![]() |
|
|
|||
You phrase the question as "stay in your primary OR get the obvious?" The answer is "Stay in your primary AND get the obvious."
You need to get it when it needs to be got. You need to leave it alone when it's your partner's call. All officials have different definitions of when a play falls into which category. (In this play, was it a block/charge or was it a BLOCK/CHARGE? Was it "they're letting them play" or was it "someone is going to get killed?" Was it "oh my gosh" or OMFG? Did the primary official have a look, or was he blocked / straightlined?) Last edited by bob jenkins; Wed Nov 25, 2009 at 09:25am. |
|
|||
OK, your responses are very helpful. I know that there are calls that need to be made regardless of your position- Perhaps my quandry is more that I'm entering my first year of 3 whistle games and all spring and summer I've been told that assignors/supervisors who watch me (and those coming up like me) are primarily looking to see if I stay in my area or if I'm following the ball and calling all over the place.
Once I can show that I can handle the 3 whistle mechanics, calling from the trail will be easier for me. As of now, I try not to call anything in the paint. I have called in the paint, but only after waiting to see if the L or C gets it first, then if I'm positive I saw something the others didn't. Hell, I'm still working on recognizing what side of the rim the ball goes up on and not giving so many "and one's" as the kids get bigger and stronger. Z |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I am not ready to snatch the pebble from your hand
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Not Sure, But I'll Give It A Shot, Off The Rim ...
Quote:
When I coached, yeah, it was the dark side period of my life, I taught my kids the importance of weak side rebounding. When we played zone defense, I actually had my tallest player, and/or, best rebounder, on the left block, not in the middle. Most players are right handed, and most prefer to shoot from the right side, thus most missed shots end up rebounding off to the left side, right into the hands of my best rebounder.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Are we alone here in NJ on this?
In our neck of the woods it matters in a 3p game in terms of who gets first crack at the call in the paint- L or C.
For example, L has A1 in his PCA who pulls up and passes to A2 in the lane. As Team B defenders attempt to defend, A2 takes one dribble directly down the middle of the lane and jumps to the far side of the lane from L and lays the ball in off the glass. As we are taught in NJ that a foul call on the layup should be primarily from the C (as the shot was taken in C's half of the lane), this is why I say I'm still working on noticing that... because if I'm C- it's my call and if I'm L, I'm supposed to give C first crack, but double whistle here is OK, we'll just let C take it if that happens. I believe, but am not certain, that we give up the play to our partner that starts in our PCA and moves to another area- A1 begins a dribble in L's PCA and goes across the lane for a turnaround J- once that ball goes over the middle of the lane- it's C's call (primarily of course). This falls under the "trust your partner" theory, which is great if you trust your partner, not so great otherwise. And if A2 continues down the middle and drops it in over the front of the rim, either L or C can take any foul. And YES! even T can come get it too if need be... See, I'm learning! Z |
|
|||
Its my understanding that you take the primary defender on a drive that originates from your area. Any help defense that may come at the hoop can be taken by other two officials depending on angles.
There is no hard and fast rule, as plays and angles develop, particularly at the bottom of the circle (that is not actually marked on an NCAA court ![]() And block/charge, just depends. Have to hold your whistle if you are L and it is the primary defender. Similarly, must hold your whistle if its help defense and you are C or T. One evaluator told me its fine if you blow it as well, but you better realize you have a double whistle and make eye-contact before giving prelim. |
|
|||
...Angles are the key....
Many times the T if closed down, can make a good rebound call that the C might be straightlined or just asleep. The L should be the last and final whistle, but should not be afraid to call rebounding especially in games "below the rim"
![]()
__________________
www.pbboa.org www.gsoa.org |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
To reach or not reach | Ch1town | Basketball | 104 | Thu Jul 23, 2009 07:41am |
How Did They Reach This Compromise? | cshs81 | Baseball | 12 | Thu Jul 10, 2008 08:02am |
Reach over T | ripcord51 | Basketball | 13 | Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:56am |
Do you reach... | ref18 | Basketball | 25 | Wed Apr 06, 2005 08:03pm |
Reach and other stuff | OverAndBack | Basketball | 10 | Sun Feb 13, 2005 03:40pm |