mark and a Technical is assessed on Team A - Team A shoots 2 free throws... who gets the ball to begin the game - or is it a jump ball? Sorry - brain fart!:rolleyes:

It is no telling as you have yet to issue T's to team B's coach who is angry that you let team A shoot team B's freethrows. Who knows what might unfold while that is going on. :D

Refsmitty Tue Dec 01, 2009 01:24pm

Wouldn't that be the cat's meow!!! :D

Back In The Saddle Tue Dec 01, 2009 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berkut (Post 638927)
...and the team you assessed the T on gets the arrow.

...once the the ball is at the thrower's disposal for the throw-in. If there are other "complications" in the mean time, that distinction may be important.

SAK Tue Dec 01, 2009 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 638919)
I know it has been discussed B4 but I can't find it. If a team does not have the book ready at the 10 minute mark and a Technical is assessed on Team A - Team A shoots 2 free throws... who gets the ball to begin the game - or is it a jump ball? Sorry - brain fart!:rolleyes:

The T is not for the book not being ready. That portion does not matter. I don't have my book with me but the T is given if the starters are not identified and the roster is not given. All the coach has to do is hand a sheet of paper with all the names and numbers with the starters identified to the scorer and then it is up to the scorer to enter it to the book. If the T was for the book not being ready what would prevent the home team scorer from waiting till after the 10 minute mark every time? Lets make sure we don't penalize improperly on this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1