The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket interference v. goal tending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55484-basket-interference-v-goal-tending.html)

Rita C Fri Nov 20, 2009 02:38am

Basket interference v. goal tending
 
Let me see if I have this straight: Basket interference is at the basket and may or may not involve touching the ball. Goal tending is not necessarily at the basket and only involves touching the ball.

Basket interference can be by offense or defense. goal tending is defense only.

Or can someone else put it better?

Rita

Camron Rust Fri Nov 20, 2009 03:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 637263)
Let me see if I have this straight: Basket interference is at the basket and may or may not involve touching the ball. Goal tending is not necessarily at the basket and only involves touching the ball.

Basket interference can be by offense or defense. goal tending is defense only.

Or can someone else put it better?

Rita

Not quite...

GT is never at the basket (it is always when the ball is entirely outside the cylinder). Otherwise, it is BI.

GT can be by either...it it not limited to the defense but it would be very rare to see it by the offense (I've never seen it).

BillyMac Fri Nov 20, 2009 07:33am

Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
 
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight ,entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:05am

I wish they'd change this
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 637269)
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight ,entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

I agree by rule hitting the backboard is not basket interference, but logically it is. If a player hits the backboard and that prevents the ball from going in, what else is but basket interference? However, until they change the rules, I wont call it. I just don't agree with the rule committee's logic on this one.

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:17am

BI vs GT
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 637263)
Let me see if I have this straight: Basket interference is at the basket and may or may not involve touching the ball. Goal tending is not necessarily at the basket and only involves touching the ball.

Basket interference can be by offense or defense. goal tending is defense only.

Or can someone else put it better?

Rita

Goal Tending require 4 elements and all must be active:

1. A try or tap for goal.
2. On it's downward trajectory
3. Above the Rim
4. It has to have a chance to go in.

Basket Interference has the following elements and only one must be active:

1. Live Ball in the imaginary cylinder
2. Live Ball on the rim or in the basket.

When 1 is active, if the ball is touched we have BI. When 2 is active, if either the ball, rim or net is touched we have BI.

You can have GT by either the Offense or Defense, but as someone else has said, offensive GT is very rare.

You can not have GT when a team shoots at the wrong goal, because by definition this is not a try or tap for goal.

You can have BI when a team shoots at the wrong goal, because BI does not require a try or tap for goal. It only requires that the ball be live and either in the cylinder or in/on the basket. For instance, if A1 is inbounding the ball and passes the ball to A2 on the other side of the basket. If the ball is in the imaginary cylinder when B2 touches the ball, score 2 points to team A for BI.

chartrusepengui Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637271)
I agree by rule hitting the backboard is not basket interference, but logically it is. If a player hits the backboard and that prevents the ball from going in, what else is but basket interference? However, until they change the rules, I wont call it. I just don't agree with the rule committee's logic on this one.

If the player intentionally strikes the backboard to ensure that the ball will not go into the basket - it is not basket interference - it is a technical foul. However, you must deem the act intentional - not accidental.

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:30am

I agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 637274)
If the player intentionally strikes the backboard to ensure that the ball will not go into the basket - it is not basket interference - it is a technical foul. However, you must deem the act intentional - not accidental.

I realize that. I'm talking about on a try for goal when the defender attempts to block the shot. If he hits the rim or net when attempting to block the shot we have BI, assuming the other factors are in play. Why not the backboard? I agree by rule we have nothing. But logic says it is basket interference. Again, I'm not talking about intentionally hitting the backboard.

chartrusepengui Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:35am

I don't believe that if the player was trying to block a shot, and accidentally hits the backboard, he is going to strike it so hard as to have the same effect on the play as intentionally striking the backboard without trying to block the shot.

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:40am

There we will have to disagree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 637276)
I don't believe that if the player was trying to block a shot, and accidentally hits the backboard, he is going to strike it so hard as to have the same effect on the play as intentionally striking the backboard without trying to block the shot.

I had a scrimmage the other night where if the defender had hit the backboard it could have effected the ball going in the basket. And besides, even when we call a Technical, I think we should be able to count the basket. They prevented the ball from going in. I know by rule we can't and I won't until, if ever, they change the rule. It just doesn't make since to me to allow the defense to do that and not count the basket.

bob jenkins Fri Nov 20, 2009 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637277)
I had a scrimmage the other night where if the defender had hit the backboard it could have effected the ball going in the basket.

Then it shouldn't matter since the defense was already penalized by causing the ball to go in the basket.

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 09:16am

Ok how's this
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 637285)
Then it shouldn't matter since the defense was already penalized by causing the ball to go in the basket.

I had a scrimmage the other night where if the defender had hit the backboard it could have affected the result of the play.

chartrusepengui Fri Nov 20, 2009 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637286)
I had a scrimmage the other night where if the defender had hit the backboard it could have affected the result of the play.

But apparently the defender didn't hit the backboard. :D

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 09:22am

No, he didn't
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 637288)
But apparently the defender didn't hit the backboard. :D

However, if he did it would have been with enough force, in my opinion, to have an affect on the outcome. :)

Adam Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637289)
However, if he did it would have been with enough force, in my opinion, to have an affect on the outcome. :)

I think it's such a rare event the rules committee would rather not include the backboard in the BI rule.

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637294)
I think it's such a rare event the rules committee would rather not include the backboard in the BI rule.

I also think that to enact such a provision would cause defenders to become somewhat tentative when making perfectly legitimate defensive plays for fear they may accidentally give the opponents a basket. All over a fairly rare situation that would even more rarely result in a violation. And a violation that would involve a far more subjective judgment than any other part of the BI rule.

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:43am

I don't agree with all of your reasoning
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637300)
I also think that to enact such a provision would cause defenders to become somewhat tentative when making perfectly legitimate defensive plays for fear they may accidentally give the opponents a basket. All over a fairly rare situation that would even more rarely result in a violation. And a violation that would involve a far more subjective judgment than any other part of the BI rule.

I agree with the rarity of the situation. However, there is no more subjective judgment involved with hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim or in the basket than touching the net or the rim under the same set of circumstances. If the ball is on the rim and the defense touches the net, don't you call BI? How is touching the net less subjective than touching the backboard? It's not.

Adam Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637301)
I agree with the rarity of the situation. However, there is no more subjective judgment involved with hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim or in the basket than touching the net or the rim under the same set of circumstances. If the ball is on the rim and the defense touches the net, don't you call BI? How is touching the net less subjective than touching the backboard? It's not.

I wasn't aware you were asking for the backboard to be considered just like the rim in this case. I thought you wanted us to be able to call it if the slap affected the shot. That would be subjective.

If you're wanting the backboard to be off limits like the rim, I think that's too draconian for the rarity of the play. The other thing here is that in this play, the backboard is rarely, if ever, hit while the ball is in the cylinder.

CMHCoachNRef Fri Nov 20, 2009 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637300)
I also think that to enact such a provision would cause defenders to become somewhat tentative when making perfectly legitimate defensive plays for fear they may accidentally give the opponents a basket. All over a fairly rare situation that would even more rarely result in a violation. And a violation that would involve a far more subjective judgment than any other part of the BI rule.

I have seen this type of play happen more and more frequently. We now have to subjectively decide if the slap of the backboard was intentional or an attempt to block the shot. If we could simply call BI for a slap against the board that missed the ball, BUT the slap caused the basket to move slightly while the ball was on it would seem to be a fairly simple solution.

How many of you are going to call goaltending on the offensive team -- knowing what the penalty is for goaltending?

AKOFL Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 637326)
I have seen this type of play happen more and more frequently. We now have to subjectively decide if the slap of the backboard was intentional or an attempt to block the shot. If we could simply call BI for a slap against the board that missed the ball, BUT the slap caused the basket to move slightly while the ball was on it would seem to be a fairly simple solution.

How many of you are going to call goaltending on the offensive team -- knowing what the penalty is for goaltending?

I've seen some backboards dance pretty good after a attempted block and in my opinion caused the ball to roll off the rim. You have no call to make but there is an advantage given to one team in this case which is not covered in the rules.
As for the not calling goaltending on the offensive team, I am confused:confused: why wouldn't we want to call that if it happens?

Adam Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:26pm

It's covered in the rules: it's specifically allowed.

AKOFL Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:33pm

I see you are after me today. the rules are intended to be a level playing field.correct? How is it you are not allowed to touch the rim or net and cause it to move into the ball alltering the shot but you can do the same thing by just contacting the back board. does that make any sense? I guess it is a advantage for both teams to use.:)

BillyMac Fri Nov 20, 2009 07:55pm

The Fifth Element ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637273)
Goaltending require four elements and all must be active:
1. A try or tap for goal.
2. On it's downward trajectory
3. Above the rim
4. It has to have a chance to go in.

I've heard an interpreter add a fifth element: the ball must be outside the cylinder. I guess his reasoning is that if it's inside the cylinder, then it's basket interference rather than goaltending.

Comments?

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:05pm

Sounds Good to me
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 637397)
I've heard an interpreter add a fifth element: the ball must be outside the cylinder. I guess his reasoning is that if it's inside the cylinder, then it's basket interference rather than goaltending.

Comments?

Although, I don't really believe we need to add a 5th element because the definition of BI covers this scenario. But if someone wants to use this to help them remember, go for it.

Adam Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 637385)
I see you are after me today. the rules are intended to be a level playing field.correct? How is it you are not allowed to touch the rim or net and cause it to move into the ball alltering the shot but you can do the same thing by just contacting the back board. does that make any sense? I guess it is a advantage for both teams to use.:)

Didn't mean to come across as "after" you.

What do you suggest?

1. Treat the backboard like the rim?
2. leave a subjective decision to the official on whether it altered or affected the shot?
3. another option?

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 637326)
I have seen this type of play happen more and more frequently. We now have to subjectively decide if the slap of the backboard was intentional or an attempt to block the shot. If we could simply call BI for a slap against the board that missed the ball, BUT the slap caused the basket to move slightly while the ball was on it would seem to be a fairly simple solution.

How many of you are going to call goaltending on the offensive team -- knowing what the penalty is for goaltending?

This is one of those situations that may actually be easier to see from the bench, where the viewer is stationary. On the move, a little rim wiggle is going to be more difficult to detect. And I still contend whether or not the ball would have gone in had the hitting of the backboard not caused the rim to vibrate, is going to be a pretty subjective judgment most of the time.

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:39pm

No more so than the net or rim
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637415)
This is one of those situations that may actually be easier to see from the bench, where the viewer is stationary. On the move, a little rim wiggle is going to be more difficult to detect. And I still contend whether or not the ball would have gone in had the hitting of the backboard not caused the rim to vibrate, is going to be a pretty subjective judgment most of the time.

I am not suggesting that the official decide if the contact with the backboard affected the shot any more than an official judges the affect of contacting the net or rim. All I'm suggesting is that the same judgment be used when the defense hits the backboard. Was the ball on the rim or in the basket when contact occurred? It requires no more judgment than we use in the other BI scenarios. Absolutely no more. Zero!

rwest Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:44pm

OPtion 1
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637413)
Didn't mean to come across as "after" you.

What do you suggest?

1. Treat the backboard like the rim?
2. leave a subjective decision to the official on whether it altered or affected the shot?
3. another option?

No one has suggested making this require any more judgment than what is already needed for the other BI scenarios. The backboard needs to be treated the same as the rim and net. It can have as much an affect as hitting the net. However, I'm not asking that the official judge the affect. Only whether or not the backboard was hit while the ball was on the rim or in the basket. Just like we do today for the rim and net.

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:58pm

I don't like it, but I understand what you're suggesting now.

Adam Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637419)
No one has suggested making this require any more judgment than what is already needed for the other BI scenarios. The backboard needs to be treated the same as the rim and net. It can have as much an affect as hitting the net. However, I'm not asking that the official judge the affect. Only whether or not the backboard was hit while the ball was on the rim or in the basket. Just like we do today for the rim and net.

This wouldn't solve anything, because 99% of these rare plays involve the backboard being slapped before the ball gets into the cylinder.

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2009 09:11am

Just Asking ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637415)
...hitting of the backboard not caused the rim to vibrate, is going to be a pretty subjective judgment most of the time.

I'm not sure of this, and I don't have my books from that far back, but when I first started 29 years ago, didn't we have a similar rule. If contact with the backboard caused it to "move" (maybe the word was "vibrate") during a try, then we called a technical foul, even if it was a legitimate attempt at a block? And, again, I'm not sure of this, back then a touch by a defensive player ended the try, so if ball was touched during a block attempt, the try ended, and no matter how much the backboard moved, or vibrated, a technical foul couldn't be called. I can remember coaches questioning a noncall, with me responding, "Coach, the ball was touched." If the defensive player attempted to block a shot, missed the block, and slapped the backboard so hard that it vibrated during the try, then a technical foul was called, but, like today, we couldn't award the basket if the shot missed due to the vibration.

Oh, those were the good old days. Now let me tell you all a story about something called a 28 foot hash mark. Or would you rather hear a science lesson about an anomaly in the space time continuum called a change of status?

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2009 02:09pm

Even Less Likely To Occur ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637428)
This wouldn't solve anything, because 99% of these rare plays involve the backboard being slapped before the ball gets into the cylinder.

More to the point, 99% of the time the backboard gets slapped before the ball is on the rim or in the basket, which I think is what rwest is suggesting. If he wants the backboard to be treated like the rim and net, then slapping the backboard while the ball was in the cylinder wouldn't be basket interference, according to how I'm reading rwest's post. I think he means that slapping the backboard while the ball is on the rim or in the basket would be basket interference, and as Snaqwells has already pointed out, not only does the slap usually occur before the ball gets into the cylinder, it almost always occurs before the ball is on the rim or in the basket.

AKOFL Sat Nov 21, 2009 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637428)
This wouldn't solve anything, because 99% of these rare plays involve the backboard being slapped before the ball gets into the cylinder.

So is a T for slapping the backboard and yet the rule is there. I'm sure they will not change the rule for a few of us, but can you admitt the effect is the same for contacting the basket or net and contacting the backboard which moves the the rim or net. Just seems like the same outcome by different means which are treated different. What a crybaby, I know:)

Adam Sat Nov 21, 2009 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 637485)
So is a T for slapping the backboard and yet the rule is there. I'm sure they will not change the rule for a few of us, but can you admitt the effect is the same for contacting the basket or net and contacting the backboard which moves the the rim or net. Just seems like the same outcome by different means which are treated different. What a crybaby, I know:)

Don't take this personally, I argue with everyone. :)

I think part of the difference is the logistics of adding this to the rule. The rule is there more for the unsportsmanlike intent than for the result with regard to the shot. It's more like the rule about removing the jerseys.

Another reason for the exclusion is, again, the percentage of slaps that affect the shot is so low.

AKOFL Sun Nov 22, 2009 05:12pm

Not taking it personaly. just wondering if you see our point or not.:D

Adam Sun Nov 22, 2009 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 637597)
Not taking it personaly. just wondering if you see our point or not.:D

I see it, I've been arguing against it. :)

AKOFL Mon Nov 23, 2009 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637602)
I see it, I've been arguing against it. :)

I would expect nothing less.:D

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 01:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 637451)
I'm not sure of this, and I don't have my books from that far back, but when I first started 29 years ago, didn't we have a similar rule. If contact with the backboard caused it to "move" (maybe the word was "vibrate") during a try, then we called a technical foul, even if it was a legitimate attempt at a block? And, again, I'm not sure of this, back then a touch by a defensive player ended the try, so if ball was touched during a block attempt, the try ended, and no matter how much the backboard moved, or vibrated, a technical foul couldn't be called. I can remember coaches questioning a noncall, with me responding, "Coach, the ball was touched." If the defensive player attempted to block a shot, missed the block, and slapped the backboard so hard that it vibrated during the try, then a technical foul was called, but, like today, we couldn't award the basket if the shot missed due to the vibration.

Oh, those were the good old days. Now let me tell you all a story about something called a 28 foot hash mark. Or would you rather hear a science lesson about an anomaly in the space time continuum called a change of status?

BillyMac, sometimes I cannot help but smile when I read your posts.

Two thoughts:

1. Back when you were first starting out, I believe the rules about slapping the backboard and about BI in general were based mostly on the fragility of the peach baskets being used. :D

2. I had an AAU coach recently question a 5 second call using verbiage clearly indicating his understanding of the rule has not been updated since the days of the 28' mark. While I do remember the existence of the rule, it was from hanging out with my father while he was studying the rules during his officiating career. ;)

rwest Mon Nov 23, 2009 07:50am

I agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 637480)
More to the point, 99% of the time the backboard gets slapped before the ball is on the rim or in the basket, which I think is what rwest is suggesting. If he wants the backboard to be treated like the rim and net, then slapping the backboard while the ball was in the cylinder wouldn't be basket interference, according to how I'm reading rwest's post. I think he means that slapping the backboard while the ball is on the rim or in the basket would be basket interference, and as Snaqwells has already pointed out, not only does the slap usually occur before the ball gets into the cylinder, it almost always occurs before the ball is on the rim or in the basket.

Most of the time when the backboard is hit, the ball will not be on the rim or in the basket. 99.99% of the time the hit will have occurred shortly after the release and the ball would more than likely still be on its way up or down but not in contact with the basket. However, it just doesn't make logically sense to allow the backboard to be hit under the same set of circumstances that you won't allow the net or rim. And in those cases where the ball is on the rim and the player does it intentionally, I think we should have both BI and a Technical. If a player hits the backboard and it prevents the ball from going in while it is in contact with the basket how can this not be BI, logically speaking. I know it's not by rule and by rule I won't award the points. But no one can make a logical argument that this is not interfering with a try for goal.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637670)
Most of the time when the backboard is hit, the ball will not be on the rim or in the basket. 99.99% of the time the hit will have occurred shortly after the release and the ball would more than likely still be on its way up or down but not in contact with the basket. However, it just doesn't make logically sense to allow the backboard to be hit under the same set of circumstances that you won't allow the net or rim. And in those cases where the ball is on the rim and the player does it intentionally, I think we should have both BI and a Technical. If a player hits the backboard and it prevents the ball from going in while it is in contact with the basket how can this not be BI, logically speaking. I know it's not by rule and by rule I won't award the points. But no one can make a logical argument that this is not interfering with a try for goal.

I have to ask this question, if you're asking that the BI rule be expanded to include the backboard.
How many times have you actually seen a play that you could have called BI under this proposed change? I mean, how many times have you seen a player strike the backboard while the ball is in the cylinder or on the rim?
That's the times you could have called it. Now, further reduce that to the number of times you have seen that play, and it shook the rim enough to cause the ball to not go into the basket? That's the extent of the "need" for this change.

rwest Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:38am

Not Often,however....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637699)
I have to ask this question, if you're asking that the BI rule be expanded to include the backboard.
How many times have you actually seen a play that you could have called BI under this proposed change? I mean, how many times have you seen a player strike the backboard while the ball is in the cylinder or on the rim?
That's the times you could have called it. Now, further reduce that to the number of times you have seen that play, and it shook the rim enough to cause the ball to not go into the basket? That's the extent of the "need" for this change.

The rarity of such an event should not preclude a rule to penalize the violation. How many times have you seen a multiple foul called? I've seen it the same number of times a player has hit the backboard with the ball on the rim: 0. How many times have you called a game with a fan shaped backboard? Yet we have special rules for them. It's not a valid argument to say since it doesn't happen that often we shouldn't include it in the rule book. You are making it sound like this is a big deal. It's not. Just add hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim to the BI definition. It requires no additional judgment on the part of the officials.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:43am

The multiple foul exists as a protection from a shooter getting clobbered after he's been fouled.
The committee clearly wants to allow a defender the freedom of movement on an attempt to block a shot, and adding this restriction would reduce that freedom of movement with, essentially, zero real benefit.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:30pm

The multiple foul rule may very well exist because it was needed at one point to clean up the game. And it's continued existence prevents a return to jungle law.

rwest Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:52pm

What about the fan shaped back board?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637727)
The multiple foul rule may very well exist because it was needed at one point to clean up the game. And it's continued existence prevents a return to jungle law.

Probably so. However, the arguments made to preclude this from the rule book don't bear up to scrutiny in my opinion. It's not like I'm asking for another rule. If that were the case then the frequency argument might have some force. I'm asking for an extension to the BI definition. I'm not asking for anything that would require any additional judgment on the part of the official.

The main argument I'm hearing against this is it doesn't happen very often. Neither are gyms with fan shaped backboards, but we have a rule for it. I bet the frequency of hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim is greater than the number of high school gyms with fan shaped backboards.

If a player hits the backboard in disgust while the ball is on the rim, we T up the offender and if the ball falls of the rim we can't award a basket. How does that make any sense?

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:52pm

Actually, I'd like to revise my statement on the multiple foul rule.

I think it's merely in there as a natural result of certain definitions. Since the ball doesn't become dead on a shooting foul until the try ends, there has to be some sort of process in place to legally deal with a situation where a shooter gets fouled more than once.

Even though we will virtually always pick one, there must be a way to deal with the multiple since it is a distinct possibility according to the rules.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637732)
Probably so. However, the arguments made to preclude this from the rule book don't bear up to scrutiny in my opinion. It's not like I'm asking for another rule. If that were the case then the frequency argument might have some force. I'm asking for an extension to the BI definition. I'm not asking for anything that would require any additional judgment on the part of the official.

The main argument I'm hearing against this is it doesn't happen very often. Neither are gyms with fan shaped backboards, but we have a rule for it. I bet the frequency of hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim is greater than the number of high school gyms with fan shaped backboards.

If a player hits the backboard in disgust while the ball is on the rim, we T up the offender and if the ball falls of the rim we can't award a basket. How does that make any sense?

I hate doing this, but allow me to quote myself:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637712)
The committee clearly wants to allow a defender the freedom of movement on an attempt to block a shot, and adding this restriction would reduce that freedom of movement with, essentially, zero real benefit.

My point is not that we shouldn't deal with it simply because it hardly ever happens. My point is that the benefits (virtually nil) are not worth the cost of reducing the freedom of movement the rules committee wants to allow on this defensive play.

My secondary point is that the multiple foul is not a good comparison. Apples and PCs.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 23, 2009 02:57pm

I've posted this several times now in different threads, so it's all just cut-and-pasted. But if it helps, here it is again:

In order to have GT, there must be a try for goal. For BI, it doesn't matter how the ball gets on the rim or in the cylinder. Could be a pass or a deflection. But for GT, it must be a try.

Goaltending:

1. Must be a try.
2. Must be on the way down.
3. Must be completely outside the cylinder.
4. Must be completely above the rim.
5. Must have a chance to go in.

Basket Interference:

1. Can't touch the ball if it's in the cylinder.
2. Can't touch the basket or ball if it's on or in the basket.
3. Can't touch the ball (even outside the cylinder) after reaching through the basket.
4. If rim is moved, it can't contact the ball before returning to its original position.

rwest Mon Nov 23, 2009 04:28pm

I understand your point, however
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637736)
I hate doing this, but allow me to quote myself:



My point is not that we shouldn't deal with it simply because it hardly ever happens. My point is that the benefits (virtually nil) are not worth the cost of reducing the freedom of movement the rules committee wants to allow on this defensive play.

My secondary point is that the multiple foul is not a good comparison. Apples and PCs.

My multiple foul comparison was used to refute your original assertion that we shouldn't have a rule simply because its frequency of occurrence is low. So, it was on point. As was the fan shaped backboard rule, which you have yet to address.

So lets move on to your next argument that the committee doesn't want to restrict freedom of movement. Is this an assertion based on your interpretation or have you seen this in writing? I'm not accusing you of anything, just wanted to know where this is coming from.

Regardless of its source, let's look at this argument. What you are saying is that the committee is allowing the defense to interfere with the offenses chance to score when attempting to block a shot by hitting the backboard but a similar attempt that might hit the rim or net is penalized. Also, if it is rare (as you suggest and I agree) that the ball will be on the rim, then the defender shouldn't be worried about hitting the backboard when attempting to block the shot. Since this scenario is rare, there is no restriction (or virtually none) on the defenders movement. If on the rare occasion that it is on the rim, this should be considered BI.

Bottom line: You can't argue that there is restriction of movement if this scenario is rare.

We are also just looking at the attempt to block a shot. Another scenario is hitting the backboard in frustration. If this should occur while the ball is on the rim, by rule we don't have BI. Logically we do, but not by rule. We just have a technical foul. I don't believe this is enough of a penalty. The basket should count.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 04:52pm

My original assertion was incomplete, with regard to the rarity of the event negating any perceived need for a rule change. First of all, I would argue that your multiple foul comparison doesn't address the frequency argument, because it's not in the book to prohibit a rare event. It's in the book to fill a logical hole in the rules; otherwise the penalty for two defenders fouling the same shooter would be four free throws.

As for the fan-shaped backboard, this is a relic rule that addresses an eqipment difference that would otherwise create a similar hole in the rules with regard to OOB violations.

This leads to my next point:

Second, I haven't said we shouldn't have a rule due to a low frequency. (A better example of this would be the 10 second rule for free throws.) I will say that the cure for a low frequency event should come with little to no adverse side-effects. The adverse side effect here would be a limitation (even if rare) of the freedom of movement for a defender attempting to block a shot near the rim. The effect on players having to adjust will be much larger than the perceived benefits of solving a problem that doesn't seem to exist.

As for the 10 second rule, the comparison falls apart due to two reasons. There are zero adverse affects from the rule, and it is a problem that would likely manifest itself if the rule were removed. Enterprising coaches would start using free throws as timeouts, instructing their shooters to take their time.

As for the intent of the rules committee, I'll admit to deducing that intent from the very clear wording in the TF rule, stating that if it's a legitimate block attempt it's legal. I'm assuming they have a reason, and that's the simplest one I can think of.

I will add that I wouldn't be against an alteration to the TF rule on this, allowing for the awarding of points if, in the judgment of the official, the rim rattling resulting from the unsportsmanlike smack on the backboard prevents the ball from entering the basket. While I think the TF is enough, I wouldn't have a problem with adding the points.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637732)
Probably so. However, the arguments made to preclude this from the rule book don't bear up to scrutiny in my opinion. It's not like I'm asking for another rule. If that were the case then the frequency argument might have some force. I'm asking for an extension to the BI definition. I'm not asking for anything that would require any additional judgment on the part of the official.

But you are asking to take an action that is currently legal and make it illegal. What form it might take in the rules book is only part of the story. The rest of the world would perceive it to be a new rule: "New rule this year guys, you cannot touch the backboard when blocking a shot, or it could be called goal tending." It would have some impact on nearly all shot blocking around the basket.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637732)
If a player hits the backboard in disgust while the ball is on the rim, we T up the offender and if the ball falls of the rim we can't award a basket. How does that make any sense?

Since the mere fact that a slap on the backboard caused a ball to fall off the rim isn't a violation, a T for unsporting conduct, without awarding points, is consistent.

I just don't see the committee making what would be widely perceived as a rule change simply because occasionally somebody loses a basket over this. Perhaps if it became an issue in a high profile game somewhere you might get some interest. Other than that, if it ain't broke don't fix it.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637791)
I will add that I wouldn't be against an alteration to the TF rule on this, allowing for the awarding of points if, in the judgment of the official, the rim rattling resulting from the unsportsmanlike smack on the backboard prevents the ball from entering the basket. While I think the TF is enough, I wouldn't have a problem with adding the points.

But what if a team member from the bench ran out onto the floor, attempted to block a layup, and hit the backboard causing the ball to fall off the rim? Shouldn't we be able to award the two points, plus pile on a load of direct and indirect T's? ;)

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:00pm

No, I'm going to give him credit for knowing enough to hit the backboard and not the rim; then I'm going to pile on with a bunch of Ts.

Kajun Ref N Texas Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:08pm

rwest is correct
 
If hitting the rim or net is BI, then hitting the backboard should be also...that's just common sense.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637799)
If hitting the rim or net is BI, then hitting the backboard should be also...that's just common sense.

So, which option do you prefer?
1. Add the backboard to the current BI rule.
2. Make hitting the backboard BI anytime a try is in flight.
3. Make it BI if done while the try is in flight and the rim shakes enough to alter the shot.
4. Another one?

I'm not quite ready to bow to your common sense yet.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:28pm

I think we should take the BI rule the other direction and eliminate at least one thing that is currently BI.

Why should a basket be awarded or canceled because a player merely touches the net while the ball is on the ring? BI for grabbing the net and causing the ring to move, I'm on board with that. BI for getting a hand caught in the net and causing the ring to move, I'm good with that too. But merely batting the strings? I don't think so.

I would dare say this part of the rule is so universally disagreed with that it is almost never called. I have never called BI for this. I have never seen any other official call BI for this, at any level.

As I understand it, FIBA gets along quite nicely without a BI rule at all. ;)

Kajun Ref N Texas Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637803)
So, which option do you prefer?
1. Add the backboard to the current BI rule.
2. Make hitting the backboard BI anytime a try is in flight.
3. Make it BI if done while the try is in flight and the rim shakes enough to alter the shot.
4. Another one?

I'm not quite ready to bow to your common sense yet.

Why is it a violation to hit the rim or net while the ball is on the rim?

Supposedly, because it may alter the ball while on the rim (though I have no idea how hitting the net could alter the ball, but tha's another discussion).

If that is the case, then hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim is more likely to, or at least as likely to, alter the ball as hitting the rim or net, so why is the backboard not included in the rule?

Common sense to me, and at least to rwest.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:34pm

I've offered my theory on why. I've also yet to see a player actually hit the backboard while the ball is in the cylinder; nor have I heard or read anyone who has seen it. Everytime I've seen this slap, it happened as the ball was on the way. So adding the backboard to the current BI rule would do nothing.

Kajun Ref N Texas Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637811)
I've offered my theory on why. I've also yet to see a player actually hit the backboard while the ball is in the cylinder; nor have I heard or read anyone who has seen it. Everytime I've seen this slap, it happened as the ball was on the way. So adding the backboard to the current BI rule would do nothing.

You don't ever see the rim getting hit, but it's still in the rules.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637812)
You don't ever see the rim getting hit, but it's still in the rules.

You've never seen a BI call for hitting the rim?
Okay, that aside. There are a couple of things you never see but are in the rules.
Hitting the ball with a fist, 10 seconds on a free throw, players using tobacco.

Back to the rim. The possibility of actually impacting the shot by hitting the rim is exponentially higher than if the backboard is hit. Common sense tells me that.

Kajun Ref N Texas Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637816)
You've never seen a BI call for hitting the rim?
Okay, that aside. There are a couple of things you never see but are in the rules.
Hitting the ball with a fist, 10 seconds on a free throw, players using tobacco.

Back to the rim. The possibility of actually impacting the shot by hitting the rim is exponentially higher than if the backboard is hit. Common sense tells me that.

I think you are missing the point, which is, hitting the backboard is just as likely to alther the ball on the rim as hitting the rim, especially with todays storger rims.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637817)
I think you are missing the point, which is, hitting the backboard is just as likely to alther the ball on the rim as hitting the rim, especially with todays storger rims.

I didn't miss this point, it hasn't been made yet. I question how you can say moving the rim is just as easy to do by hitting the backboard as it by actually hitting the rim.

Kajun Ref N Texas Mon Nov 23, 2009 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637818)
I didn't miss this point, it hasn't been made yet. I question how you can say moving the rim is just as easy to do by hitting the backboard as it by actually hitting the rim.

Because when you move the backboard you move the rim.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 06:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637820)
Because when you move the backboard you move the rim.

And moving the backboard is just as easy as moving the rim, which comes with a hinge? I don't buy it, sorry.

I see rims move often. I haven't seen a backboard move significantly, at all, ever.

Kajun Ref N Texas Mon Nov 23, 2009 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637821)
And moving the backboard is just as easy as moving the rim, which comes with a hinge? I don't buy it, sorry.

I see rims move often. I haven't seen a backboard move significantly, at all, ever.

I not arguing about "breaking" the rim.

The backboard doesn't have to move "significantly", just any movement will move the rim.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637820)
Because when you move the backboard you move the rim.

So actually moving the backboard would be required to call this BI? Because just touching the backboard isn't going to affect the shot any more than just touching the net will.

Kajun Ref N Texas Mon Nov 23, 2009 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637824)
So actually moving the backboard would be required to call this BI? Because just touching the backboard isn't going to affect the shot any more than just touching the net will.

No.

I'll go back to the original, SIMPLE point - if the rim and net are included in the BI rule, the backboard should be included also. Touching the backboard is more likely to alter the ball than touching the net.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637825)
No.

I'll go back to the original, SIMPLE point - if the rim and net are included in the BI rule, the backboard should be included also. Touching the backboard is more likely to alter the ball than touching the net.

That's interesting. Almost all player contact with the backboard I have ever noticed has been from the front, more or less directly into the backboard. And, not surprisingly, that is the one direction in which most backboards are most strongly braced to prevent movement.

Reaching way back to my HS physics class (and the more scientifically inclined will correct me if I'm wrong here), I recall there are some other complicating issues involved too. There's the matter of the mass of the backboard, especially a glass backboard. That much matter is going to strongly resist any impetus applied to it. A material suitably stiff to make a good backboard will lack the elasticity required to be a good carrier of transverse wave energy. A backboard's size relative to the size of the rim mount site means that any wave that is set up will dissipate somewhat before reaching the rim mount site. (Iirc, wave energy dissipates at a rate equal to the square of the distance from the center of the wave) Padding along the edge of the backboard will have a dampening effect on wave energy that might otherwise be reflected from the edge of the backboard material back into the backboard. Need I point out that the most padded surface of all is the bottom, just below the rim? For a glass backboard in particular, I would expect the manufacturer to place a buffer material between the rim and the glass, and probably line the holes between the shafts of the bolts and the glass. This material would exist to resist energy applied to the rim being transferred to the glass. Otherwise you risk cracking the glass every time a ball hits the rim. That energy transfer resistance would likely operate in both directions. On glass backboards the rim must also be attached to the backboard frame so that it cannot come crashing down if the glass breaks. Wave energy transferred via this additional attachment point is almost certain to be out of phase to some degree with waves transferred from the glass itself, further reducing the total wave energy transferred to the ring.

There are obviously a lot of variables based on how a backboard is constructed and braced and how the rim is attached. And I am not saying that it's impossible to shake the rim by hitting the backboard, obviously it is possible. But the physics involved means a player must apply a significantly greater force to the backboard to achieve the same movement caused by simply hitting the rim.

Are you certain you want to treat touching the backboard the same as touching the rim?

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637825)
No.

I'll go back to the original, SIMPLE point - if the rim and net are included in the BI rule, the backboard should be included also. Touching the backboard is more likely to alter the ball than touching the net.

Oh, and as long as we're going to change the BI rule, let's remove the restriction against touching the net so long as the touching does not move the rim. ;)

Camron Rust Mon Nov 23, 2009 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637827)
That's interesting. Almost all player contact with the backboard I have ever noticed has been from the front, more or less directly into the backboard. And, not surprisingly, that is the one direction in which most backboards are most strongly braced to prevent movement.

Reaching way back to my HS physics class (and the more scientifically inclined will correct me if I'm wrong here), I recall there are some other complicating issues involved too. There's the matter of the mass of the backboard, especially a glass backboard. That much matter is going to strongly resist any impetus applied to it. A material suitably stiff to make a good backboard will lack the elasticity required to be a good carrier of transverse wave energy. A backboard's size relative to the size of the rim mount site means that any wave that is set up will dissipate somewhat before reaching the rim mount site. (Iirc, wave energy dissipates at a rate equal to the square of the distance from the center of the wave) Padding along the edge of the backboard will have a dampening effect on wave energy that might otherwise be reflected from the edge of the backboard material back into the backboard. Need I point out that the most padded surface of all is the bottom, just below the rim? For a glass backboard in particular, I would expect the manufacturer to place a buffer material between the rim and the glass, and probably line the holes between the shafts of the bolts and the glass. This material would exist to resist energy applied to the rim being transferred to the glass. Otherwise you risk cracking the glass every time a ball hits the rim. That energy transfer resistance would likely operate in both directions. On glass backboards the rim must also be attached to the backboard frame so that it cannot come crashing down if the glass breaks. Wave energy transferred via this additional attachment point is almost certain to be out of phase to some degree with waves transferred from the glass itself, further reducing the total wave energy transferred to the ring.

There are obviously a lot of variables based on how a backboard is constructed and braced and how the rim is attached. And I am not saying that it's impossible to shake the rim by hitting the backboard, obviously it is possible. But the physics involved means a player must apply a significantly greater force to the backboard to achieve the same movement caused by simply hitting the rim.

Are you certain you want to treat touching the backboard the same as touching the rim?


That ought to send him into a spin for a while...
Which way did he go? Which way did he go?

Seriously...my thoughts exactly....well, not exactly but close enough.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 07:52pm

I'm afraid he might have left to Google impetus and transverse wave and succumbed to Search Overload. :D

BillyMac Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:03pm

It Was A Much Simplier Time ...
 
Let's just go back to the 1891-92 NFHS (Naismith Federation of High Schools) rules:

Rule 8. A goal shall be made when the ball is thrown or batted from the grounds into the basket and stays there, providing those defending the goal do not touch or disturb the goal. If the ball rests on the edges, and the opponent moves the basket, it shall count as a goal.

BillyMac Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:04pm

Weird, But It Could Happen ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 637768)
For BI, it doesn't matter how the ball gets on the rim or in the cylinder. Could be a pass or a deflection.

Or a throwin.

BillyMac Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:06pm

© ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637736)
I hate doing this, but allow me to quote myself.

Did you get the author's permission?

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas (Post 637823)
I not arguing about "breaking" the rim.

The backboard doesn't have to move "significantly", just any movement will move the rim.

But you can't ignore the possibility, which is one reason it's easier to move the rim by actually hitting the rim.

While "any movement" would move the rim, it takes significant movement to affect the shot.

The problem as I've seen it presented is the backboard getting hit so hard it shakes the rim. That takes a hell of a hit, IMO. This virtually always happens before the ball is in the cylinder, so unless the backboard is going to be off limits during any try no matter where the ball is, the proposals offered will do nothing to solve the alleged problem that actually exists.

Adam Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 637856)
Or a throwin.

Which would be a....wait for it.....pass.

rwest Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:29pm

Ah, but..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637824)
So actually moving the backboard would be required to call this BI? Because just touching the backboard isn't going to affect the shot any more than just touching the net will.

Touching the net while the ball is on the rim is BI. We are not required to judge whether it affected the shot. Just touching it is enough.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637874)
Touching the net while the ball is on the rim is BI. We are not required to judge whether it affected the shot. Just touching it is enough.

Which is a pretty bogus rule, IMHO.

Beyond that, I've forgotten the context of my earlier comment. :o

BillyMac Tue Nov 24, 2009 07:40am

Irregular Pass ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637872)
Which would be a....wait for it.....pass.

Correct. But, oddly, in the case of a throwin pass, it wouldn't have counted if it went in (throwin violation), but would be awarded if the throwin pass was interfered with (BI). A "regular" pass would count if it went in.

rwest Tue Nov 24, 2009 07:41am

We all agree....
 
We all agree that hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim is a rare occasion. However, what I don't understand is the reluctance to make it part of the BI definition. It is such an easy and logically thing to do. If it is so rare, and it is, players are not going to change the way they play defense. If they hit the backboard while the ball is not on the rim, it's nothing and we won't call it. If it is, on that rare occasion, on the rim when contact occurs it should be penalized just like we penalize contact with the rim or net.

Can anyone argue that hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim should be allowed by the defense? Can you actually say that it is not basket interference? Forget the rarity of the situation. Do you actually believe the defense should be allowed to hit the backboard with the ball on the rim? I'm not asking if it should be included in the rule book. Just should it be allowed? And remember, forget how often this occurs. Look at this in a vacuum. Should this be a legal act?

Adam Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:16am

I'll just add this before leaving it alone. If it's not currently a problem while there's no rule preventing it, why add the rule?

chartrusepengui Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:23am

As I believe the great Walter C. might have stated this situation:

NFHS 2009 -2010. It is what it is and that's the way it shall be. ;)

rwest Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:27am

Here's my last comment, i think
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637935)
I'll just add this before leaving it alone. If it's not currently a problem while there's no rule preventing it, why add the rule?

It's not adding new rule. It is only expanding the definition of BI. With the expansion we remove a potential defensive advantage that should not be allowed by the rule book.

Team A is down by 2 with 2 seconds on the clock. The ball is on the rim when B1 bangs the board in frustration. The ball falls off the rim. No basket. T up B1. A1 shoots the two free throws but misses the front end. They are down by 1 with .4 seconds left. They inbound the ball but can't get a shot off. Team B wins.

Why allow the defense an advantage in this situation? A simple change to the BI definition (not a new rule as you suggest) would fix this. I could then award 2 points to team A and also penalize with a Technical foul.

just another ref Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637912)

Can anyone argue that hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim should be allowed by the defense? Can you actually say that it is not basket interference? Forget the rarity of the situation. Do you actually believe the defense should be allowed to hit the backboard with the ball on the rim? I'm not asking if it should be included in the rule book. Just should it be allowed? And remember, forget how often this occurs. Look at this in a vacuum. Should this be a legal act?

I think it would be fine if we outlawed the defense touching the backboard altogether.

How often is the touch REALLY part of "a legitimate block attempt?"

Adam Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 637955)
I think it would be fine if we outlawed the defense touching the backboard altogether.

How often is the touch REALLY part of "a legitimate block attempt?"

In my view, every time I've seen the backboard hit; it's usually an attempt to pin the ball.
Of course, we could just make it more like volleyball.

just another ref Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637957)
In my view, every time I've seen the backboard hit; it's usually an attempt to pin the ball.
Of course, we could just make it more like volleyball.

In my view, it's usually an attempt to make a spectacle of oneself, right up there with yelling "AAAAAAAAAA!!"

Adam Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 637981)
In my view, it's usually attempt to make a spectacle of oneself, right up there with yelling "AAAAAAAAAA!!"

Then call the T. I've not seen it that way, as every time I've seen the backboard slapped it's been in a legitimate block attempt. Harder than necessary? Maybe, but that's not for me to decide.

rwest Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:48pm

Yes and T up the coach...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637982)
Then call the T. I've not seen it that way, as every time I've seen the backboard slapped it's been in a legitimate block attempt. Harder than necessary? Maybe, but that's not for me to decide.

...when he's losing by two and hitting the backboard caused the ball to fall off the rim and we won't give him BI, which by rule we can't. If this happens in a close ballgame, I can imagine a few coaches in my area that will warrant a T after I explain to him that this by rule is not BI.

Adam Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 637996)
...when he's losing by two and hitting the backboard caused the ball to fall off the rim and we won't give him BI, which by rule we can't. If this happens in a close ballgame, I can imagine a few coaches in my area that will warrant a T after I explain to him that this by rule is not BI.

Give him the T, he gets two free throws with his best available shooter. I can imagine getting myself into even more trouble granting BI here than not. And a decent coach will vent a little about the rule itself (which I'd allow) and let it go in this situation rather than risk the game. If you get a coach, however, who's not so smart, all bets are off and he'll get no sympathy from me as I write my report later.

rwest Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:57pm

I agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637999)
Give him the T, he gets two free throws with his best available shooter. I can imagine getting myself into even more trouble granting BI here than not. And a decent coach will vent a little about the rule itself (which I'd allow) and let it go in this situation rather than risk the game. If you get a coach, however, who's not so smart, all bets are off and he'll get no sympathy from me as I write my report later.

You will get into more trouble granting the BI, which we can't under the current rules. However, the trouble will come from your assignor. And let me make myself clear. I would NOT count the basket for any reason because I can't under the current rules. I'm arguing for an expansion of the BI definition to allow me to count the basket.

Adam Tue Nov 24, 2009 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 638001)
You will get into more trouble granting the BI, which we can't under the current rules. However, the trouble will come from your assignor. And let me make myself clear. I would NOT count the basket for any reason because I can't under the current rules. I'm arguing for an expansion of the BI definition to allow me to count the basket.

I knew you weren't, and I realized that part of my post wasn't necessary. I will add, however, that I would be just as likely (probably more so) to get in trouble with the opposing coach for granting it as I would this coach for not granting it. Odds are better that they know the rule.

You're also right that you're not arguing for a new rule, just an addition to an existing rule. That said, the committee isn't likely to do this for a problem that doesn't exist.

I'm really pretty ambivalent on this point (adding BI to this T, if the ball is in the cylinder), but I'm against calling it BI on a legitimate block attempt. I'm even more against making it BI when the ball isn't even in the cylinder.

Adam Tue Nov 24, 2009 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 637981)
In my view, it's usually attempt to make a spectacle of oneself, right up there with yelling "AAAAAAAAAA!!"

I should add that you've proposed making the backboard even more restricted than the rim.

Kajun Ref N Texas Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:03am

Rwest is Still Correct
 
Nice job of making your point, rwest.

You have very legitimate arguments for a change to the BI rule, and just because some, maybe most, but I suspect only some, don't agree with you, doesn't make you any less correct.

Nice job.

AKOFL Wed Nov 25, 2009 03:46pm

Case play 10.3.4 A1 tries for a goal and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or(b)B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING: In (a) legal and the basket counts; snd (b) a thechnical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket. I understand A easilly enough but doesn't B seem to be a little strange? Wouldn't it fall under BI. Or is there not enough info here?

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 25, 2009 03:56pm

The case does not specify whether the ball was on the ring or not. And since it doesn't say, we cannot assume the ball was on the ring at the time. If it were, I would be tempted to simply call it BI and move on. However, note that NFHS 10-3-4 specifically includes a try in flight and a try touching the backboard, which do not apply to BI.

ART. 4 . . . Illegally contact the backboard/ring by:
a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

AKOFL Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:01pm

The ring is not touched just the net. Is there any specific case about just the net. ( this might be it:p) The T for slapping or gaining an advantage just mentions the backboard and Ring, not the net

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 638210)
The ring is not touched just the net. Is there any specific case about just the net. ( this might be it:p) The T for slapping or gaining an advantage just mentions the backboard and Ring, not the net

10-3-4b includes "causing the ring to vibrate" along side "slapping or striking the backboard". It places no limits or restrictions on how the ring was made to vibrate. The case specifically states that the pulling on the net caused the ring to vibrate.

So, yeah, this is it. :D

AKOFL Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:17pm

thanks bits.
so if you are going to pull on the net you better hope the rim contacts the ball before i returns to it's original position so you just get BI and not a "T"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1