The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket interference v. goal tending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55484-basket-interference-v-goal-tending.html)

Kajun Ref N Texas Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:03am

Rwest is Still Correct
 
Nice job of making your point, rwest.

You have very legitimate arguments for a change to the BI rule, and just because some, maybe most, but I suspect only some, don't agree with you, doesn't make you any less correct.

Nice job.

AKOFL Wed Nov 25, 2009 03:46pm

Case play 10.3.4 A1 tries for a goal and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or(b)B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING: In (a) legal and the basket counts; snd (b) a thechnical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket. I understand A easilly enough but doesn't B seem to be a little strange? Wouldn't it fall under BI. Or is there not enough info here?

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 25, 2009 03:56pm

The case does not specify whether the ball was on the ring or not. And since it doesn't say, we cannot assume the ball was on the ring at the time. If it were, I would be tempted to simply call it BI and move on. However, note that NFHS 10-3-4 specifically includes a try in flight and a try touching the backboard, which do not apply to BI.

ART. 4 . . . Illegally contact the backboard/ring by:
a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

AKOFL Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:01pm

The ring is not touched just the net. Is there any specific case about just the net. ( this might be it:p) The T for slapping or gaining an advantage just mentions the backboard and Ring, not the net

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 638210)
The ring is not touched just the net. Is there any specific case about just the net. ( this might be it:p) The T for slapping or gaining an advantage just mentions the backboard and Ring, not the net

10-3-4b includes "causing the ring to vibrate" along side "slapping or striking the backboard". It places no limits or restrictions on how the ring was made to vibrate. The case specifically states that the pulling on the net caused the ring to vibrate.

So, yeah, this is it. :D

AKOFL Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:17pm

thanks bits.
so if you are going to pull on the net you better hope the rim contacts the ball before i returns to it's original position so you just get BI and not a "T"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1