![]() |
Avoiding Contact
I've run into this play several times already this young season
A1 has a fast break, but he's not all alone. B1 hustles back on D, and sets up in LGP. A1, seeing this, clearly makes a concerted effort to avoid contact. B1 does not move while A1 is avoiding. I've got no call, what do you have? |
Quote:
|
depends,
was there any contact? if not - nothing. However, B1 is not required to move just because A1 does. So if B1 had gained LGP and was in LPG when contacted by A1 whether he was going to basket or making a concerted effort to avoid contact, it is a PC on A1. Would you tell the coach of A1 that you didn't call a block on B1 when they realized they didn't have LGP and were making a concerted effort to get out of A1's way when contact occurred and A1 lost the ball? :confused: |
Quote:
|
Full on contact = Player control foul.
A slight brush as A1 athletically avoids B1, but there is a brush and no displacement = nothing. B1 sliding a hip or knee or shoulder in A1's direction as A1 avoids the contact = Block on B1 Any marginal contact with B1 in LGP would be a pure judgement call on the situation and would vary, depending on if I felt B1 flopped or A1 avoided contact. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Why are we focused on him maintaining LGP? As long as B is able to gain LGP and then does not move towards A, he is fine. A in this scenario is solely responsiple for any and all contact that is made. B has done his job. Now the official must determine if it is enough contact to warrant a player control foul. If it is not then there is nothing to call. If there is bang it and move on. All B has to do is establish his position. He does not need to maintain LGP. He could turn around and duck to try and avoid a big collision and he still is able to maintain status.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Not really. LGP is a status gained by having both feet on the floor and facing an opponent. If I turn my back I am not in LGP. But I still have that section of the floor. Same thing if my back is turned to an opponent and he decided to run me over on his way to the basket. I don't have LGP, but I have the right to my position on the floor.
|
Quote:
4-23-2 talks about "obtaining" legal guarding position. a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent. then 4-23-3 defines it AFTER legal guarding position is obtained: a. b. The guard is NOT required to continue facing the opponent c. d. e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of the imminent contact |
PHP Code:
PHP Code:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Mregor |
Jimmie,
The guys are trying to stress to you the difference between establishing INITIAL LGP and maintaining LGP. You are correct about the requirements to establish ILGP, but they are correct about what can be done while maintaining it. Your statement that turning around means that the defender is no longer in LGP is incorrect. You are correct that LGP is not always required for the foul to be a PC foul. There are several times when the play does not involve a guarding situation, and in those cases LGP has nothing to do with the call. That is when a legal spot on the floor takes priority. You have that right. Their is just a little fine tuning which needs to be done to either your understanding or your communicating of your thoughts in writing. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28am. |